| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/14 23:53:16
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Utilizing Careful Highlighting
|
All Inquisition units have a rule that lets them hop in any transport with the Imperium keyword. Does this let them get in the Primaris Repulsor, despite it saying only Primaris marines can go in? Are there any other weird vehicles this might come up with?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 00:01:19
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
They can hop into every transport regardless of their Faction keyword. But all other restrictions apply normally. So no, you can not transport inquisitors in a Repulsor.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 01:46:36
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Fixture of Dakka
Vanished Completely
|
The keywords within, and pun intended, is Faction.
All non-Faction Keyword requirements are still required.
In addition, Inquisition Terminators require specific permission for Terminators to board a Transport to prevent them sneaking onto a Taurox prime.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/15 01:47:27
8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures. |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/15 07:11:21
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Is primaris marine a faction keyword? if yes, then they can ride it the repulsor, otherwise no
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/17 17:32:37
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Nope he can't ride because he's not Primaris. The only thing his special rule ignores is <chapter> which is a faction keyword. Since it is listed in the datacard under Faction Keywords.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/18 03:55:42
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
This primaries can only use a repulsion rule really annoys me. Can't they all squeeze in a bit to fit in that landraider?
But with two conflicting rules don't you have to agree before the game and maybe roll off for it? Until it's FHQed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/18 04:01:09
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Dannohawk wrote:This primaries can only use a repulsion rule really annoys me. Can't they all squeeze in a bit to fit in that landraider?
But with two conflicting rules don't you have to agree before the game and maybe roll off for it? Until it's FHQed.
What conflicting rules? There are no conflicting rules when it comes to Inquisitors and the Repulsor.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/18 12:55:14
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
The 'can't ride' argument seems to run thus (always helpful if people actually quote rules) - keywords bolded:
AUTHORITY OF THE INQUISITION Units with this ability can embark onto any IMPERIUM TRANSPORT, even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so. All other restrictions apply normally, and INQUISITOR TERMINATOR models can only embark upon TRANSPORTS that specifically allow Terminator models to do so.
Repulsor: This model can transport 10 <CHAPTER> Primaris Infantry models.
The Inquisition can skip the <CHAPTER> bit, but they're not Primaris Infantry. If it said <CHAPTER> Infantry you'd be laughing. But it seems this tank is Inquisition proof, as Inquisition can only be Infantry, not Primaris Infantry. You certainly couldn't put a Terminator onboard.
The counter argument would be that the Inquisition rule removes the need to be Primaris Infantry, but I don't think it does.
|
|
This message was edited 8 times. Last update was at 2017/09/18 13:03:25
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/18 14:23:48
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
JohnnyHell wrote:The 'can't ride' argument seems to run thus (always helpful if people actually quote rules) - keywords bolded:
AUTHORITY OF THE INQUISITION Units with this ability can embark onto any IMPERIUM TRANSPORT, even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so. All other restrictions apply normally, and INQUISITOR TERMINATOR models can only embark upon TRANSPORTS that specifically allow Terminator models to do so.
The counter argument would be that the Inquisition rule removes the need to be Primaris Infantry, but I don't think it does.
Imo the all other restrictions apply normally is the key point that the counter argument is not valid.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/27 15:58:31
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
JohnnyHell wrote:The 'can't ride' argument seems to run thus (always helpful if people actually quote rules) - keywords bolded:
AUTHORITY OF THE INQUISITION Units with this ability can embark onto any IMPERIUM TRANSPORT, even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so. All other restrictions apply normally, and INQUISITOR TERMINATOR models can only embark upon TRANSPORTS that specifically allow Terminator models to do so.
Repulsor: This model can transport 10 <CHAPTER> Primaris Infantry models.
The Inquisition can skip the <CHAPTER> bit, but they're not Primaris Infantry. If it said <CHAPTER> Infantry you'd be laughing. But it seems this tank is Inquisition proof, as Inquisition can only be Infantry, not Primaris Infantry. You certainly couldn't put a Terminator onboard.
The counter argument would be that the Inquisition rule removes the need to be Primaris Infantry, but I don't think it does.
"even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so." this is the part that allows Inquisitors to ride in vehicles of other factions, otherwise they couldn't take Chimeras or Valkyries (both state AM infantry) or Rhinos (states <Chapter> Infantry) in fact the only vehicle they could take would be their own vehicles listed in the Codex.. The "other restrictions..." refers to vehicles not being able to take Terminators or Jump Packs.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/27 16:03:13
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
casb1965 wrote:"even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so." this is the part that allows Inquisitors to ride in vehicles of other factions, otherwise they couldn't take Chimeras or Valkyries (both state AM infantry) or Rhinos (states <Chapter> Infantry) in fact the only vehicle they could take would be their own vehicles listed in the Codex.. The "other restrictions..." refers to vehicles not being able to take Terminators or Jump Packs.
Indeed. Primaris isn't a faction keyword, and the Inquisitor is not a PRIMARIS model. It can ignore the <CHAPTER> requirement and not the PRIMARIS one.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/27 16:46:33
Subject: Inquisition riding in Primaris Repulsor and other Vehicles
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
So in the same way he couldn't ride in a Land Speeder Storm as it says "SCOUT".
That's interesting, we've only just switched to 8th at our club and we've missed that subtle wording.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|