Switch Theme:

Move, Move Move, and Assault Weapons  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Can I use the Move, Move, Move order and still fire Assault Weapons? (Tallarn Doctrine)

It says forgo shooting to move, then it says the unit moves as if it were the movement phase.

If it's the movement phase, which "rule" takes precedence

A: forgo shooting (i'm assuming this is correct)

B: as if it were the movement phase (which allows Assault weapons to be fired)

   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 RegulusBlack wrote:
Can I use the Move, Move, Move order and still fire Assault Weapons? (Tallarn Doctrine)

It says forgo shooting to move, then it says the unit moves as if it were the movement phase.

If it's the movement phase, which "rule" takes precedence

A: forgo shooting (i'm assuming this is correct)

B: as if it were the movement phase (which allows Assault weapons to be fired)

It literally says you can't shoot. It couldn't be any clearer.

In any case, situations like this are an AND gate, not an OR gate.

If I have two rules:
You may never eat cake.
You may eat cake on thursdays.

The answer to "Can I eat cake?" is Rule 1 AND Rule 2. 0 AND 1 is 0, so you can't eat cake.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/23 14:00:53


 
   
Made in us
Daemonic Dreadnought





Eye of Terror

I agree with the sentiment but not the logic.

Sometimes, one thing can be false and the action is still allowed. For example, in a mixed CSM / DG force, you can apply a Stratagem from either force to any unit in the army. A Death Guard unit doesn't have to be a generic CSM to be the target of the Stratagem.

In this case, this rule allows a unit to replace the shooting phase with a movement phase. There's no mechanic that allows shooting in the movement phase, it always happens in the ahooting phase. That's why the unit doesn't get to shoot.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/23 15:07:02


   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Thanks for the replies, that’s how I understood it as well, just wanted to make sure I didn’t short change myself when examining the related doctrines.

As an additional question:

Company Commander Voice of Command

When it says resolve the affects (effects) of an order before moving on to the next one, does that mean if I give the unit in question a re-roll of 1’s I have to shoot the unit before giving another order?

Move, Move, Move I can understand since this is an “action”

Getting a bonus to hit/wounds is a “buff”? but the resolution is that when I shoot I can reroll??

I’m trying to understand it when combined with Cadian doctrine.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 RegulusBlack wrote:
When it says resolve the affects (effects) of an order before moving on to the next one, does that mean if I give the unit in question a re-roll of 1’s I have to shoot the unit before giving another order?
No, because "resolving the order" just means giving it a buff. Things like Fix Bayonets cause the unit to immediately do something.
   
Made in us
Stalwart Veteran Guard Sergeant





Thx Bug!
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: