Switch Theme:

8th ed Armour Piercing Rules Clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello, players are wondering in our community about Armour Piercing rules. Example an AP -1 weapon fires at a 6+ Armour save unit. Would that unit have an Armour save at all? Is it 6+ or 7+ (meaning impossible)?

We're terrible at searching for this in the manual and little success online. If anyone has an answer for us that would be amazing.
   
Made in us
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Springfield, VA

Their armour save would become a 7+ and they wouldn't roll.

Some units have a base 7+ save, like Poxwalkers, which means they get a 6+ in cover (because cover gives a +1).

The reason it works this way is because of modifiers (like cover, or the Psychic Barrier psychic power) which can give a save +1. So if you shot, say, an Ork with a -2 AP battle cannon, he'd have an 8+ save. But if he somehow got two or more +1 modifiers, he'd be back to a 6+ or better. So it's important to keep track of what save value they're at even if it's impossible to get on a D6.

Though a simple way to do it is just cancel out -1s and +1s, and then add/subtract whatever remains.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/09/29 15:28:26


 
   
Made in gb
Lesser Daemon of Chaos





West Yorkshire

The unit would have an armour save, but it would be of a 7+ meaning it is impossible to make (And thus pointless to roll) unless the unit benefits from a positive modifier to it's save such as being in cover that would counteract the -1ap.

5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






They would have a 7+. This is normally not passable, but some other special rule, or cover, might modify it back to a 6+.
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for such a quick reply everyone!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: