Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:17:19
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
Can you use the extra relic strategems to take relics in a detachment belonging to a different faction to your warlord assuming your still battleforged
Eg admech warlord in one detatchment and a spacemarine detatchment so both could have relics
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:21:49
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
U02dah4 wrote:Can you use the extra relic strategems to take relics in a detachment belonging to a different faction to your warlord assuming your still battleforged
Eg admech warlord in one detatchment and a spacemarine detatchment so both could have relics
No. The key word is "extra". You only have access to relics from the faction from which your warlord is drawn.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:26:00
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Wait, does the AdMech one have special requirements? I'm pretty sure the SAM Codex let's you take relics if you have a pure SM detachment. Warlord doesn't matter. Don't have book in front of me though.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:29:02
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Audustum wrote:Wait, does the AdMech one have special requirements? I'm pretty sure the SAM Codex let's you take relics if you have a pure SM detachment. Warlord doesn't matter. Don't have book in front of me though.
Well, you're wrong. "If your army is led by a Space Marines Warlord, you may give one of the following Chapter Relics to a Space Marine CHARACTER in your army." You get Stratagems for a pure detachment, you get relics for the Warlord.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/02 00:29:25
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:32:23
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
Audustum wrote:Wait, does the AdMech one have special requirements? I'm pretty sure the SAM Codex let's you take relics if you have a pure SM detachment. Warlord doesn't matter. Don't have book in front of me though.
From page 200 of Codex Space Marines:
If your army is led by a Space Marines Warlord, you may give one of the following Chapter Relics to a Space Marine CHARACTER in your army.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:36:51
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
Read the FAQs. This has been clarified in the Death Guard FAQ.
You can use the Relic strategem for any faction with their own detachment, regardless of Warlord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:42:55
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Audustum wrote:Wait, does the AdMech one have special requirements? I'm pretty sure the SAM Codex let's you take relics if you have a pure SM detachment. Warlord doesn't matter. Don't have book in front of me though.
Well, you're wrong.
"If your army is led by a Space Marines Warlord, you may give one of the following Chapter Relics to a Space Marine CHARACTER in your army."
You get Stratagems for a pure detachment, you get relics for the Warlord.
Ouch, point made but someone was cranky this evening.
Ghaz wrote:Audustum wrote:Wait, does the AdMech one have special requirements? I'm pretty sure the SAM Codex let's you take relics if you have a pure SM detachment. Warlord doesn't matter. Don't have book in front of me though.
From page 200 of Codex Space Marines:
If your army is led by a Space Marines Warlord, you may give one of the following Chapter Relics to a Space Marine CHARACTER in your army.
Yeah looks it. This is why I made sure to specify I didn't have the book open in front of me and just working with hazy human memory.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:44:21
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Waaaghpower wrote:Read the FAQs. This has been clarified in the Death Guard FAQ. You can use the Relic strategem for any faction with their own detachment, regardless of Warlord.
In this case it only applies to Death Guard, not to any other army. Yay for special snowflake rulings. They need to add this to all the Imperium Codex FAQs.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/02 00:44:55
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:53:28
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
So if my army is lead by an admech warlord I get my free relic in admech
"If your army is led by a Space Marines Warlord, you may give one of the following Chapter Relics to a Space Marine CHARACTER in your army."
So my army takes 0 chapter relics at Base but doesn't seem to prohibit you taking them you just don't get any free
But you get strategems because it only requires a space marine detatchment
Use this strategem before the battle your army may take one extra chapter relic
Well one extra on top of 0 would be 1 so you would have 1 of each faction relic
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/02 00:56:14
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 00:58:34
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
I disagree in that you can't have "extra" if you didn't start with one. If you had no sugar then got "extra" sugar, you'd still have none.
If it said "additional" I'd be more inclined to agree. To me extra is multiplicative and additional is additive. Maybe I am reading to hard into it. -shrug-
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 01:02:28
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
Extra when used as an adverb literally means in addition
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 02:13:23
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:Read the FAQs. This has been clarified in the Death Guard FAQ.
You can use the Relic strategem for any faction with their own detachment, regardless of Warlord.
In this case it only applies to Death Guard, not to any other army. Yay for special snowflake rulings. They need to add this to all the Imperium Codex FAQs.
I disagree, because you're using faulty logic here.
The note was in the FAQ, under the, well... The FAQ section. (As opposed to the Errata section.) That is to say, they are answering a question about how to interpret a rule, not changing the rule's wording or function.
The wording for relics, and the relic-granting strategem, is identical in every book to my knowledge. (I don't have copies of all of them in front of me to check. If someone else does have a copy of each Codex, could they look?)
As such, the interpretation should apply to every instance of the same wording. It would not make sense to interpret things in any other way.
This is a case where RAW could be taken in one of multiple directions, (because of the multiple definitions of the word 'Extra',) but where RAI has been clearly and explicitly established, by Games Workshop, in an official document saying how the rule is meant to be used.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 02:23:18
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
The Red Grail and Pask special snowflake rulings contradict this idea that it can apply to other armies though, otherwise most Aura's would never be able to affect the model casting it.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 02:41:20
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought
|
BaconCatBug wrote:The Red Grail and Pask special snowflake rulings contradict this idea that it can apply to other armies though, otherwise most Aura's would never be able to affect the model casting it.
No they don't, because those are entirely different situations.
One of those is an Errata designed to fix confusion over when and how an extra attack is made. (Since some people were trying to argue that any to-hit roll of 6+ gave every single model in the unit an extra attack.)
The other was an FAQ that clarified who could be targeted with an ability that was not an aura to begin with. (The wording in the Tank Commander rule is notably different than most Aura abilities, in that - Among other things - It targets a single unit and cannot normally target characters.)
Pask's is worded a little differently, but it is still not an aura and not an errata, making every single part of it different, and thus not a contradiction.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/02 02:47:25
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
BaconCatBug wrote:Waaaghpower wrote:Read the FAQs. This has been clarified in the Death Guard FAQ.
You can use the Relic strategem for any faction with their own detachment, regardless of Warlord.
In this case it only applies to Death Guard, not to any other army. Yay for special snowflake rulings. They need to add this to all the Imperium Codex FAQs.
Q: If my army is led by a Chaos Space Marines Warlord, and
I have a Detachment of Death Guard, can I use the Gifts of
Decay Death Guard Stratagem to include a Relic on a Death
Guard Character?
A: Yes. The only requirement to have access to
Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the
appropriate Faction. If you have a Death Guard
Detachment, you have access to their Stratagems.
I think as you said before you might be reading too hard into it. The FAQ answer is located in the Death Guard FAQ, but clarifies that you have access to the stratagems for having a detachment of <Faction>, and so the ruling is general in nature. So they say "extra" but it can still be going from zero to one for a faction that does not include your warlord.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/10 23:32:56
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Here's another one for this general area:
I have an army consisting of 3 Battle-forged detachments:
One Night Lord
One Iron Warrior
One Death Guard
I have the Claws relic on the NL Warlord, but I want more, more, MORE relics! Can I use the strategem Gifts of Chaos for 1 CP to give an IW character a goody, and then use Gift of Decay for 1 CP to give a DG character one as well, instead of paying 3 CP for two?
I'm leaning yes, because Relics of Decay are not Artifacts of Chaos, so by pure RAW they're different strats for different things. If they'd just said "extra relics" I'd think otherwise, but...
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/11 02:52:48
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
BaconCatBug wrote:U02dah4 wrote:Can you use the extra relic strategems to take relics in a detachment belonging to a different faction to your warlord assuming your still battleforged
Eg admech warlord in one detatchment and a spacemarine detatchment so both could have relics
No. The key word is "extra". You only have access to relics from the faction from which your warlord is drawn.
I'd agree with this. You can't have an 'extra' Space Marine relic if you don't already have a Soace Marine relic.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/11 03:05:20
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/11 04:28:36
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch
|
JohnnyHell wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:U02dah4 wrote:Can you use the extra relic strategems to take relics in a detachment belonging to a different faction to your warlord assuming your still battleforged
Eg admech warlord in one detatchment and a spacemarine detatchment so both could have relics
No. The key word is "extra". You only have access to relics from the faction from which your warlord is drawn.
I'd agree with this. You can't have an 'extra' Space Marine relic if you don't already have a Soace Marine relic.
Okay, but how do you sync what you're saying with the FAQ quoted in this thread?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/11 05:55:16
Subject: Relic multiple detatchment/faction
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Jacksmiles wrote: JohnnyHell wrote: BaconCatBug wrote:U02dah4 wrote:Can you use the extra relic strategems to take relics in a detachment belonging to a different faction to your warlord assuming your still battleforged
Eg admech warlord in one detatchment and a spacemarine detatchment so both could have relics
No. The key word is "extra". You only have access to relics from the faction from which your warlord is drawn.
I'd agree with this. You can't have an 'extra' Space Marine relic if you don't already have a Soace Marine relic.
Okay, but how do you sync what you're saying with the FAQ quoted in this thread?
Yeah, the FAQ settled this. I can see the logic in both sides but GW made a call so it's done.
|
|
 |
 |
|