Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/28 19:09:04
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Hey all, I have a question about charge range once a unit deep strikes/teleport onto the battlefield. you need to teleport more then 9" away from an enemy. Therefore, what is the minimum you need to roll for a successful charge...8 or 9"? I've seen battle reps doing both.
Thanks!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/28 19:10:34
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
9". It's been answered several times.
I still think it's worded poorly and none of this would have come up had they worded it better, but yes, a 9" charge roll is required (essentially you're 10" from the opponent and need to close to within 1" to fight).
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/28 19:18:14
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
What it comes down to is that the rules say you have to place the unit "more than 9"" away from any enemy unit, and since the FAQ explicitly clarifies that "within X"" is anything less than or exactly that distance, that means the closes you could deep strike a unit and not be within 9" would be 9.x" away, where x is an infinitesimally small fraction of an inch, meaning that even if you got an 8" charge, you would be 1.x" away from the enemy unit, and not actually within range.
Elbows is right, though, because while they explained the range rules in the first FAQ, as well as clarifying that you would need a 9" charge, they didn't actually tie the two together to explain WHY you need a 9" charge.
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/09/28 20:19:38
"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/28 19:34:11
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Pestilent Plague Marine with Blight Grenade
|
Thanks all!
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/29 01:11:37
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
AnFéasógMór wrote:What it comes down to is that the rules say you have to place the unit "more than 9"" away from any enemy unit, and since the FAQ explicitly clarifies that "within X"" is anything less than or exactly that distance, that means the closes you could deep strike a unit and not be within 9" would be 9.x" away, where x is an infinitesimally small fraction of an inch, meaning that even if you got an 8" charge, you would be 1.x" away from the enemy unit, and not actually within range.
Elbows is right, though, because while they explained the range rules in the first FAQ, as well as clarifying that you would need a 9" charge, they didn't actually tie the two together to explain WHY you need a 9" charge.
The reason is pretty straightforward.
You have to deploy more than 9" away. Even if it's only one micron.
A successful charge must end within 1".
Charging 8" from 9"-and-one-micron away would leave you 1"-and-one-micron away, so >1". Fail.
So a successful charge from 9"-and-one-micron away must need 9" to finish <1" away.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/29 02:15:48
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster
|
JohnnyHell wrote:AnFéasógMór wrote:What it comes down to is that the rules say you have to place the unit "more than 9"" away from any enemy unit, and since the FAQ explicitly clarifies that "within X"" is anything less than or exactly that distance, that means the closes you could deep strike a unit and not be within 9" would be 9.x" away, where x is an infinitesimally small fraction of an inch, meaning that even if you got an 8" charge, you would be 1.x" away from the enemy unit, and not actually within range.
Elbows is right, though, because while they explained the range rules in the first FAQ, as well as clarifying that you would need a 9" charge, they didn't actually tie the two together to explain WHY you need a 9" charge.
The reason is pretty straightforward.
You have to deploy more than 9" away. Even if it's only one micron.
A successful charge must end within 1".
Charging 8" from 9"-and-one-micron away would leave you 1"-and-one-micron away, so >1". Fail.
So a successful charge from 9"-and-one-micron away must need 9" to finish <1" away.
...I'm not sure what you're trying to say, since you quoted me and then just literally said exactly what I said using slightly different language.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/09/29 11:08:58
Subject: Deep strike and charge range question
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
I explained why you need 9" to make the charge slightly more concisely. It flows perfectly from your last paragraph and reinforces what you wrote.
Don't assume people are attacking you!
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
|