Switch Theme:

Gearing marine Sgts question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




This seems really simple so bear with me. But most Sgts can pick from the Sgt equipment list, and it says you can 2 from the pistols and melee weapon list and 1 from the "gun" list. Does that mean I can gear a Sgt with say a Stormbolter, pistol of some type, AND a melee weapon? Or am I limited to just 2 options? Thanks.
   
Made in gb
Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





It doesn't help to say "most sergeants", we need an exact squad to be able to answer your question since it can vary between unit types.

If you can give us an exact unit you're looking at we can help you.

I think you're getting a little confused. When it says "Up to two weapons can be chosen from the following list" that doesn't mean you can swap a Bolt Pistol for 2 weapons, it means that at most a sergeant can have two of the items on the list, regardless of what they need to replace (or not replace) to get them.


For example, the Tactical Squad Sergeant can only have a maximum of 2 items from the top of the list and one from the bottom. That means he could:
  • replace his Bolt Pistol and Bolter for two Lightning Claws,
  • but he couldn't replace Bolt Pistol and Bolter for a Combi-Flamer and Storm Bolder, since he is limited to one from the bottom of the list
  • Or, he could swap Bolt Pistol and Bolter for a Combi-Flamer and a Chainsword.


  • So to summarise, you're limited to a maximum of two options since you've only got two weapons to swap, but you can end up with two from the top list, or 1 from the bottom and one from the top, and CANNOT have two from the bottom.

    This message was edited 9 times. Last update was at 2017/12/22 18:12:27


       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut




     BaconCatBug wrote:
    It doesn't help to say "most sergeants", we need an exact squad to be able to answer your question since it can vary between unit types.

    If you can give us an exact unit you're looking at we can help you.

    I think you're getting a little confused. When it says "Up to two weapons can be chosen from the following list" that doesn't mean you can swap a Bolt Pistol for 2 weapons, it means that at most a sergeant can have two of the items on the list, regardless of what they need to replace (or not replace) to get them.


    For example, the Tactical Squad Sergeant can only have a maximum of 2 items from the top of the list and one from the bottom. That means he could:
  • replace his Bolt Pistol and Bolter for two Lightning Claws,
  • but he couldn't replace Bolt Pistol and Bolter for a Combi-Flamer and Storm Bolder, since he is limited to one from the bottom of the list
  • Or, he could swap Bolt Pistol and Bolter for a Combi-Flamer and a Chainsword.


  • So to summarise, you're limited to a maximum of two options since you've only got two weapons to swap, but you can end up with two from the top list, or 1 from the bottom and one from the top, and CANNOT have two from the bottom.


    Yes, I was referring to say Tactical Sgts and those with similar wording, which as far as I know say some variation on one of two things:

    1) They can replace their bolt pistol OR chainsword for AN item from the Sgts equipment list
    2) They can replace bolt pistol AND chainsword for ITEMS from the Sgt list.

    I was referring to the option to replace both bolt pistol AND chainsword, and was unclear on the wording of selecting multiple items from the Sgt equipment list. Cheers, with apolotgies if I was unclear before.
       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut




     BaconCatBug wrote:
    So to summarise, you're limited to a maximum of two options since you've only got two weapons to swap, but you can end up with two from the top list, or 1 from the bottom and one from the top, and CANNOT have two from the bottom.


    Where does it say that you are limited to two options because you only have 2 options to swap? It merely says that the Sgt can swap his pistol and boltgun for items from the list. It is implied maybe, but except for what it says under the two categories of Sgt weapons there is no explicit limit of 2 in total stated.
       
    Made in gb
    Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





    Gwarok wrote:
     BaconCatBug wrote:
    So to summarise, you're limited to a maximum of two options since you've only got two weapons to swap, but you can end up with two from the top list, or 1 from the bottom and one from the top, and CANNOT have two from the bottom.


    Where does it say that you are limited to two options because you only have 2 options to swap? It merely says that the Sgt can swap his pistol and boltgun for items from the list. It is implied maybe, but except for what it says under the two categories of Sgt weapons there is no explicit limit of 2 in total stated.
    You can't "swap" nothing for something.

    Also from Stepping into a New Edition FAQ:
    Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once? For example, can a Space Marine Terminator replace his storm bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter, and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer?
    A: No.

    So you can't end up with a total of 3 weapons because you only have 2 to begin with to swap. If it said "take", then you could take 3, but it says "swap", so you can't.

    This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/12/23 22:30:03


       
    Made in nz
    Regular Dakkanaut




    so a sgt could technically get both a bolter and storm bolter?

    If it could well that is a lot of firepower since he can use both Rapid fire 1 and 2 at half range would be pretty sweet
       
    Made in us
    Lord Commander in a Plush Chair






    No idea what BCB is on about.

    You swap bp and bolter for access to the Sgt equipment list: that list allows for up to 2 pistol&melee weapon options and up to 1 rifle option.

    There is no 1-for-1 swap involved. You swap both guns for access. When you have access an option on each sub-list are the bolt pistol and boltgun.

    So, for example, you could trade in your pistol and boltgun for a bolt pistol, boltgun, and chainsword.

    Or you could take a pair of lightning claws and a combi-grav.

    What you cannot take is a pair of claws and a plasma pistol.

    This is my Rulebook. There are many Like it, but this one is mine. Without me, my rulebook is useless. Without my rulebook, I am useless.
    Stop looking for buzz words and start reading the whole sentences.



     
       
    Made in gb
    Ragin' Ork Dreadnought





     Kommissar Kel wrote:
    There is no 1-for-1 swap involved. You swap both guns for access. When you have access an option on each sub-list are the bolt pistol and boltgun.
    I categorically disagree. However the term "replace" is vague enough that it could be interpreted that way. Looks like one for the FAQ list (whenever they get around to doing it).

    This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/12/23 22:57:05


       
    Made in gb
    Junior Officer with Laspistol






     Kommissar Kel wrote:
    No idea what BCB is on about.

    You swap bp and bolter for access to the Sgt equipment list: that list allows for up to 2 pistol&melee weapon options and up to 1 rifle option.

    There is no 1-for-1 swap involved. You swap both guns for access. When you have access an option on each sub-list are the bolt pistol and boltgun.

    So, for example, you could trade in your pistol and boltgun for a bolt pistol, boltgun, and chainsword.

    Or you could take a pair of lightning claws and a combi-grav.

    What you cannot take is a pair of claws and a plasma pistol.


    I disagree, though largely through decades of precedent and a different parsing of the rules in question. The intent is to allow two weapons, but they seem to have left a linguistic gap if someone wanted to try and claim that. It really is intended to be two weapons total, though. One list allows up to two weapons and one only one, to a maximum of two chosen across both lists. S'how it's always been for Sergeants.

    This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/23 23:31:06


    I scratch-built a Macharius Vulcan, Thunderbolt and Spartan! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

    My all-plastic Praetorian build log: http://bit.ly/1K7gn7J

    People who say "special snowflake" a lot tend to be unpleasant people.

     
       
    Made in us
    Perfect Shot Dark Angels Predator Pilot





    But RAW, there are no limitations on how many items from the sgt equipment list can be taken as long as you don't take anything twice.

    Where does in the rulebook does it say you can only take two weapons?
       
    Made in de
    Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





     skchsan wrote:
    But RAW, there are no limitations on how many items from the sgt equipment list can be taken as long as you don't take anything twice.

    Where does in the rulebook does it say you can only take two weapons?


    P.131 Codex: Space Marines wrote:If models in a unit have the option to exchange one or more of their weapons for an item from one of the Space Marines wargear lists, the options they can choose from are detailed in the appropriate lists below.


    So you exchange always one or more items for one pick on the table.

    If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
    If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
    If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
    If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! 
       
    Made in ca
    Been Around the Block





     Zeshi wrote:
     skchsan wrote:
    But RAW, there are no limitations on how many items from the sgt equipment list can be taken as long as you don't take anything twice.

    Where does in the rulebook does it say you can only take two weapons?


    P.131 Codex: Space Marines wrote:If models in a unit have the option to exchange one or more of their weapons for an item from one of the Space Marines wargear lists, the options they can choose from are detailed in the appropriate lists below.


    So you exchange always one or more items for one pick on the table.


    I do agree with this, though it won't stop someone from arguing that because the sub-headers for each of the Sergeant Equipment lists makes reference to a number allowed, that it means they can swap 1-for-2 from the top table, and 1-for-1 on the bottom table. I don't believe that's the intent, but I can see how it'd be argued.

    (Edit: Accidentally quoted myself)

    This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/26 22:12:24


     
       
    Made in de
    Guard Heavy Weapon Crewman





    I can see why someone could argue with that but RAW is clear imo.

    If Khorne needs blood, will drown him in his own blood!
    If Slaanesh wants pleasure, then we´ll give him DEATH, the greatest pleasure known to man!
    If Tzeentch asks for forbidden knowledge, then we will enlighten him with fear of The God Machine!
    If Nurgle wants us to embrace rebirth, then to hell with that, the Guard embrace Death, we live to DIE! 
       
    Made in us
    Regular Dakkanaut




     BaconCatBug wrote:
    So to summarise, you're limited to a maximum of two options since you've only got two weapons to swap, but you can end up with two from the top list, or 1 from the bottom and one from the top, and CANNOT have two from the bottom.


    The part I put in italics is the part I have an issue with. It doesn't say that you are limited to swapping 2 items for 2 items. When you swap out either a bolt pistol OR a chainsword for instance, it states explicitly that you can take one item from the Sgt list in exchange, a 1 for 1 swap. It does not state such a limit when swapping both a bolt pistol and a chainsword, it simply says you can take items, plural. Why would they be explicit about the 1 for 1 swap in one instance, and not in the other? The only place I can find that states a limit explicitly in the case of being able to take items is on the Sgt list itself saying you can take 2 from the pistols and melee weapons and one from the other list. If there is a place that states explicitly you are limited to only 2 items because you give up two items I can't find it, and since the single item swap does state such a limit, the lack of such a statement on swapping both out would indicate you can take 3 items in total as long as you follow the rules stated on the Sgt Equipment list.
       
    Made in gb
    Fresh-Faced New User




    For the devastator sergeant, it says that he may swap his boltgun for "items" (plural) from the sergeant equipment list. Note that he is only swapping his boltgun, and need not also swap his bolt pistol. This may be a mistake, but RAW clearly means that a 1 for 2 swap is allowed in this case, or even 1 for 3. That in turn suggests that a 2 for 3 swap is also permitted for e.g. a tactical sergeant.

    I know that only 2 weapons have been allowed historically, but it may be intentional to now allow 3 for consistency with the Intercessor sergeant, who can have 3.

    This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at 2017/12/30 18:47:40


     
       
     
    Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
    Go to: