Switch Theme:

How do relics work?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Can I just buy a relic for any of my characters for points?

Do I have to pay command points to get one relic, or is it just for the 2nd or 3rd.

Can I put a relic on named characters?

Can I have more then the same relic in one army?

   
Made in us
Badass "Sister Sin"






Camas, WA

It's in the codex. If you have an XX warlord, you can give one character an XX relic. Alternatively, you can pay 1 and 3 CP to get 1 or 2 relics regardless of warlord as long as you have access to the stratagem that allows it.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/10/31 21:38:53


Looking for great deals on miniatures or have a large pile you are looking to sell off? Checkout Mindtaker Miniatures.
Live in the Pacific NW? Check out http://ordofanaticus.com
 
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




You get a free relic for any Character of the same codex Faction as your warlord.

They do not cost points, but you must have the correct base equipment.

You can purchase more with strategems/CP. These do not have to be the same Faction as your warlord.
(But obviously you need a pure faction detachment to unlock the stratagems)

Named characters cannot be given relics.

Only one relic per character and no duplicate relics.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/10/31 21:42:08


DFTT 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

Captyn_Bob wrote:

You can purchase more with strategems/C. These do not have to be the same Faction as your warlord.
(But obviously you need a pure faction detachment to unlock the stratagems)


Obviusly no tyranid relic on cultists, right? The relic has to be from the same faction?

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




The stratagem will tell you what it can be used on and what it gives you.

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Niiai wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:

You can purchase more with strategems/C. These do not have to be the same Faction as your warlord.
(But obviously you need a pure faction detachment to unlock the stratagems)


Obviusly no tyranid relic on cultists, right? The relic has to be from the same faction?
Yes. Again, the rules for how relics work are covered in the codex.
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

It is really cool you can get one free or use command points for more if you should feel so inclined.

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in no
Liche Priest Hierophant





Bergen

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Niiai wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:

You can purchase more with strategems/C. These do not have to be the same Faction as your warlord.
(But obviously you need a pure faction detachment to unlock the stratagems)


Obviusly no tyranid relic on cultists, right? The relic has to be from the same faction?
Yes. Again, the rules for how relics work are covered in the codex.


The codex in particlar is not out yet. ^_^

   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut




Then how is anyone meant to know what is allowed ?!

DFTT 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Even if the particular codex for your army isn't out, multiple codexes are and it's safe to say relics are going to work identically for all of them. Borrow a friends codex for a few minutes to reads the rules there.
   
Made in gb
Lethal Lhamean




Birmingham

 Niiai wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Niiai wrote:
Captyn_Bob wrote:

You can purchase more with strategems/C. These do not have to be the same Faction as your warlord.
(But obviously you need a pure faction detachment to unlock the stratagems)


Obviusly no tyranid relic on cultists, right? The relic has to be from the same faction?
Yes. Again, the rules for how relics work are covered in the codex.


The codex in particlar is not out yet. ^_^

Then why do you care, you havn't got any relics to use anyway?
   
Made in us
Insect-Infested Nurgle Chaos Lord





Oregon, USA

Because Tyranids and GSC can be used in the same army as different detachments. GSC codex isn't out yet.

It's a valid question whether you can use Nid relics on a GSC character.

My take would be to treat it like a CSM army with a Death Guard detachment, i guess. Similar situation. How would that play out?

The Viletide: Daemons of Nurgle/Deathguard: 7400 pts
Disclples of the Dragon - Ad Mech - about 2000 pts
GSC - about 2000 Pts
Rhulic Mercs - um...many...
Circle Oroboros - 300 Pts or so
Menoth - 300+ pts
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Ascalam wrote:
Because Tyranids and GSC can be used in the same army as different detachments. GSC codex isn't out yet.

It's a valid question whether you can use Nid relics on a GSC character.

My take would be to treat it like a CSM army with a Death Guard detachment, i guess. Similar situation. How would that play out?
Already covered in the DG FAQ to be permitted.

You can technically argue that it's special to the Death Guard, but 99.9999% of players will generalise it.

Q: If my army is led by a Chaos Space Marines Warlord, and
I have a Detachment of Death Guard, can I use the Gifts of
Decay Death Guard Stratagem to include a Relic on a Death
Guard Character?
A: Yes. The only requirement to have access to
Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the
appropriate Faction. If you have a Death Guard
Detachment, you have access to their Stratagems.


I'm not actually 100% sure how the initial free relic plays out.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/01 13:46:07


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: