Switch Theme:

Dedicated Transports with units inside counts as?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

So Astra Militarum (specifically Tallarn) have a stratagem that allows you to flank (bring in at end of movement on table edge) 3 Tallarn units.

My question is if I were take a dedicated transport with 3 OTHER units (same detachment) inside would that count as one of the three units?
The plan was to flank psykers using that stratagem, but I am unsure if it is allowed. The dedicated transport has the regiment keyword, the psykers do not.
If anyone can steer me in the right direction, I would appreciate it.

Thank you,
Papaseven.

/THREAD
 papaseven wrote:
Got it.
Just trying to be as clear as possible with my intention, and with the answer that I receive to that question. I was sure to search before I asked, and I didn't see anything that was close to what I was asking.

So you CAN take a dedicated transport, but the units inside count as units as far as the stratagem is concerned. Additionally, (and obviously, as I was clear in my original post) they have to have the correct <REGIMENT> keyword.

The crux was do units inside count if they happen to be inside a unit, and they do.
/thread

Thanks guys.


Also to note from the FAQ

Page 136 – Ambush
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Choose up to three Tallarn units to be set up in
ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield (only
one of these units can have the Vehicle keyword).’
Add the following sentence:
‘The units are considered to have moved their
maximum distance.’

Q: If I have, for example, a Tallarn unit of Leman Russ
Battle Tanks with three tanks, can I use the Ambush Stratagem
once to place all three models in ambush?
A: Yes. The same is true for any other Tallarn vehicle
squadron (Basilisks, Hellhounds, etc.).

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/10/24 19:55:47


16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

If the Psykers don't have the TALLARN keyword they're not eligible by the wording of the Stratagem.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






I think this raises more a concern regarding "does a dedicated transport count towards the 3 units limit restriction" and "do units embarked on a transport count towards the 3 unit limit restriction". Which then raises the concern, "If embarked units count as being deployed as normal at the start of game, then why doesnt units embarked on a transport for the sake of determining the 3 unit restrictions for tallarn ambush strategem"

Even if you were to flank psykers, you can only flank two units of psykers in the said transport. Which would not be as effective as youre imagining it.

And they lack the <REGIMENT> keyword so they can never be chosen as TALLARN

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/10/24 14:50:25


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 skchsan wrote:
I think this raises more a concern regarding "does a dedicated transport count towards the 3 units limit restriction" and "do units embarked on a transport count towards the 3 unit limit restriction". Which then raises the concern, "If embarked units count as being deployed as normal at the start of game, then why doesnt units embarked on a transport for the sake of determining the 3 unit restrictions for tallarn ambush strategem"

Even if you were to flank psykers, you can only flank two units of psykers in the said transport. Which would not be as effective as youre imagining it.

And they lack the <REGIMENT> keyword so they can never be chosen as TALLARN


The first isn't a concern - a Dedicated Transport is just a Detachment role for list building. For game purposes, that (e.g.) Chimera is a unit. Same as any other unit. So that's not ambiguous or up for debate.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 JohnnyHell wrote:
The first isn't a concern - a Dedicated Transport is just a Detachment role for list building. For game purposes, that (e.g.) Chimera is a unit. Same as any other unit. So that's not ambiguous or up for debate.


Just clarifying it for the OP that the dedicated transport DOES count towards the number of unit restriction.

When I read the post, it sounds like hes trying to load up 9 primaris psyker and a commisar in three chimeras and use tallarn ambush strategem.
   
Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

 skchsan wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
The first isn't a concern - a Dedicated Transport is just a Detachment role for list building. For game purposes, that (e.g.) Chimera is a unit. Same as any other unit. So that's not ambiguous or up for debate.


Just clarifying it for the OP that the dedicated transport DOES count towards the number of unit restriction.

When I read the post, it sounds like hes trying to load up 9 primaris psyker and a commisar in three chimeras and use tallarn ambush strategem.


More or less that's what I'm asking. So even though the units inside don't count against you for a drop, they do for the stratagem. Even though the chimera is what is flanking, and the psykers happen to be inside.
But you are saying the units INSIDE the transport count against the stratagem as well? That's what I'm having a hard time seeing as to if it is or isn't legal.


 JohnnyHell wrote:
If the Psykers don't have the TALLARN keyword they're not eligible by the wording of the Stratagem.

But the transport does. So if the units are inside, do they count against the unit count or exempt it from being chosen for the stratagem? They just happen to be inside it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 15:47:25


16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 papaseven wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
The first isn't a concern - a Dedicated Transport is just a Detachment role for list building. For game purposes, that (e.g.) Chimera is a unit. Same as any other unit. So that's not ambiguous or up for debate.


Just clarifying it for the OP that the dedicated transport DOES count towards the number of unit restriction.

When I read the post, it sounds like hes trying to load up 9 primaris psyker and a commisar in three chimeras and use tallarn ambush strategem.


More or less that's what I'm asking. So even though the units inside don't count against you for a drop, they do for the stratagem. Even though the chimera is what is flanking, and the psykers happen to be inside.
But you are saying the units INSIDE the transport count against the stratagem as well? That's what I'm having a hard time seeing as to if it is or isn't legal.


 JohnnyHell wrote:
If the Psykers don't have the TALLARN keyword they're not eligible by the wording of the Stratagem.

But the transport does. So if the units are inside, do they count against the unit count or exempt it from being chosen for the stratagem? They just happen to be inside it.


The interaction becomes an issue when youre calculating how many models you have deployed for the purpose of determinig how many units can be held in tactical reserves. While the rules for embarking clearly states that embarked units are considered to be not "set up on battlefield", many argue that they do count for ha ing models set up at deployment.

Where your potential strat comes to an issue is that, "if i have 10 sepaprate units within a single unit called a transport, the entire count of 11 units I have are considered to be 1 unit", which is contradictory & inconsistent to other rulings.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 papaseven wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 JohnnyHell wrote:
The first isn't a concern - a Dedicated Transport is just a Detachment role for list building. For game purposes, that (e.g.) Chimera is a unit. Same as any other unit. So that's not ambiguous or up for debate.


Just clarifying it for the OP that the dedicated transport DOES count towards the number of unit restriction.

When I read the post, it sounds like hes trying to load up 9 primaris psyker and a commisar in three chimeras and use tallarn ambush strategem.


More or less that's what I'm asking. So even though the units inside don't count against you for a drop, they do for the stratagem. Even though the chimera is what is flanking, and the psykers happen to be inside.
But you are saying the units INSIDE the transport count against the stratagem as well? That's what I'm having a hard time seeing as to if it is or isn't legal.


 JohnnyHell wrote:
If the Psykers don't have the TALLARN keyword they're not eligible by the wording of the Stratagem.

But the transport does. So if the units are inside, do they count against the unit count or exempt it from being chosen for the stratagem? They just happen to be inside it.



There's no such thing as 'just happen to be inside it' for the Chimera... if the unit isn't permitted to be deployed off the table, it must deploy on the table.
As the Psykers aren't TALLARN they can't be chosen for the Ambush Stratagem.
Anything inside the Chimera set up in Ambush must have the TALLARN keyword and would count toward the number of units permitted to Ambush by the Stratagem. Why would they have any exemption?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

Got it.
Just trying to be as clear as possible with my intention, and with the answer that I receive to that question. I was sure to search before I asked, and I didn't see anything that was close to what I was asking.

So you CAN take a dedicated transport, but the units inside count as units as far as the stratagem is concerned. Additionally, (and obviously, as I was clear in my original post) they have to have the correct <REGIMENT> keyword.

The crux was do units inside count if they happen to be inside a unit, and they do.
/thread

Thanks guys.

16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Yeah, that's how I'd read it, else you're deploying >3 units in Ambush.

I believe you can still manipulate things a little... for example, Ambush a Leman Russ Squadron. They are chosen as one unit, and only become 3 separate units once deployed (check their datasheet rules). So that would allow 3 tanks in the 'one VEHICLE unit' slot, and still possibility of Ambushing with two Infantry squads as well.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 17:01:52


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

I agree. In theory you could put 9 exterminators anywhere on a table edge you wanted. But would they make it in before you got tabled if you dont get first turn?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 19:07:57


16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 papaseven wrote:
I agree. In theory you could put 9 exterminators anywhere on a table edge you wanted. But would they make it in before you got tabled if you dont get first turn? Probably.


Three, max, since the FAQ. ;-)

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

From the FAQ

Page 136 – Ambush
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Choose up to three Tallarn units to be set up in
ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield (only
one of these units can have the Vehicle keyword).’
Add the following sentence:
‘The units are considered to have moved their
maximum distance.’

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 19:11:38


16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 papaseven wrote:
From the FAQ

Page 136 – Ambush
Change the second sentence to read:
‘Choose up to three Tallarn units to be set up in
ambush instead of placing them on the battlefield (only
one of these units can have the Vehicle keyword).’
Add the following sentence:
‘The units are considered to have moved their
maximum distance.’


I know that. Three Leman Russes can be chosen as a unit when list-building, and only become separate units on deployment, no?

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Navigator




Virginia

Yes. And they confirmed in the FAQ you can take 3 tanks and it counts as one if you take the squadron.
I was only posting that for anyone else that was curious so they didnt have to look it up!

Q: If I have, for example, a Tallarn unit of Leman Russ
Battle Tanks with three tanks, can I use the Ambush Stratagem
once to place all three models in ambush?
A: Yes. The same is true for any other Tallarn vehicle
squadron (Basilisks, Hellhounds, etc.).

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/24 19:55:33


16,000 Wins: 40 Losses: 12
Imperial Soup : Raven Guard, Astra Militarum, Knights, Adeptus Sororitas


DQ:90S++G+++M+B++I+Pw40k97#/re7D++A++/cWD817R+++T(T)DM++ 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: