Switch Theme:

Charging from vehicles destroyed in overwatch  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





OK, so I have a bunch of boyz in a trukk. I charge the trukk at a shadowsword (or some other nasty thing.) The trukk is destroyed in overwatch and the boyz spill out.

Can these boyz then charge something, either the shadowsword of another unit?

The reason I ask is that there is no way currently to disembark after a vehicle has moved. Except for these lucky boyz...they get to ride the trukk, take their dismbark lumps (while adding 3 inches) then charge!

Could this be a tactic: Move the unit within 3 inches of a trukk, embark, move the transport, get it blown up in overwatch, disembark, then charge?

If so, Ork boyz could have a charge range of 5 + 3 (embark) + 12 + (length of vehicle) + 3 (disembark) + 2d6 with this tactic.

With a Warboss or near the boyz, it would be 5 + d6 (advance) + 3 (embark) + 12 + d6 (vehicle advance) + 7-ish (length of vehicle) + 3 (disembark) + 2d6 charge, for a maximum of...wait for it...54 inches!

Legal?
   
Made in us
Norn Queen






Just checked the rules.

Short answer, Yes. If the vehicle dies to overwatch you follow the rules for disembarking. Then you move on to selecting the next unit you wish to charge with. Which could be the recently disembarked unit.


These are my opinions. This is how I feel. Others may feel differently. This needs to be stated for some reason.
 
   
Made in gb
Khorne Chosen Marine Riding a Juggernaut





UK

The ofc would all take deaths on a 1
And then you have to take overwatch again with that unit charging
Then factor trus are not cheap....

its quite an orky tactic but probably situational and a bit desperate

 
   
Made in au
Three Color Minimum






Very Orky!! You could see them rolling a trukk down the hill towards the enemy and leaping off it into the fray at the end of its journey. Waaaaaagh

And as stated above - yes this can be done

I had a vehicle destroyed by an enemy Ynnari unit in my assault phase as their extra shooting move, the troops inside then disembarked the destroyed vehicle and charged the offending Ynnari unit
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Also, it would make zero sense to do so.

Since you disembark freely 3" at the beginning of your Movement phase (before it technically) you'd be depriving your Ork boys of 3" of additional charge range --- making it much more likely that they'd reach.

Could you? I believe so, yes.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Don't trucks move 12"?
Isn't 12" farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
Isn't 12" Truck Move + 3" Disembark way farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 alextroy wrote:
Don't trucks move 12"?
Isn't 12" farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
Isn't 12" Truck Move + 3" Disembark way farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
You can't disembark after moving.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Don't trucks move 12"?
Isn't 12" farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
Isn't 12" Truck Move + 3" Disembark way farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
You can't disembark after moving.


He knows that. He means the Emergency Disembark after the Trukk is destroyed, as per example in OP.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Irked Necron Immortal




 JohnnyHell wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Don't trucks move 12"?
Isn't 12" farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
Isn't 12" Truck Move + 3" Disembark way farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
You can't disembark after moving.


He knows that. He means the Emergency Disembark after the Trukk is destroyed, as per example in OP.


yeah but doesn't Overwatch occur before units roll for charge and move? So if the Trukk is 9" out and is destroyed in Overwatch wouldn't the Boys now be, at least, 6" away?

Also super Orky
   
Made in us
Battlewagon Driver with Charged Engine





BomBomHotdog wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 alextroy wrote:
Don't trucks move 12"?
Isn't 12" farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
Isn't 12" Truck Move + 3" Disembark way farther than 3" Disembark + 6" Move?
You can't disembark after moving.


He knows that. He means the Emergency Disembark after the Trukk is destroyed, as per example in OP.


yeah but doesn't Overwatch occur before units roll for charge and move? So if the Trukk is 9" out and is destroyed in Overwatch wouldn't the Boys now be, at least, 6" away?

Also super Orky


You still get the trukk's 12 inch move in the movement phase, plus the 3 inch disembark of the models.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





I guess what I'm saying is that if a Trukk is 12" from an enemy unit...there's zero difference in whether you disembark before, or emergency disembark...so why risk charging the Trukk? If it takes Overwatch and blows up you could potentially lose models. There's zero reason to not disembark prior to the Trukk charging (to take Overwatch) and then safely charge your boys in.

Overwatch occurs before a charging unit moves (or attempts to move). You're not getting your boys into the fight any faster or safer...at all?
   
Made in us
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch




 Elbows wrote:
I guess what I'm saying is that if a Trukk is 12" from an enemy unit...there's zero difference in whether you disembark before, or emergency disembark...so why risk charging the Trukk? If it takes Overwatch and blows up you could potentially lose models. There's zero reason to not disembark prior to the Trukk charging (to take Overwatch) and then safely charge your boys in.

Overwatch occurs before a charging unit moves (or attempts to move). You're not getting your boys into the fight any faster or safer...at all?


Yeah, but the situation in question is already after the movement phase. And at the start of that movement phase, both the boys and the trukk were more than 12" away.

So say the truck is 18" away from the charge target at the start of the movement phase. The boys embark, the trukk moves 12" (or whatever), putting it 6" away. The trukk charges the target, dies in overwatch. Boys disembark, 3" closer to target, 2" charge needed for boys that started 18" or more away that turn.

If you're specifically trying to do this, it's not incredibly likely to succeed, but emergency disembarked units can charge in this situation, so it's a possibility. Opponent would probably just not fire overwatch in subsequent tries after it succeeds the first time though.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/09 16:39:50


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 Elbows wrote:
I guess what I'm saying is that if a Trukk is 12" from an enemy unit...there's zero difference in whether you disembark before, or emergency disembark...so why risk charging the Trukk? If it takes Overwatch and blows up you could potentially lose models. There's zero reason to not disembark prior to the Trukk charging (to take Overwatch) and then safely charge your boys in.

Overwatch occurs before a charging unit moves (or attempts to move). You're not getting your boys into the fight any faster or safer...at all?


The 12" quoted is the Trukk's regular move, not a Charge move. That isn't considered in the numbers posted by that chap. No Trukk Charge range is counted because, as you say, if it dies it doesn't move. But the unit inside still deploys 3" forward then could charge. Make sense?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: