| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 08:23:42
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
The libby dread, which is a vehicle, can cast wings of sanguinius which increases its move to 12" and gives it the FLY keyword, until the next psychic phase. Now it can end its movement on the first floor of ruins, or second, or third. What happens after the next psychic phase when the FLY keyword is gone and its still on the first floor of a ruin ? Its now illegal for it to be there.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 09:10:39
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Lord of the Fleet
|
Ruins saya: Unless they can Fly vehicles can only be setup or end their move in the ground floor of ruins.
So, as long as you move to the ground floor in your next movement phase no rule is broken. The question is - what happens if you are unable to move far enough to do so?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 09:37:50
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Scott-S6 wrote:Ruins saya: Unless they can Fly vehicles can only be setup or end their move in the ground floor of ruins.
So, as long as you move to the ground floor in your next movement phase no rule is broken. The question is - what happens if you are unable to move far enough to do so?
If i cast wings of sanguinius in the next psychic phase again, i'm fine. I can stay there. But what if the roll fails ? What if i forget to move to the ground floor ?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 09:57:03
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
Answer to that lies does model count as having "end of their move" if they haven't moved. If not they can simply stay put. Like in AOS where if you can't move legally(say can't move back to coherency) you are dead locked into your position until you can move legally.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 11:45:09
Subject: Re:BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
That is actually an interesting question.
I would say this requires an FAQ or a ruling from GW, cause it looks like it coudn't be resolved using the current ruleset because it probably wasn't thought about
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 15:36:43
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Been Around the Block
|
I don't think it needs an FAQ.
In the designer commentary it talks about coherency and if a unit out of coherency cannot restablish coherency with some kind of move (moving or charging was their example) then they simply cannot move.
I see that as sufficient enough information that if a rule requires to you end your move in a specific position (such as on the ground floor, or in coherency), and you cannot do that, then you cannot move.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 16:45:23
Subject: Re:BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Nihilistic Necron Lord
|
Coherency has nothing to do with it. Its only one model. I think not being able to move is probably the best solution right now, i will email GW about it, maybe it will get FAQed.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 21:04:13
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Regular Dakkanaut
|
Coherency is an analogous rule. A unit cannot end its move out of coherency. If it cannot move in such a way that it ends in coherency, then it cannot move.
If we apply that to this question we get:
A vehicle without FLY cannot end its move on a non-ground floor of a ruin. If it cannot move in such a way that it ends off all non-ground floors of ruins, then it cannot move.
The coherency and ruins rules are worded similarly enough that they should have similar effects in similar situations. Unless they FAQ it differently, I'd say the Librarian Dread that wound up on the 2nd floor without FLY could only move to the bottom or stay still.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/27 22:16:25
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Locked in the Tower of Amareo
|
I would argue model that stays still don't move and thus rule saying "end their movement" doesn't apply. If model would go through movement rules even if it doesn't move that would mean suffering -1 to hit for heavy weapons even if it stands still. Actually heavy weapons would automatically have that.
If you don't move you don't go through rules of movement thus ignoring that part thus you aren't ending your movement in 2nd floor. You didn't start to move so you don't end the movement either.
|
2024 painted/bought: 109/109 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2017/12/28 15:53:54
Subject: BA librarian dreadnought, wings of sanguinius, and ruins
|
 |
Dakka Veteran
|
Yeah it says "movement" not "movement phase" so it can fly up there with the power and then just sit there. If it moves however it has to end it's move on the ground floor.
So it cannot assault anything anywhere but the ground floor, and if it loses "fly" it cannot move unless it has enough movement to reach the ground floor.
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|