Switch Theme:

Militarum Tempestus detachment and regimental doctrines  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





Can Militarum Tempestus detachments include Auxilia units and still get the Storm Troopers regimental doctrine?

MT units can be included in an astra militarum detachment without affecting that detachment's access to a regimental doctrine, but the codex states that MT units do not benefit from a regimental doctrine unless every unit in the detachment is from the MT (when they'll gain the Storm Troopers doctrine).

Under "Advisors and Auxilia" in the codex, it then says that tech priests, Auxilia units etc can be included in an AM detachment and won't prevent them gaining their regimental doctrine, but does this apply to MT detachments as well? Or does the previous rule overrule this?
   
Made in be
Mysterious Techpriest





Belgium

I'd like to know as well, I want to include Bullgryns in my Scions Bataillon but I don't own the codex.

40K: Adeptus Mechanicus
AoS: Nighthaunts 
   
Made in us
Ollanius Pius - Savior of the Emperor






Gathering the Informations.

I think that the way to look at it is like this:

If you've taken no other item that has the <Regiment> Keyword, then you're able to get the Tempestus doctrine. Taking anything else from the Auxilla list won't affect you, as otherwise taking Valkyries would make it so that the Tempestus can't have their Regimental Doctrine.
   
Made in be
Mysterious Techpriest





Belgium

Yeah I believe being denied anything that isn't <Militarum Tempestus> to be able to keep the Stormtroopers doctrine would be pretty harsh, there's just 4 entries for Tempestus after all.

40K: Adeptus Mechanicus
AoS: Nighthaunts 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Harshly, the Tempestus paragraph doesn't have the same "(apart from the exceptions noted opposite)" caveat that the <REGIMENT> section does. Strictly RAW the last sentence of the Tempestus paragraph says every unit must be Tempestus to get the Storm Troopers ability. I'm guessing that wasn't their intent, but I can foresee arguments!


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Kanluwen wrote:
I think that the way to look at it is like this:

If you've taken no other item that has the <Regiment> Keyword, then you're able to get the Tempestus doctrine. Taking anything else from the Auxilla list won't affect you, as otherwise taking Valkyries would make it so that the Tempestus can't have their Regimental Doctrine.


I'd totally play it this way too.

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/10/08 19:41:35


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




I don't see that the parenthetical heads-up about the exceptions is necessary in order for the those exceptions to apply. Like, obviously if that parenthetical didn't exist, nothing would change about how every other regiment interacts with things like Commissars -- the "Advisors and Auxilla" section is itself sufficient to create the exceptions. Further, the absence of the parenthetical does not suggest to me that the text intends Scions to be treated differently either; probably the writer just figured that one heads-up is sufficient and didn't see the need to repeat himself. The reader has already been informed that there are exceptions coming up.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/08 20:11:03


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Dionysodorus wrote:
I don't see that the parenthetical heads-up about the exceptions is necessary in order for the those exceptions to apply. Like, obviously if that parenthetical didn't exist, nothing would change about how every other regiment interacts with things like Commissars -- the "Advisors and Auxilla" section is itself sufficient to create the exceptions. Further, the absence of the parenthetical does not suggest to me that the text intends Scions to be treated differently either; probably the writer just figured that one heads-up is sufficient and didn't see the need to repeat himself. The reader has already been informed that there are exceptions coming up.


Aye, totally agreed. You know how some people are, though!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut





So it was sort of confirmed on the 40K Facebook page that Scions do keep the regimental doctrine even if including Auxilia units. Someone asked the same question and there was a reply from someone not connected to GW 'confirming' it, but then GW agreed with the comment below it. Take from that what you will!
   
Made in us
Fixture of Dakka




Vanished Completely

Very little, alas....
There been retractions on the Facebook page, as the facebook team is not the 'studio' and sometimes posts an answer before verifying!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/09 17:37:02


8th made it so I can no longer sway Tau onto the side of Chaos, but they will eventually turn aside from their idea of the Greater Good to embrace the Greatest of pleasures.  
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: