Switch Theme:

Interaction between Tau Crisis Bodyguard and Savior Protocols  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Poll
How would you play it?
Allow the bodyguard and the drone to intercede
Only allow the bodyguard to intercede

View results
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Drone without a Controller





California

Quick question. Hypothetically the crisis bodyguard takes a wound for a character model I have. If that bodyguard is also next to a drone, can that wound then be passed on to the drone?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/11 22:25:37


 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Laughed at the image that brought, but it might come down to how players interpret this sentence:
... when an enemy attack successfully wounds it...
- Saviour Protocols, FAQ

Was the second wound caused by an enemy attack or by an ability?
We all know it is going to be argued both ways....

Added:
Can you add a 'How Would You Play It' Poll?
- I would vote in favor as I really like the image of both drone and body-guard jumping into the fray, but others may clearly see it as expanding the Drones aura unfairly and nothing more.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/09/11 22:04:31


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller





California

 JinxDragon wrote:
Laughed at the image that brought, but it might come down to how players interpret this sentence:
... when an enemy attack successfully wounds it...
- Saviour Protocols, FAQ

Was the second wound caused by an enemy attack or by an ability?
We all know it is going to be argued both ways....

Added:
Can you add a 'How Would You Play It' Poll?
- I would vote in favor as I really like the image of both drone and body-guard jumping into the fray, but others may clearly see it as expanding the Drones aura unfairly and nothing more.


Solid suggestion, I went back and added the poll.

But yeah, that's the exact dilemma i'm having. This is especially relevant as I would be using these suits to guard Longstrike... who does have the "character" keyword, so the suits could use their ability for him...but wouldn't be able to benefit from drones doing the same, effectively.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Oh, that does give it an aged gouda smell...

8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller





California

Yeah, just a bit, right? But the thing is, Longstrike still has the character key word. This same question would apply whether it was him, Farsight, Shadowsun or any of the other non-named characters. He also didn't lose it in the Index FAQ if that has any bearing on the matter.
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

 Pogman42 wrote:
Quick question. Hypothetically the crisis bodyguard takes a wound for a character model I have. If that bodyguard is also next to a drone, can that wound then be passed on to the drone?

So this is all just for the odd situation where a Commander is within 3" of a Bodyguard but not a drone unit? How often does that really happen?

Anyway, getting back to the question. GW changed the initial Drone Saviour Protocol ability so that it specifically only works against an enemy attack. This was presumably done to stop people from using their Drones to absorb Riptide self-inflicted mortal wounds and the like.

So is the wound that the Bodyguard suffers (pulled from the Commander) an 'enemy attack'? I'd say RAW no. At that point, it is technically a mortal wound caused by the Bodyguard's 'Sworn Protectors' ability (not even the 'original' wound).

On top of that, and more importantly: 'Saviour Protocols' only works when a wound is ALLOCATED ('when an enemy unit successfully wounds it, you can allocate that wound to the Drones unit instead of the target'). At the point when 'Sworn Protectors' is used, the wound has already been allocated (and the save failed), so it cannot then be re-allocated to drones.

The answer to this question is definitely no by the RAW.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/12 02:29:17


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Stealthy Warhound Titan Princeps




Phoenix, AZ, USA

Technically, when the Bodyguard takes the wound, the wound has been allocated. I would that yes, you could pull the wound to the Bodyguard and then to the Drone. The reasoning is that each ability is functioning correctly on its own as written.

The poll is a bit misleading.

SJ

“For we wrestle not against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this world.”
- Ephesians 6:12
 
   
Made in us
Drone without a Controller





California

 jeffersonian000 wrote:
Technically, when the Bodyguard takes the wound, the wound has been allocated. I would that yes, you could pull the wound to the Bodyguard and then to the Drone. The reasoning is that each ability is functioning correctly on its own as written.

The poll is a bit misleading.

SJ


I appreciate the input, how would you reword the poll?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 yakface wrote:
 Pogman42 wrote:
Quick question. Hypothetically the crisis bodyguard takes a wound for a character model I have. If that bodyguard is also next to a drone, can that wound then be passed on to the drone?

So this is all just for the odd situation where a Commander is within 3" of a Bodyguard but not a drone unit? How often does that really happen?



Well, kinda like when I put up a post or two ago. Whereby i could chain the wound from longstrike (who can't benefit from drones), to a bodyguard, to a drone.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/12 03:46:01


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: