Switch Theme:

squadrons of transports and number of drops  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Stalwart Space Marine




1) You can get three Valkyries in a squadron.

2) You fill the Valkyries with your dudes. Let's say 1-2 squads and 1-2 characters each.

3) All vehicles in a unit are set up at once.


This all just one drop, right? It seems.. pretty out there.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





Yes, it's one drop. You have to include the passengers when you drop the Valkyries.
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Yep, one drop.

Same way you can use the Tallarn infiltrating unit rule to bring "one" vehicle unit --- so a squadron of three Leman Russes is a single vehicle unit, etc.

Fluff-wise it actually works out well, particularly with Valkyries. An airborne army/detachment should have the jump on their opponents. Works for me.

Remember the upcoming change to 40K is that finishing deployment first grants you a single +1 bonus to a dice-off for first turn --- they're removing the "finishe deploying = go first" mechanic. So this isn't some super cheesy tactic now.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Correct. This counts as 1 deployment for the purposes of missions.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 BaconCatBug wrote:
Correct. This counts as 1 deployment for the purposes of missions.


But seriously. What does it count for tactical reserves???? A friend in the circle loads up [commisar + officer of fleet + 2x 4man plasma command squad] three times in valkyries, claims it as 15 deployed units and deepstrikes 15 stormtroopers.

Its so annoying because he always goes first and when we seize, there isnt much we can do to bring down all three valkyries in one turn.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






The valks are only 1 unit pre deployment. But otherwise, that would be correct.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/11/06 02:50:09


 
   
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge




 skchsan wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Correct. This counts as 1 deployment for the purposes of missions.


But seriously. What does it count for tactical reserves???? A friend in the circle loads up [commisar + officer of fleet + 2x 4man plasma command squad] three times in valkyries, claims it as 15 deployed units and deepstrikes 15 stormtroopers.

Its so annoying because he always goes first and when we seize, there isnt much we can do to bring down all three valkyries in one turn.


If he's deep striking 15 storm troopers that's 16 drops total. You count each unit in réserve as a drop too.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





How is he handling having at least 50% of his units on the board at the end of deployement? He's going to need at least one unit for every deep striking stormtrooper unit, which would be a lot of drops on the table. I would think that would make it harder for him to be going first.
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






This is more or less type of list he brings to the games

Mass Drop List

The single/minimal model count units are embarked on a valkyrie, and this is claimed as his 50%.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





He still has to count the ones being put into reserves as one drop per unit.

If he's buying the Valkyries as a squadron, then it counts as one unit dropping, not 3. Even if you count the units in the Valkyries as being on the board (and there's a debate about that, especially since we're dealing with flyers) that would be only 14 units dropped. He can't put 15 units into reserve if he's only deployed 14.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
This is more or less type of list he brings to the games

Mass Drop List

The single/minimal model count units are embarked on a valkyrie, and this is claimed as his 50%.
The single model units are still units. I could have 6 squads of 30 Termagants on the table, and 6 Hive Tyrants in reserves and it would be legal. Basically the example you gave us is legal in principle, but he's mistakenly counted the Valks as 3 drops instead of 1.

Something like this, where I have arranged it so I can put ALL my deep striking Scions into reserves by spamming single model vehicle units is perfectly legal. https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/742509.page

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/11/06 20:34:56


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Yes, I digressed a bit from the OP in my initial comment.

I wanted to reinsert the ongoing debate regarding the units embarked in a transport counting towards the number of units deployed.

The rules are quite clear on the effect of embarking units pregame on the number of drops.

In my particular case, 5~7 units (two 4-man command squad/5-man scions + single model units) are embarked on valkyries during deployment, resulting in 5~7+1 units "deployed" per valkyrie. Here, he claims, with his 3 valkyries loaded up, has deployed 15~17 units on the battlefield, thus allowing him to put 9~12 units in tactical reserves. So he effectly has 1 drop and and rest in his reserves. Which if you ask me, is a bit ridiculous, but I cant seem to prove his actions are not legal.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
This is more or less type of list he brings to the games

Mass Drop List

The single/minimal model count units are embarked on a valkyrie, and this is claimed as his 50%.
The single model units are still units. I could have 6 squads of 30 Termagants on the table, and 6 Hive Tyrants in reserves and it would be legal. Basically the example you gave us is legal in principle, but he's mistakenly counted the Valks as 3 drops instead of 1.

Something like this, where I have arranged it so I can put ALL my deep striking Scions into reserves by spamming single model vehicle units is perfectly legal. https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/742509.page

This kind of list I have no problem accepting it as legal. What bothers me is that units inside a transport at deployment counting towards the reserves limit.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/11/06 20:44:39


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Anacortes

Its half your total units can be in reserves.

SO at the start of your game he deploys the said squadron of valkyries with the other half its legal.

I think this is why gw is making it so its a plus one on the roll off for first turn. With no seize. Keeps it simple.

In a dog eat dog be a cat. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Lungpickle wrote:
Its half your total units can be in reserves.

SO at the start of your game he deploys the said squadron of valkyries with the other half its legal.

I think this is why gw is making it so its a plus one on the roll off for first turn. With no seize. Keeps it simple.
Except the new missions keep seize?
   
Made in us
Twisted Trueborn with Blaster





Lungpickle wrote:
Its half your total units can be in reserves.

SO at the start of your game he deploys the said squadron of valkyries with the other half its legal.

I think this is why gw is making it so its a plus one on the roll off for first turn. With no seize. Keeps it simple.


All they're changing is the +1 to the roll for first turn. Seize the initiative will still be a thing.



Also, only the new missions will use this rule, BRB missions will still just whoever finishes deploying first, and will still be legal.

"If you prefer the original method though, worry not! These new missions do not replace the matched play missions in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook, they supplement them, allowing you to choose the style of mission rules you enjoy playing the most."

"But If the Earth isn't flat, then how did Jabba chakka wookiee no Solo ho ho ho hoooooooo?" 
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

Drager wrote:
 skchsan wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Correct. This counts as 1 deployment for the purposes of missions.


But seriously. What does it count for tactical reserves???? A friend in the circle loads up [commisar + officer of fleet + 2x 4man plasma command squad] three times in valkyries, claims it as 15 deployed units and deepstrikes 15 stormtroopers.

Its so annoying because he always goes first and when we seize, there isnt much we can do to bring down all three valkyries in one turn.


If he's deep striking 15 storm troopers that's 16 drops total. You count each unit in réserve as a drop too.


As said, this is a legal strategy, with two problems:
1. It is 16 Drops, not one. 1st Drop: Place the Valkyrie squadron with all these units deployed. 2nd to 16th Drops: This Stromtrooper unit is in Reserve.
2. Since you go first, you are free to spread out and drastically reduce the area he can deep strike into.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/11/11 00:05:22


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: