Switch Theme:

How many times can a chaos character atempt to summon different deamonic units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Wielding Bloodletter of Khorne





Warp Storm over Illinois

Say I Have Kharn on the table. I have enough points set aside in reinforcements to summon a Herald of Khorne and two separate units of Bloodletters. In one turn if Kharn did not move, can he attempt to summon all 3 units separately? I understand if he were to fail one (say the herald) he couldn't attempt again but would that stop him from being able to summon the two different groups of bloodletters? The Codex/Index IIRC doesn't say there is a limit on how many different units one character may attempt to summon if they meet the requirements (IE didn't move and have the correct amount of points available). Any clarification on this would be great!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/20 20:34:27


World Eaters/Khorne Daemons : 10463pts  
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






They can only summon once, because there is only one "end of their movement phase." It doesn't make logical sense because if you summon a 2nd time, then by definition the 1st time could not have been the "end" of the phase, thus making it an illegal action.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/20 20:36:31


 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





 BaconCatBug wrote:
They can only summon once, because there is only one "end of their movement phase." It doesn't make logical sense because if you summon a 2nd time, then by definition the 1st time could not have been the "end" of the phase, thus making it an illegal action.


I can kind of see your argument, but at the same time, by that logic you couldn't deep strike more than one unit per turn, which I doubt many people would argue was the case.

"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






AnFéasógMór wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
They can only summon once, because there is only one "end of their movement phase." It doesn't make logical sense because if you summon a 2nd time, then by definition the 1st time could not have been the "end" of the phase, thus making it an illegal action.


I can kind of see your argument, but at the same time, by that logic you couldn't deep strike more than one unit per turn, which I doubt many people would argue was the case.
It's not the same logic at all. Each unit individually triggers at the end of the turn and sequencing rules resolve it.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/21 03:21:27


 
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





 BaconCatBug wrote:
AnFéasógMór wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
They can only summon once, because there is only one "end of their movement phase." It doesn't make logical sense because if you summon a 2nd time, then by definition the 1st time could not have been the "end" of the phase, thus making it an illegal action.


I can kind of see your argument, but at the same time, by that logic you couldn't deep strike more than one unit per turn, which I doubt many people would argue was the case.
It's not the same logic at all. Each unit individually triggers at the end of the turn and sequencing rules resolve it.


It's absolutely, 100% the same logic.

An individual character can only summon one unit because the summoning happens at "the end of their movement phase", and there is only one "end of their movement phase" in which they can summon a unit.

An individual player can only deep strike on unit, because the deep strike happens at "the end of your movement phase", and there is only one "end of your movement phase" in which you can deep strike a unit.

It's the exact same logic, the exact same phrasing, the only difference is the pronoun, and I'm failing to see where "your" vs "their" would somehow change the number of "ends of movement phase" the referenced person or model has.

Don't get me wrong, I actually agree with you that this rule was almost certainly intended to limit summoning to once per model per round. And I highly doubt the various deep strike rules were intended to happen only once per player per round.

But RaW, if a unit can only summon once per round, a player can only deep strike once per round.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nevermind, I see what you're trying to say. Because each unit individually can trigger deep strike at the end of the phase, the triggers are simultaneous.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/21 03:31:17


"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






AnFéasógMór wrote:
Nevermind, I see what you're trying to say. Because each unit individually can trigger deep strike at the end of the phase, the triggers are simultaneous.
Exactly. Comparing a situation where multiple units trigger at once is not the same as trying to trigger a single unit multiple times.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: