Switch Theme:

Special rules for the movement phase and out of sequence movement.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut





When using a ability that says "this unit may move as if it was its movement phase", does that move count as being in the previous movement phase? Even when said ability activates in the psychic or shooting phase?

For example, Hivefleet Kronos has the adaption that a unit may reroll to-hit rolls of 1, if it did not move in its preceding movement phase.
A Swarmlord allows an unit to move as if it was the movement phase in the shooting phase.
I use a hivefleet Kronos Tyrannofex, which has the ability to shoot twice if it did not move in the preceding movement phase and through the adaptions is able to reroll to-hit rolls of 1.
Now I do not move my Tyrannofex in the movement phase, but use the Swarmlords ability to move it in the shooting phase. Did it count as having moved in its preceding movement phase?

On first glance I would say no, as the ability activates in the shooting phase, but I would like to know if it really does work this way.
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

I agree with. You move in the shooting phase, you did not move in the movement phase.
   
Made in ie
Battleship Captain





No, it literally says that you move as it is the movement phase.

Meaning all the rules that apply during the movement phase apply during your pseudo-movement phase including counting as movement.

I think this was already resolved early in 8th when it came up with regards to heavy weapons and Sisters Acts Of Faith or something.


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






That's a good question with no real answer as the rules don't do a good enough job of defining these out of turn movements.

I would say that, from a strict rules as written literal interpretation, if you use an ability to move in the shooting phase, anything that mentions "the preceding movement phase" will not see that movement, but anything saying "if you didn't move" or something to that effect will.

Basically, if it calls out the phase explicitly, you can do movement shenanigans in non-movement phases with no drawbacks. If it mentions just moving, then out of phase shenanigans do count.

But also this is a moot point in regards to The Swarmlord because Hive Commander prevents shooting and the "instead of" FAQ ruling explicitly calls out that you can only do it so long as you don't shoot.
Rulebook FAQ wrote:Q: Can abilities that are used ‘instead of shooting’, such as
Smoke Launchers, be used if the model using them has Fallen
Back, Advanced or has enemy models within 1" of it?
A: Yes. A model can use such an ability so long as it does
not shoot
– it does not matter whether this is because the
model cannot shoot or it chooses not to.
Emphasis mine. This also means you cannot shoot with the Dakkafex first then use the Hive Commander to move it.

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2017/11/13 10:08:28


 
   
Made in nl
Regular Dakkanaut





You are right BaconCatBug, I had totally missed that line on the Swarmlords ability.

I also agree that shenanigans like this only work with abilities that say ''movement phase' not when it says moving.




Automatically Appended Next Post:
 Sim-Life wrote:
No, it literally says that you move as it is the movement phase.

Meaning all the rules that apply during the movement phase apply during your pseudo-movement phase including counting as movement.

I think this was already resolved early in 8th when it came up with regards to heavy weapons and Sisters Acts Of Faith or something.


That was, if I recall correctly, because heavy weapons suffer a -1 to-hit when moving. Where the argument was made that no matter the phase, if you move you suffer the -1 hit penalty. An argument where I agree with.
Right now I am talking about abilities that explicit say "movement phase".
An unit acting like its in the movement phase while actually being in the psychic or shooting phase is not moving in the movement phase or at least that is my take on it. It is however, still moving. Meaning it still suffers the penalties that moving around brings along.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/13 10:53:22


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: