Switch Theme:

Does a Unit count as moved. when you only move some of its models?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Hi Rules Lawyers,

quick question is in the title. Its actually 1 question for 2 situations.


Example 1, in general: i have a Scion squad with 1 sarge, 5 HS las and 4 Hot Shot volleyguns 9,1 inch away and move only the 5 HS las 1 inch closer to get in rapid fire range, but dont move the Volleyguns to avoid -1 to hit penalty. Yes, no?

Example 2 ( say: dikk move i want to execute): A Valkyrie drops a Scion squad with 1 sarge, 5 HS las and 4 HS volleyguns 9,1 inch away via Grav chute insertion from the enemy. Due to the Grav chute rule i may move the HS las 1 inch closer, so they are in rapid fire range, dont move the Volleyguns to avoid penalty and still be able to shoot (without -1 penalty!) this turn, possible? ( guess no? because disembarking still counts as "moved" even with the wonky Grav chute rule which applies before movement?)

In general i couldn't find anything in the rules which says i have to move a whole unit.

Thanks!

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/10 13:11:31


 
   
Made in ca
Longtime Dakkanaut





I'm pretty sure that the game doesn't care about units moving in any way any longer, it just cares about models moving or not (and by that, I mean no core rules - it's possible some units have rules that do care whether a unit instead of a model moved or not). So, yes, you can move some models in a unit, and not others, so that you can maximize your firepower.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/10 13:11:26


 Galef wrote:
If you refuse to use rock, you will never beat scissors.
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The rules for weapon types are now granular to the model level. If your heavy weapon dude didn't move it doesn't get the penalty, since the penalty is a property of the "Heavy" weapon type, not the general shooting rules.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Thanks so far, that clearly answers Example 1.

I'm not sure about example 2. Do all the models count as moved when they disembarked via grav chute? Usually "disembarked" models should count as moved even if they dont move further in this turn, how does it work with Grav chute insertion?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Kremling wrote:
Thanks so far, that clearly answers Example 1.

I'm not sure about example 2. Do all the models count as moved when they disembarked via grav chute? Usually "disembarked" models should count as moved even if they dont move further in this turn, how does it work with Grav chute insertion?
From the transport rules:

Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) during the remainder of their turn. Note though, that even if you don’t move disembarking units further in your Movement phase, they still count as having moved for any rules purposes, such as shooting Heavy weapons (pg 180).

Grav Chute insertion is just a fancy disembarking method. "Models may disembark from this vehicle at any point during its move..."

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/10 13:34:03


 
   
Made in de
Longtime Dakkanaut




Grav chute insertion seems to follow all the ordinary rules for disembarking, except that it can happen at any point in the transport's move and the disembarking models can't be within 9" of the enemy. So they count as having moved.
   
Made in de
Fresh-Faced New User





Thanks for clarification guys
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Model by model!

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






1. Model by model basis. A unit is allowed to move as far as its movement characteristics allow. Models in the said unit can move UP TO the said movement limit, including 0.

2. Any form of disembark/deep strike is considered to be a special type of movement in lieu of its given movement characteristic. Hence, for the purposes of determining whether a model has moved or not for the sake of determining the modifiers for shooting, it has moved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/10 15:04:35


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: