Switch Theme:

Zhadsnark Pain Klaw and Hit Modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Tough-as-Nails Ork Boy






Hey kids,

I was looking over Zhadsnark Da Rippa's FW entry the other day and noticed that his Pain Klaw causes Mortal Wounds on 'to Hit' rolls of 6. Of course, in 8th Edition, with the abundance of modifiers throughout the game, it is perfectly possible for 5's to become 6's, or 6's to become 5's, or 6's 7's... et cetera. So since the Pain Klaw does not say the target suffers a Mortal Wound on a "hit roll of 6 or more," but simply says "hit roll of 6," I had to wonder if this meant that when Zhadsnark was around a WAAAGH! Banna, he only ended up causing Mortal Wounds on rolls 'to Hit' of 5, since the bonus made that a 6, and made any natural 6's into 7's.

There's nothing in the FAQ just yet about this, so I asked FW for clarification, and here is their response! Just throwing it up here for your viewing pleasure.




 Adeptus Doritos wrote:

Alpharius is that guy at the FLGS that just got his first 'Start Collecting' box fully assembled, and Guilliman's the guy that's been playing since the 90's. When Alpharius started doing well, Guilliman said he didn't play a 'real army' and started screaming about how he sucked. Then Alpharius tabled him.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut





UK

I really wish GW would incorporate 'natural die rolls' and 'result'

Where:

Natural die roll: The face of the die when you roll it
Result: The result after all modifiers are applied

That aside, interesting stuff.

YMDC = nightmare 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






This just in, Water is Wet, Ducklings are Yellow and FW can't write rules. More at 11.

And yes, if I had my way everything that triggers on a 1 would trigger only on a natural 1 and let modifiers apply before re-rolls. All sorted.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/26 20:16:10


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 BaconCatBug wrote:
This just in, Water is Wet, Ducklings are Yellow and FW can't write rules. More at 11.

And yes, if I had my way everything that triggers on a 1 would trigger only on a natural 1 and let modifiers apply before re-rolls. All sorted.


Now there you go, trying to have a common sense rule in a GW game.
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

That response is a bit confusing because of how they used the word natural and then stated 5+ after it...

I am going to assume they mean a natural of 5 and 6, when they state a natural of 5+, because... obvious is obvious.
Who knows, maybe one day we will roll a D8 and that answer covers when the face shows a 7 and 8 on the dice as well... so, good work!

Really though, how hard is it to simply state:
Yes, it is a minor typo as the + is missing from the Rule... in your situation a roll of 6 would still inflict Mortal Wounds.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/09/26 20:42:02


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: