Switch Theme:

Can successor Chapters join Detachment without screwing up Chapter Tactics?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
Author Message

Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.

Made in us
Death-Dealing Devastator

So a friend into Blood Angels and I(formerly Imperial Fists fanboi) were going to a thing with some friends, they are allowing 3000pt armies if you can bring them, semi-friendly but there will be enough of us for a small tournament. Frenemy I guess. I wanted to include Imperial Fists, Black Templar, Crimson Fists in an army. I was wondering if they Chapter Tactics are identical can you include successor chapters in the mix without screwing things up? I really wanted to have Lysander, Pedro and Helbrecht marching under the same banner. Obviously the Black Templar trait would only apply to them, and any Character aura's would only apply to their own Chapter units, but the idea of the sons of Dorn getting the band back together for a big fight seems awesome to me. Since our thing will be amongst friends and near friends I can probably talk them into it, but can that work with regular tournament rules?

"The Ultramarines are here to save us!"

"Those are the Sons of Orar."

"O R they!" 
Made in us
Legendary Master of the Chapter

Well one check your book for crimson fists. I dont recall but i think they are imperial fists.

Black templars are definitely a no go for mix and match as they are specifically bt.

but at the same time unless there are limitations to then umber of detachments you can take just take them all in a different detachment.

you may lose out on a bit of CP by taking many smaller ones but you could totally do a whatever the 3cp one is called with bt and a bunch of crusaders, and two vanguards with crimson fists sternguard droping in with pedro, and lysander teleporting in with terminators.

or whatever flavor of that you want.

just check the book for what detachment you want to run.

also just ask your group if its ok or not. that would be the easiest way to make sure what you are doing is kosher within your own game.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/26 23:11:22

 Unit1126PLL wrote:
 Scott-S6 wrote:
And yet another thread is hijacked for Unit to ask for the same advice, receive the same answers and make the same excuses.

Oh my god I'm becoming martel.
Send help!

Made in gb
Waaagh! Ork Warboss

"In this section you’ll find rules for Battle-forged armies that include BLOOD ANGELS Detachments – that is, any Detachment which only includes BLOOD ANGELS units."
"If your army is Battle-forged, Troops units in BLOOD ANGELS Detachments and Blood Angels successor Chapter Detachments (that is, any Detachment which only includes units from that successor Chapter)"

To get the trait it has to be pure. Only models with the correct <CHAPTER>. It's the same for Vanilla marines and all the other codexes as well, an "X" detachment is one that has all models with the "X" keyword, where that keyword is a <CHAPTER>, <LEGION>, <HIVE FLEET> etc.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/26 23:41:02

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. Zoom in to read them. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect; and vehicles that are "slain" by a special effect do not trigger the "Explodes" ability.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. 
Made in us
Contagious Dreadnought of Nurgle

Keywords are still different, so No. But amongst friends? Forge that Narrative.
Made in gb
Sinewy Scourge

Armies don't have to be pure for chapter tactics, only detachments do, so mixed is fine in seperate detachments.
Made in gb
Resolute Ultramarine Honor Guard


Imperial Fists, Crimson Fist and Black Templars all have different <Faction> rules. Even the Crimson Fists, who share the same Chapter Tactics as the Imperial Fists, have a separate Faction in order to have Kantor.

Can you take an army with all three? It depends.

If you take a Detachment for each, then yes. If you took a Detachment featuring each one (ie a Black Templars Patrol, a Crimson Fists Patrol and an Imperial Fists Patrol) then each group would get their own Chapter Tactics.

If you took Crimson Fists, Imperial Fists and Black Templars all in ONE single Detachment, no-one in the detachment would get their Chapter Tactic.
For example, if I took the above three Patrol Detachments (assuming each was just an HQ and Troop) and put them all in one Battalion to get more CP, then none of them would get their Chapter Tactics.

Of course, this only applies to Matched games.

Read the history of the Charadon Crusade: The Crusade of Fury was at an end.
Join the Crion Crusade: I think it's the combination of butt jokes, democratic necrons, explosions, and mind-fething that draws people to this Crusade like moths to a bug zapper - War Kitten
Rippy wrote:Never forgetti, template spaghetti.
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: