Switch Theme:

Landspeeder Tempest Ramjets  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




I'm itching to get my hands on a FW Landspeeder Tempest but am struggling to interpret the Ramjets rule which states, "...when a unit with this ability Advances, all models in the unit must move between 20"-35"."

Does this mean it moves it's base 15" and then an additional 20"-35" as the Advance, or that its move characteristic changes to 20"-35". Ie. Is the maximum distance moved in a turn when it Advances 50" or 35"?

The core rule suggests an Advance is an additional d6, which would suggest that the Tempest moves 15" and then advances the extra 20"-35", but a 50" move in total sounds an awfully long way!

Are there similar rules worded slight differently that could shed light on this? Or is it clear and I'm just being dumb?

This message was edited 6 times. Last update was at 2017/08/31 16:41:33


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Waldorf wrote:
I'm itching to get my hands on a FW Landspeeder Tempest but am struggling to interpret the Ramjets rule which states, "...when a unit with this ability Advances, all models in the unit must move between 20"-35"."

Does this mean it moves it's base 15" and then an additional 20"-35" as the Advance, or that its move characteristic changes to 20"-35". Ie. Is the maximum distance moved in a turn when it Advances 50" or 35"?

The core rule suggests an Advance is an additional d6, which would suggest that the Tempest moves 15" and then advances the extra 20"-35", but a 50" move in total sounds an awfully long way!

Are there similar rules worded slight differently that could shed light on this? Or is it clear and I'm just being dumb?
The core rules literally do nothing because the Tempests special rule changes what happens when you advance.

When you advance in a Tempest, you instead move between 20" and 35" instead of it's normal 15".

"Supersonic" models state "When this model Advances, increase its Move characteristic by 20" until the end of the phase", which is not the same as the Ramjets which totally change your movement speed.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/08/31 16:59:53


 
   
Made in gb
Fresh-Faced New User




Cheers.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

On a random aside, @Waldorf... having played a Tempest tonight, the weapons don't synergise wonderfully with its abilities. Use the Ramjet? Get to fire nothing. Move? -1 to hit. It's an odd bod, but it was fun in first game. Lots of dakka, a bit fragile with only 6W, but shrugged off a bunch of stuff and splatter Wraithguard. Ramjet is great for Maelstrom and grabbing Objectives.

The next game the sneaky Eldar gits offed it before it could even move, so it was clearly a prime threat to them!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: