Switch Theme:

Yarrick's Iron will ability  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fi
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper



Finland

I've been thinking about this since the index came out and saw some discussion on this on another thread, but I still don't know for sure.

So the problem is Yarrick's Iron will states: " Roll D6 each time Commissar Yarrick loses his final wound; on a roll of 3+ that wound is not lost."
Simple enough right. The problem comes when we have a situation where Yarrick for example is shot at by some marines with boltguns and he fails 6 saves (He has 4 wounds). Do I now roll one 3+ to see if he loses his final wound, or do I roll 2 since there is 2 wounds left in the pool? And does it change the situation when he is shot by a single Lascannon that does 6 damage and he fails his invulnerable save? Do I make one 3+ roll or 2?

The damage part of the rulebook says:
"A model loses one
wound for each point of damage
it suffers. If a model’s wounds
are reduced to 0, it is either slain
or destroyed and removed from
play.
If a model loses several
wounds from a single attack and
is destroyed, any excess damage
inflicted by that attack is lost and
has no effect.
"

What am I to make of this? I'm leaning a little bit towards it just being a FnP for the final wound and thus making separate rolls for every point of damage left in the pool, since that is how it appears to be worded RaW, but I'm really not sure. The sentence that makes me think that, is the one where it says when the models wounds are reduced to zero it's slain and removed, and that is not what happens with Yarrick, since in the Iron will ability it talks about not losing the final wound if you make the 3+. What do you guys think?

   
Made in us
Humming Great Unclean One of Nurgle





In My Lab

RAW, if he takes 6 bolter wounds, he's taking three 3+ "saves" to avoid losing his last wound. The first three take him down to one, and then each further wound gets a 3+.

Not sure how it'd work with a lascannon, though-you could argue that he'd only ever have to take it once per shot, no matter how high the damage is.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in fi
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper



Finland

 JNAProductions wrote:
RAW, if he takes 6 bolter wounds, he's taking three 3+ "saves" to avoid losing his last wound. The first three take him down to one, and then each further wound gets a 3+.

Not sure how it'd work with a lascannon, though-you could argue that he'd only ever have to take it once per shot, no matter how high the damage is.


Yeah three ofc, math is hard. I don't see how it would be different with a Lascannon as the wounds only disappear from the pool if he is reduced to 0 wounds, which doesnt happen when he makes those 3+'s.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Xboom3000 wrote:
 JNAProductions wrote:
RAW, if he takes 6 bolter wounds, he's taking three 3+ "saves" to avoid losing his last wound. The first three take him down to one, and then each further wound gets a 3+.

Not sure how it'd work with a lascannon, though-you could argue that he'd only ever have to take it once per shot, no matter how high the damage is.


Yeah three ofc, math is hard. I don't see how it would be different with a Lascannon as the wounds only disappear from the pool if he is reduced to 0 wounds, which doesnt happen when he makes those 3+'s.
Because a lascannon is 1 attack that does 6 damage. 6 Bolters are 6 attacks that do 1 damage each. You're supposed to roll saves and attacks individually every single time.
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

Regardless of losing the wounds 'simultaneously', I would say you get the 'Iron Will' ability from any wounds inflicted by the lascannon that would remove the model's last wound.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/06 20:47:18


'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in fi
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper



Finland

I know it's different, but I don't think it makes a diffrence in this case since the rule says "A model loses one wound for each point of damage it suffers" and " If a model loses several wounds from a single attack and is destroyed, any excess damage inflicted by that attack is lost and
has no effect.
" Because he is not destroyed at any point during that, the damage doesn't go to waste in my opinion and you have to keep rolling those 3+'s until the damage pool is empty or Yarrick is dead, yes? Because that's how every FnP works and I think they're all worded the same except for the "when he loses his last wound part".
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Yep, roll each time that last wound might be lost. If it's saved roll again until all 'last wounds' done. In the OP that would be three rolls.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in fi
Whiteshield Conscript Trooper



Finland

Yeah that's the conclusion I came to as well. I've just been wondering since I've seen a lot of people use it so that you only make a single roll of 3+ and all excess damage is lost. It used to be that way in 7th, but RaW it really seems to just be a FnP on the last wound.
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Xboom3000 wrote:
I know it's different, but I don't think it makes a diffrence in this case since the rule says "A model loses one wound for each point of damage it suffers" and " If a model loses several wounds from a single attack and is destroyed, any excess damage inflicted by that attack is lost and
has no effect.
" Because he is not destroyed at any point during that, the damage doesn't go to waste in my opinion and you have to keep rolling those 3+'s until the damage pool is empty or Yarrick is dead, yes? Because that's how every FnP works and I think they're all worded the same except for the "when he loses his last wound part".


No. Because the damage is done simultaneously.

If Yarrick has 1 wound left and takes 6 dmg from a lascannon shot then

1) 6 dmg is done
2) yarrik reduced to 0.
3) ability triggers
4) succed= 1 wound left.

You cannot go back to step 1. The las cannons damage isn't handed out 1 dmg at a time. it's 6 all at once.

Alternatively, as was pointed out, 6 bolters ARE handled one at a time. so you would need to trigger the ability multiple times.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Agreed with lance'a interpretation only exception is if the damage is mortal then a separate role is needed for each
   
Made in us
Charging Dragon Prince





Sticksville, Texas

Yeah, the explanation by Lance845 seems to be the most correct. Since the rules are written as if you DO EVERY ATTACK BY ITSELF AND ONE AT A TIME, Yarrick would only take the roll once against a Lascannon since all the additional Wounds are lost when he is reduced to 0 Wounds, since that has to happen to trigger his ability. The Bolters though, are assumed to be attacks that are rolled individually and one at a time against Yarrick, so he must make his save before passing on to each subsequent Wound/Iron Will roll
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Ooh that does make a lot of sense!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

It says when you lose his last wound on a 3+ he docent. So it looks like if ya had 6 wound rolls, failed them all, on the 4th 5th and 6th wounds you need 3 , 3 pluses

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in de
Spawn of Chaos




 Lance845 wrote:
Xboom3000 wrote:
I know it's different, but I don't think it makes a diffrence in this case since the rule says "A model loses one wound for each point of damage it suffers" and " If a model loses several wounds from a single attack and is destroyed, any excess damage inflicted by that attack is lost and
has no effect.
" Because he is not destroyed at any point during that, the damage doesn't go to waste in my opinion and you have to keep rolling those 3+'s until the damage pool is empty or Yarrick is dead, yes? Because that's how every FnP works and I think they're all worded the same except for the "when he loses his last wound part".


No. Because the damage is done simultaneously.

If Yarrick has 1 wound left and takes 6 dmg from a lascannon shot then

1) 6 dmg is done
2) yarrik reduced to 0.
3) ability triggers
4) succed= 1 wound left.

You cannot go back to step 1. The las cannons damage isn't handed out 1 dmg at a time. it's 6 all at once.

Alternatively, as was pointed out, 6 bolters ARE handled one at a time. so you would need to trigger the ability multiple times.


What ist with mortal wounds?

12000p
 
   
Made in ca
Regular Dakkanaut





He dies. Can you keep damaging something thats dead? No.

All wounds drop. He comes back alive on a 3+. Yes that also means you get warlord (If he is).

How i've been playing it. Pretend he is dead. Its not like FNP.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 rhinoceraids wrote:
He dies. Can you keep damaging something thats dead? No.

All wounds drop. He comes back alive on a 3+. Yes that also means you get warlord (If he is).

How i've been playing it. Pretend he is dead. Its not like FNP.


I agree it works this way, swayed by others' reasoning. The clunky wording doesn't help, but it reads like a 'budget Guilliman' and people only roll once for him, right?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






If what you claim ia right, say the wound pool was generated simultaneously from 1 lascannon and 3 bolters. All hit, all wounds, with lascannon dealing 4 damage. In total, there are 4 LC wounds and 3 bolter wounds. According to your interpretation, I then allocate 7 wounds to him, but only 4 wounds are counted since 'excess wounds are lost.' Then you roll a +3 to see if he comes back?

This doesnt seems right.

Then why doesnt everyone fire one bolter at a time once Yarrick has 3 wounds left, so he is forced to role for his 'Iron Will' that many individual times? Accprding to your interpretations, then according to the sequence in which firing and save rolls occur, Yarrick is potentially more resilient.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/29 16:05:44


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: