| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/28 13:53:35
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
From what I understand the FAQ made it so when you use the command re-roll strategem that all armies have access to in the BRB, you must re-roll both dice on things like charge rolls, psychic tests, anything involving 2D6 or 3D6 etc.
People in my gaming group tend to think the way the wording on the strategem means you can choose to re-roll one of the dice on things like charge rolls, psychich tests, etc.
So whats the actual way to play this? I have been using it to re-roll both dice on charge rolls and anything other than 1D6.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/28 14:36:23
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
No, the FAQ says reroll all dice unless stated otherwise.
The Reroll stratagem states othewise. SIngle dice only.
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/28 14:42:11
Subject: Re:Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Yes, the stratagem says "a single dice".
But somehow, some people on this forum argued that "a single dice" could mean "a single dice roll" and therefore allow you to re-roll two dice. There's a whole thread on this topic.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/28 14:44:11
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
That's.. hardly surprising.
|
DFTT |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/28 15:10:41
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Hurr! Ogryn Bone 'Ead!
|
Ok thanks for clearing that up.
|
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 14:18:36
Subject: Re:Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
fresus wrote:Yes, the stratagem says "a single dice".
But somehow, some people on this forum argued that "a single dice" could mean "a single dice roll" and therefore allow you to re-roll two dice. There's a whole thread on this topic.
That isn't what they are arguing at all. They are arguing that "a single dice" means you cannot use it on a single die of a two dice roll, you can only use it on single dice rolls.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 15:02:43
Subject: Re:Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:fresus wrote:Yes, the stratagem says "a single dice".
But somehow, some people on this forum argued that "a single dice" could mean "a single dice roll" and therefore allow you to re-roll two dice. There's a whole thread on this topic.
That isn't what they are arguing at all. They are arguing that "a single dice" means you cannot use it on a single die of a two dice roll, you can only use it on single dice rolls.
That actually is what some people were arguing. Yes, some were arguing that you can't use it on a two dice roll, but some were arguing that you use if on both dice of a two dice roll, while a third group was arguing that you use it on one die of a two dice roll. It wasn't an argument that had only two sides.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/29 15:03:53
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 15:15:21
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Glasgow
|
And in that thread you will find I put forward that argument that it forced you to reroll both so most certainly the argument exists
Although I have since changed my view based on others rai arguments
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 18:56:09
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Only it's not a RAI argument...at all. Just saying.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 19:12:00
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
This is what happens when you allow English to get lazy and start referring to singular die as dice. We wouldn't have this problem if it said "re-roll a die" or "re-roll the dice".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 19:14:43
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Negative.
Die/Dice is interchangeable in the English language (more notably amongst Brits where this was produced). It states explicitly "single dice".
There's zero ambiguity here except for people wanting to create some.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 19:17:22
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Damsel of the Lady
|
Elbows wrote:Negative.
Die/Dice is interchangeable in the English language (more notably amongst Brits where this was produced). It states explicitly "single dice".
There's zero ambiguity here except for people wanting to create some.
Yeah they're interchangeable NOW but they weren't always. Even British historians translated Ceasar's 'alea iacta est' as "the DIE is cast" not "the dice is cast".
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 19:37:54
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
Audustum wrote: Elbows wrote:Negative.
Die/Dice is interchangeable in the English language (more notably amongst Brits where this was produced). It states explicitly "single dice".
There's zero ambiguity here except for people wanting to create some.
Yeah they're interchangeable NOW but they weren't always. Even British historians translated Ceasar's 'alea iacta est' as "the DIE is cast" not "the dice is cast".
And, if you look at the definition of dice on dictionary.com, you get
"dice
[dahys]
plural noun, singular die. "
So not even all the dictionary sources (this probably being in the top 3 dictionary sites on the web) have caught up to dice being used for a single die.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/29 19:39:06
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/29 19:54:58
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
Unfortunately GW have decided to go with the vernacular rather than the "correct" description of a single cubic object used to randomly determine a value. English isn't like French in that there is no official "correct" usage of a word, it's all determined by popular usage.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/11/29 19:55:38
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/11/30 07:11:42
Subject: Using the Re-Roll strategem properly in these situations...
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Do we need to repeat the thread? Just link it instead of waving your swords again, guys...
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|