Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 03:49:12
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
For example, if I have a vehicle with 4 weapons, and declare 3 shots on one target, and 1 on a different target, what happens if the first target dies on the initial shot? Do I get to re-assign the remaining 2 shots, or are they overkill?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 03:53:43
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
You declare target before you shoot so the rest of shots here are overkill.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 04:55:54
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
As mentioned, no reassigning. It's overkill.
Overkill has made the game more about gambling and probability. Yes, I can shoot all my weapons at your guys but I have to guess how many I need to kill them before even rolling. If I guess incorrectly, wasted shots.
This happens often with my Noise Marines. I tend to fire 60 shots with them with Prescience and reroll auras. If I just declare and fire them all, I'm probably overkilling your unit. Thus I would rather split fire and throw say 30 shots at those guys and 20 shots at those guys and 10 shots at these other guys. But if I guessed wrong or RNG screwed me then I might leave your unit alive and well.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 06:19:07
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
Thank you for the answers!
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 07:29:29
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Follow up questions:
1. should I still roll for overcharged plasma if they were declared?
2. should I "waste" one use weapon (hunter-killer missile) if it was declared?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 08:44:36
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan
|
Yes and yes. You declared them fired, so they fired.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 08:50:05
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Tzeentch Veteran Marine with Psychic Potential
|
danyboy wrote:Follow up questions:
1. should I still roll for overcharged plasma if they were declared?
2. should I "waste" one use weapon (hunter-killer missile) if it was declared?
While not explicitly stated along the lines of "You must shoot everything once declared", I'd say No and No. Assigning the shots doesn't mean you've fired them yet. The Resolve Attacks step requires a target to actually attack. If you already removed the model from the table, you have no target left to fire at. Shots are rolled one at a time so once you killed the target you stop rolling shots against it.
|
It's called a thick skin. The Jersey born have it innately. |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 10:12:37
Subject: Re:What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The rule lawyers here will tell you that all shots happen simultaneously. I cant find anything about that in the rules. You can roll each attack one at a time, but that doesnt say if all shots happen at the same time, or not.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 10:48:29
Subject: What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Arkaine wrote: danyboy wrote:Follow up questions:
1. should I still roll for overcharged plasma if they were declared?
2. should I "waste" one use weapon (hunter-killer missile) if it was declared?
While not explicitly stated along the lines of "You must shoot everything once declared", I'd say No and No. Assigning the shots doesn't mean you've fired them yet. The Resolve Attacks step requires a target to actually attack. If you already removed the model from the table, you have no target left to fire at. Shots are rolled one at a time so once you killed the target you stop rolling shots against it.
I'd agree with No and No.
You killed the unit before resolving these shots, so you shouldn't suffer any associated penalties. GW games don't make you roll for things like this... you never make a To Hit roll if there's nothing to hit!
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 11:44:21
Subject: Re:What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
As you point that out I think it is a bit weird.
If you look at p. 179 of the rulebook that you have to resolve all shots against one target I think it is more likely to be a yes and yes.
All of those shots happen at the same time but are set in sequence for gameplay purposes (for example you just could use different coloured dice for different attacks/weapons). And I can not find anything about skipping attacks against targets that are wiped out and you don't check on the target after you started with 4. Resolve Attacks until 4.2 Wound roll.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 11:48:02
Subject: Re:What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Zeshi wrote:As you point that out I think it is a bit weird.
If you look at p. 179 of the rulebook that you have to resolve all shots against one target I think it is more likely to be a yes and yes.
All of those shots happen at the same time but are set in sequence for gameplay purposes (for example you just could use different coloured dice for different attacks/weapons). And I can not find anything about skipping attacks against targets that are wiped out and you don't check on the target after you started with 4. Resolve Attacks until 4.2 Wound roll.
There's nothing to find because nothing compels you to make those rolls. Attacks are abstracted to happen all at the same time but don't for practical purposes. Indeed each attack should be resolved separately in sequence or things like saves and wound allocation don't work... check the Fast Rolling section for more info.
Even by the sequencing you don't roll the attacks you don't make:
1. Choose Units
2. Choose Targets
3. Choose Ranged Weapon
4. Resolve Attacks
Steps 1 and 2 are done once, then we cycle through 3 and 4 as needed per weapon type.
If you don't ever choose the Plasma Gun in step 3, you can't resolve it's attacks... so you don't roll to hit, and it can't overheat.
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/19 11:52:20
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/10/19 12:05:43
Subject: Re:What if declared target dies before all weapons were used?
|
 |
Drop Trooper with Demo Charge
|
Yeah that makes sense. Sorry I brainfarted there.
|
If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! |
|
 |
 |
|