Switch Theme:

Infiltrators rules clarification  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Hi All,

Could do with some help clarifying rules on deployment of Infiltratirs as had some challenge within my gaming group on this.

Q1, do infiltrators count as a deployment drop? Ie they don’t deploy during deployment and are not put in reservve, just placed on battlefield before the first battle round begins. Does this count toward the number of drops when determining who gets the +1 to go first?

Q2, when placing infiltrators on the board, are these places before or after you have determined which player is going first and and resolved the sieze roll.

Appreciate if you can point to the page number in the rule book that confirms the above. When looking at it, it seems unclear as only mentions the first battle round, it doesn’t seem to explicitly say before or after roll for first turn/sieze roll.

Appreciate help clarifying.
   
Made in nl
Longtime Dakkanaut




There are technically no such things as "infiltrators" in 8th edition. Er you talking about the "Strike from the Shadows" / "Forward operatives" stratagems?
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut





If the rule says "set up" then it counts as a drop.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




I’m referring to things like Rangers and Ratlings etc.

A third question in fact is also what order you place them when both you and your opponent have units that are placed in this manner.

Appreciate any clarifications you can give on those 3 questions

Thanks
   
Made in ie
Been Around the Block




You roll off when opponent can place too then alternate turns if multiple units and yes they count as being in reserves for counting pyrposes

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/12 13:41:12


 
   
Made in ca
Automated Rubric Marine of Tzeentch





Nova Scotia

There was another thread that I responded to with my thoughts on the matter regarding Eldar Rangers. The thread sorta got detailed shortly after as they ended up talking about the strategem Phantasm, but you can ignore that bit

https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/743814.page#9682927

EDIT: Just woke up and clearly forgot to read things. Anyway to answer your questions:

1. Yes they do as it happens outside of the deployment 'phase'
2. They are placed at the beginning of the first battle round so I think in order to determine proper turn order and allow the game to begin, they are placed after the seize roll
3. Roll off would be the go-to answer in that case, IMO

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/12 14:07:43


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




Thanks anticitzen013, appreciate the responses m. Makes sense.

Was just struggling to find the clear order of things in the rule book.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: