Switch Theme:

Units not on the board and stratagem use  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Was a big no in 7th but not seeing it in 8th.

Can a stratagem be played on a unit in reserve?

For example a stratagem that is played at the start of the movement phase


Similarly, can stratagems be played on a unit embarked? (Acknowledging there won't be an effect until disemvarked)

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/11 17:16:13


DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

As the units can't do anything if not deployed or if in a transport, why would you?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Because if they arrive/disembark the same turn they may benefit .

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/11 17:57:09


DFTT 
   
Made in us
Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






Can you give some examples that you would wish to try?

Tactical Flexibility(loyalist) and beseech the dark gods(chaos) are the only 2 strategems that you could use before the reserves come in(timing for use of nearly every other strategem is when the unit is attacking, moving, or taking wounds; all requiring the unit to be on tge table).

This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



 
   
Made in us
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential





Considering Alpha Legion has a stratagem that can be played on a unit that isn't even in the game yet, before the game even begins, I don't see why stratagems couldn't be used on units not currently on the board as long as all wording of the stratagem is followed appropriately. That in itself may be the hard part, qualifying for the stratagem to be activated.

It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




For example, A unit of pox walkers arrive in a dreadclaw.

'The Dead Walk Again' Stratagem requires you to select a unit of poxwalkers at the start of your movement phase. Would they be a valid selection?


DFTT 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






I'm gonna say that unless the Strategem specifically points out the unit in question that it shouldn't be allowed.

There is a general rule that off the table models cannot be affected by stuff so you would need a specific rule saying that they could be targeted, such as the Alpha legion strat.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in de
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge






Captyn_Bob wrote:
For example, A unit of pox walkers arrive in a dreadclaw.

'The Dead Walk Again' Stratagem requires you to select a unit of poxwalkers at the start of your movement phase. Would they be a valid selection?



No, because the transport rule. (units embarked can not be affected in any way).

For the question of the OP: It doesn't feel right, but I can't find anything right now that outright forbids the use of stratagems while being in reserve.

Edit: fixed autocorrect errors

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/11 21:53:06


If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




OK, so i think it is fair to say that "cannot be affected in any way" precludes the using of stratagems on units in transports, even if they don't take effect until later in the turn.

DFTT 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




An easy non-transport case is using the GK stratagem Heed the Prognosticars at the start of your turn on a character which is going to deep strike in that turn. I'm not aware of anything forbidding this.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/11 23:21:44


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: