Switch Theme:

If you move, advance, cast warptime, but dont advance again - are you still affected by advancing?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

Played this last weekend - a chaos player moved, advanced, then warptimed, but did not advance a second time. His understanding was that the second move phase granted by warptime in effect 'cancels out' the first move phase, and more importantly, the advancing. So, his thought was that he could move, advance, warptime, then charge.

I thought this wasn't correct - my understanding is that if you advance at all, ever, in your turn, you can't charge. For example, if you advance a group of boyz, and cast 'da jump', they can't charge unless they're next to a warboss.

A different chaos player sided with me, citing a FAQ passage addressing it, however I later looked at the chaos FAQ, and I couldn't find anything of the sort. All I could find was that if a unit is moved by warptime, it is treated as if it had moved (for heavy weapon penalties and the like), but that's kind of the opposite of the issue in question.

In the end, it actually didn't matter, but I am curious - Does advancing then warptiming (without a second advance) still impose penalties?

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






He is not correct.

Think of it as an Or gate. The unit advanced in the first phase and not the second phase, it's advanced. If it didn't advance in the first but did in the 2nd, it advanced. If it didn't in either, it didn't advance.

If you advance at any point, unless another rule explicitly says you no longer count as advancing, you've advanced.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/25 21:50:24


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If you Advance you've Advanced. Simples.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Krazed Killa Kan





Denver, Colorado

 BaconCatBug wrote:


If you advance at any point, unless another rule explicitly says you no longer count as advancing, you've advanced.


That was more or less my exact reasoning at the time, but I just wanted to double check.

"Hope is the first step on the road to disappointment." Words to live by. 
   
Made in us
Pulsating Possessed Chaos Marine






I would agree. I think the player in question should just switch to a Renegade legion and that way he could advance and charge. If you advance at all you suffer all penalties unless a rule or strategem overrides it. (So next time you see said player ask him if he is building a Renegade legion.)

Chaos daemons 1850
Chaos Marines 1850
2250+

2500++ (Wraithwing)

I moved so starting from scratch. These were the armies I had, rebuilding my Chaos. 
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

This is the line you need to keep in mind:
A unit that Advances can’t shoot or charge later that turn.
- Advancing

The Restriction against Charging has the duration of 'The Turn,' what is left of it anyway, not something along the lines of 'previous Movement Phase.'

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/09/26 00:54:39


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




You got had by him if you allowed him to do that, do you carry a rulebook with you? If not might need to start carrying one when going to games.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: