Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 09:41:21
Subject: Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Irked Necron Immortal
|
I was looking at the leaked rules for the Myphetic Blight Crawler for the Death Guard codex from our News & Rumors post
https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/732375.page
the Putrescent Fog aura ability says "deathguard units within 7" gain the benefit of cover when making armour saves."
since the wording says they "gain" cover would that
1) extend a cover save to a unit that was in close combat?
2) improve the cover save of a unit already in cover?
3) only apply to units not in CC and not already in cover?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 09:49:37
Subject: Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
its 3. The rule doesn't state it alters the cover rule, just that the unit is in cover. And a rule doesn't stack with itself
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 09:50:58
Subject: Re:Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
The way I read it is:
1. It extends the benefits of cover. The benefit of cover in close combat is none, therefore Putrescent Fog does nothing for armour saves in close combat.
2. A unit cannot be in cover twice, so no additional benefit there.
3. It does extend to units in cover or in CC, it just doesn't double up with real cover, nor does it apply to armour saves against CC attacks. But if you state it does not apply to units in CC or already in cover, I think that would not be correct as sometimes you can be shot in CC (by pistols), and there it would apply as I read it,
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 21:12:30
Subject: Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
If a unit is entirely on or within any terrain
feature, add 1 to its models’ saving throws
against shooting attacks to represent the
cover received from the terrain (invulnerable
saves are unaffected). Units gain no benefit
from cover in the Fight phase (pg 182)
- Terrain and Cover
There are two issues here;
1) The bonus if granted only to Shooting Attacks
2) Units gain no benefit from being in cover during the Fight Phase
Terry,
Can you assist me by at least giving me a page number for the 'the same named ability can not stack' clause?
Getting flashbacks to the 'the same named power from different casters are not the same power' debates of old too....
I do agree though; the fact the Authors stated the Unit gains the benefit of Cover instead of taking the easier path of stating +1 Armour Saves informs me they simply wanted to add the flag 'in cover' to the Unit. It is my belief that multiple versions of the same flag does nothing, but the issue always gets a little muddy when it comes to modifying characteristics and rolls. Game Workshop not only allows modifiers to stack by default, but have been very inconsistent in determining which modifiers count for 'stacking' even when they had a straight forward 'Powers can not stack' Restriction. What really stops people from being able to argue that the +1 Armor Save via 'Cover from Terrain' and the +1 Armour Save via 'Cover from Putrescent Fog' are cumulative? Just because I believe Cover is a flag switched between True/False doesn't mean everyone does.
Personally, I think Game Workshop should simply forbid modifiers from stacking at all but they have never wanted that easy solution....
|
This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/09/14 23:56:04
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 22:42:09
Subject: Re:Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
P. 175 Modifying Characteristics "All modifiers are cumulative" but it does not say +2 to your save if in cover or +1 out in the open. (like the SM Scout cloak that gives +2 instead of +1) Instead it is more a 6" benefit of cover bonus +1 regardless if in terrain or outside of it.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/17 17:34:21
Subject: Putrescent Fog and CC
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
It does benefit them in CC if in the shooting phase your opponent shoots pistols at you.
|
|
 |
 |
|