Switch Theme:

Chaos Spawns and Units  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




This is probably wishful thinking, but I'd like to get a ruling.

When a Chaos Greater Daemon sucessfully casts Gift of Chaos, the newly transformed Chaos Spawn  - a follower - forms a unit with the Daemon.

If this newly-formed unit gets shot at, the rules say that the Daemon is big enough that it can be targeted on its own "even if it has joined a unit."

Would this apply to the Daemon-Spawn unit as well, meaning that the enemy can concentrate all of its firepower on the daemon and still make make both models go poof?

The easy answer is probably yes... however, the RAW state that this large target-type rule is in effect if the Daemon joins a unit, and in the case of Gift of Chaos, the Daemon never actually actively joined a unit.  I wouldn't actually make this argument to an opponent though... it's RAW, but pretty ridiculous.

I am, however, wondering if the fact that followers "are essentially wargear" might mitigate the large target rule.  There is precedence for followers acting differently than standard unit-mates (e.g., they don't suffer from nurgle's rot).  Can you really target the Daemon and ignore his "essentially wargear?"  Again, I am probably answering my own question and guessing yes, but it might be worth a discussion.

Same question then applies for treating the Daemon - which is an IC - as a separate unit from the Spawn in CC.  In this case, however, I would assume that if a Tau commander is attacked separately from his drones, so is a Daemon with a Spawn.

Thanks!


"I didn't say I was ATTACKING the Umber Hulk. I said I was THINKING about it." -- Jimbo Jones as one of "The 12 Types of Fantasy Gamers" in "Comic Book Guy's Book of Pop Culture" 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

you said it

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Anything with creatire charactersitics is a non-vehicle model and must be represented by a model on it's own base and must form a unit with something (unless there are rules for it acting as a unit of one on it's own).

What I'm trying to say is that if a GD creates a spawn and it forms a unit with him, they are a unit that follows all the normal rules for a unit in the rulebook except where specified otherwise (such as the immunity to Nurgle's Rot, for example).

You cannot simply assume this model doesn't count as a model where it is convienent to you.


As for being able to target the GD specifically (and not his spawn), it appears that is the case due to the GD's specific rule that allows just such a thing (although I would say it is easily debatable).

The GD definitely fights as a seperate unit from his spawn(s) in combat though.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

the funniest thing i saw was when me and my brother went to a tournament, he was playing his nurgle army against a guy with khorne, anyway the khorne guy had his blood thirster attacked by my brothers plague greater demon and he turned his blood thirster into a spawn, the look on the guys face was priceless.

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: