Switch Theme:

Planetstrike bastion rules clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




A friend of mine and I recently played a game of 8th edition planetstrike and I was a bit confused by the ruling for Bastions that I just need cleared up. The ruling states "Bastions cannot move for any reason nor can they Fight. Enemy models automatically hit them in a Fight. Do not roll to hit." Usually the rules always specify what phase this would take place but it merely says a Fight which seems somewhat ambiguous. Does this mean that you don't need to roll to hit in the Fight phase only, or in both the shooting and fight phase? Forgive me if this is a stupid question but in any other instance the phases are always specified but in this case they simply say a Fight.
   
Made in gb
Ancient Space Wolves Venerable Dreadnought





Models only Fight in the Fight phase.

"Three months? I'm going to go crazy …and I'm taking you with me!"
— Vala Mal Doran
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

The Immobile Rule on the Datasheet I am looking at:
Immobile: This model cannot move for any reason, nor can it fight in the Fight phase. Enemy models
automatically hit this model in the Fight phase – do not make hit rolls. However, this model can still shoot if there
are enemy models within 1" of it, and friendly units can still target enemy units that are within 1" of this model.



Even with the difference in wording, this one specifically calls out the Fight Phase, a Unit can only ever be selected to carry out the Sequence named 'fight' when a Rule grant them permission to.

This is because the default permission for accessing the Sequence can only be evoked during the Fight phase, and in a specific order at that. Thus we are limited, by default, to using the Sequence called Fight during the Fight Phase and any Rule modifying how a Model utilizes this sequence would also be restricted to the Fight Phase. Now, there are always Datasheet Rules that give specific permission to carry out an action 'out of Phase,' but they often will contain the words 'as if it was...' or similar instructions informing us to treat it as if the Fight was occurring in the right phase.

I, personally, do not like that permission to access is part of the Sequence we will be access but... *shrugs* they did use proper wording informing us that Step 2-6 is the actual Steps we follow to Fight!

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/09/02 19:38:55


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: