Switch Theme:

Living Bomb, tactical objectives and replacing cards  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in se
Dakka Veteran





The Tyranid units Spore Mine and Mucolid have the Living Bomb rule

are discounted for the purposes of any victory conditions - their destruction never awards victory points, they do not count towards the number of models controlling an objective, and they do not count when determining if a player has any models left on the battlefield.


Most events and friendly games allows you to draw a new tactical objective card in maelstrom missions, if the condition on the card is impossible to achieve. But what goes for a unit with Living Bomb? Say you pull the objective to kill a unit with Fly, and the only enemy unit with Fly is a Spore Mine - should you then be allowed to discard and draw a new card?

Note, it's not impossible to achieve the mission, you just aren't awarded any victory point, thanks to the Living Bomb rule.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





Tricky, but I think no. The objective is attainable, you just won't get any points for it if you choose to destroy the Spores. It's an unfortunate product of a specific rule trumping an objective award.


PourSpelur wrote:
It's fully within the rules for me to look up your Facebook page, find out your dear Mother Gladys is single, take her on a lovely date, and tell you all the details of our hot, sweaty, animal sex during your psychic phase.
I mean, fifty bucks is on the line.
There's no rule that says I can't.
Hive Fleet Hercual - 5314 pts
Cult of the Chitinous Emperor - 1146 pts
Seraphon - 4600pts
 
   
Made in se
Dakka Veteran





Yeah well, as a Tyranid player I wouldn't call it unfortunate But I had it ruled against me in a tournament, just curious to hear how it's done in other areas.

Some Tyranid players takes a Mucolid just to make it their Warlord (will never give up Warlord). I just doubt it's worth 20pts to do so.
   
Made in us
Sneaky Lictor





 N.I.B. wrote:
Yeah well, as a Tyranid player I wouldn't call it unfortunate But I had it ruled against me in a tournament, just curious to hear how it's done in other areas.

Some Tyranid players takes a Mucolid just to make it their Warlord (will never give up Warlord). I just doubt it's worth 20pts to do so.


Eeeyyy, same here.No skin off my teeth. Of course it's up to the TOs.

I'll ask my regular TO about it when I get the chance.

PourSpelur wrote:
It's fully within the rules for me to look up your Facebook page, find out your dear Mother Gladys is single, take her on a lovely date, and tell you all the details of our hot, sweaty, animal sex during your psychic phase.
I mean, fifty bucks is on the line.
There's no rule that says I can't.
Hive Fleet Hercual - 5314 pts
Cult of the Chitinous Emperor - 1146 pts
Seraphon - 4600pts
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






I thought only a character could be nominated the warlord?

Well either way, most tourney's have StW as a tertiary objective that only helps your overall score and don't determine if you win the actual game. So its not like loosing your warlord actually hurts your own score.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in kr
Fresh-Faced New User





 Eihnlazer wrote:
I thought only a character could be nominated the warlord?

Well either way, most tourney's have StW as a tertiary objective that only helps your overall score and don't determine if you win the actual game. So its not like loosing your warlord actually hurts your own score.


Any model can be the warlord, but only characters receive warlord traits. Other than the living bomb example, I struggle to think of a reason to make a non-character a warlord in matched play, but it does open up options to build entirely character-less armies for open and narrative play while still incorporating a slay the warlord objective.
   
 
Forum Index » Tournament Discussions
Go to: