Switch Theme:

Casting while embarked?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in au
Been Around the Block




Can grey knights cast gate of infinity on a land raider they are inside?

Can you cast smite from inside a landraider?
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





Reread the section on Transports in the rulebook. You'll see that it says units in transports can't normally do anything or be affected in any way while embarked. That includes psykers. So, no, you can do neither of those things while in a Land Raider.

 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I just like laughing at some of the unrealistic things it causes when you mix in one of the Open Topped rules:
Sure, that Character can fire but he can't use his Aura ability to buff his own shots....


It makes sense why the Authors would go for a 'Restrict Everything' ruling when it came to Transports, as Rule-interactions between Embarked Units and the rest of the Battlefield where... dark and filled with terror. They have been making this move for multiple editions as well, with the whole thing settled in a Frequently Asked Question answer sometime prior to this Edition, so a 'more simple Edition' is going to embrace it as well. Now it is very simple, unless the Unit is on the battlefield or has a Rule specifically allowing the Embarked Unit to interact Battlefield... that Unit isn't doing squat.

Might or might not even vanish at the end of turn 3, during Matched Play... we are not entirely sure.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/09/09 06:14:31


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in nl
Dakka Veteran





 JinxDragon wrote:
I just like laughing at some of the unrealistic things it causes when you mix in one of the Open Topped rules:
Sure, that Character can fire but he can't use his Aura ability to buff his own shots....


It makes sense why the Authors would go for a 'Restrict Everything' ruling when it came to Transports, as Rule-interactions between Embarked Units and the rest of the Battlefield where... dark and filled with terror. They have been making this move for multiple editions as well, with the whole thing settled in a Frequently Asked Question answer sometime prior to this Edition, so a 'more simple Edition' is going to embrace it as well. Now it is very simple, unless the Unit is on the battlefield or has a Rule specifically allowing the Embarked Unit to interact Battlefield... that Unit isn't doing squat.

Might or might not even vanish at the end of turn 3, during Matched Play... we are not entirely sure.

models embarked aren't in reserver, so they don't vanish after turn 3

 
   
Made in fr
Longtime Dakkanaut




terry wrote:
 JinxDragon wrote:
I just like laughing at some of the unrealistic things it causes when you mix in one of the Open Topped rules:
Sure, that Character can fire but he can't use his Aura ability to buff his own shots....


It makes sense why the Authors would go for a 'Restrict Everything' ruling when it came to Transports, as Rule-interactions between Embarked Units and the rest of the Battlefield where... dark and filled with terror. They have been making this move for multiple editions as well, with the whole thing settled in a Frequently Asked Question answer sometime prior to this Edition, so a 'more simple Edition' is going to embrace it as well. Now it is very simple, unless the Unit is on the battlefield or has a Rule specifically allowing the Embarked Unit to interact Battlefield... that Unit isn't doing squat.

Might or might not even vanish at the end of turn 3, during Matched Play... we are not entirely sure.

models embarked aren't in reserver, so they don't vanish after turn 3

The last bit from the tactical reserves section mentions units "not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the 3rd battle round", without mentioning explicitly that it refers to units that start the game in reserve.
Some argue that units that are deployed and remain in their transport for the first 3 rounds never arrived on the battlefield, as units in transports do not count as being on the battlefield.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

fresus wrote:
terry wrote:
 JinxDragon wrote:
I just like laughing at some of the unrealistic things it causes when you mix in one of the Open Topped rules:
Sure, that Character can fire but he can't use his Aura ability to buff his own shots....


It makes sense why the Authors would go for a 'Restrict Everything' ruling when it came to Transports, as Rule-interactions between Embarked Units and the rest of the Battlefield where... dark and filled with terror. They have been making this move for multiple editions as well, with the whole thing settled in a Frequently Asked Question answer sometime prior to this Edition, so a 'more simple Edition' is going to embrace it as well. Now it is very simple, unless the Unit is on the battlefield or has a Rule specifically allowing the Embarked Unit to interact Battlefield... that Unit isn't doing squat.

Might or might not even vanish at the end of turn 3, during Matched Play... we are not entirely sure.

models embarked aren't in reserver, so they don't vanish after turn 3

The last bit from the tactical reserves section mentions units "not arrived on the battlefield by the end of the 3rd battle round", without mentioning explicitly that it refers to units that start the game in reserve.
Some argue that units that are deployed and remain in their transport for the first 3 rounds never arrived on the battlefield, as units in transports do not count as being on the battlefield.

That is a seriously dick argument. A section devoted specifically to restrictions on reserves in matched play is not going to have any effect on models embarked in transports that aren't already in reserve as well.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

It's clearly not intended to apply to transported models, but some people think they're clever. Go figure.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

I bring it up just to laugh at it, it is only one of several clearly unintended consequences of 'not being on the battlefield.'

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: