Switch Theme:

"As If"  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
Drager wrote:
As a secondary question for you; Without altering the RAW on Cawl, is there a wording they could use that would indicate, to you, that Cawl's rule should be used outside of the shooting phase for a particular special rule? Is there a wording that, to you, would indicate all such special rules that apply 'In the shooting phase' should apply?
There is no instance where Cawls rule can be used outside the shooting phase, other than a rule that literally says "The 'Lord of Mars' special rule now affects units at all times."

As I pointed out, Calgar's rule works in all phases. If they wanted Cawl to work in all phases, they would have made Cawls rule the same as Calgars. They didn't, thus the difference matters.


No Calgar's is phrased that way to affect Shooting Phase and the Fight Phase, that's something very different. It's a multipurpose benefit for H2H and guns alike. If we're operating "as if it's the Shooting Phase", then we use all applicable rules. Re-rolls for the Shooting Phase included.
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Silentz wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:


There is no such instance because the rule explicitly says it only works in the shooting phase. Unless a rule explicitly overrides this, there is nothing that can cause that rule to work outside of it.
I AGREE!

And when GW write a rule which explicitly overrides this, they use the wording "as if it was the shooting phase".
That's not an explicit override.


It is, else how do you conduct a Shooting attack outside of the Shooting Phase? There are no rules for it otherwise, so this is an override to the norm as Silentz says.
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Pretty decent explanation!
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

Korbee11 wrote:
My two cents.
If something says 'as if it was the shooting phase' it means that it follows all the rules that exist if it were the actual shooting phase.
Ie, it is the shooting phase for that unit. Comes with all the good and bad. Yes this includes strategems.
Yes it means that Cawl's ability works on units that are granted an 'As if it were the shooting phase' re-roll. The ability is always active (even when it isn't the shooting phase).

gakky argument to the 'As if it were the Shooting phase' doesn't work with 'In the Shooting Phase'
Read the first line of step 1 of the shooting phase (Choose Unit to Shoot With, pg 179)
'In your Shooting phase you can shoot with models armed with ranged weapons'

If you are saying that 'as if it was the shooting phase' does not make it 'The Shooting Phase'
Then your guys can't even shoot. As it is not Your Shooting Phase. So you cannot choose them.
Unless somewhere along the line the words 'skip step one of shooting'

Anywho, that is my deduction of it.


100% agreed. Picking and choosing what rules you follow and putting the term "RAW"'in your post to try and legitimise it... eh, no, doesn't work.
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: