Switch Theme:

Vortimer pattern vehicles and psychic onslaught stratagem  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ve
Fresh-Faced New User




As you know, FW has released a razorback and LR Redeemer with a TWIN psycannon for GK instead of the regular twin assault cannon. Also, GK codex has a stratagem that increase the killing potential of his mind bullet weapons, psychic onslaught. My problem is, the stratagem triggers with any gatling psilencers, heavy psycannons, psilencers and psycannons, but no TWIN psycannons. RAW, it means for me i cant use it with these vehicles, and honestly they seem useless without it, the psycannon alone its worse than an assault cannon. Anybody knows if RAI it allows the use of the stratagem on the twin psycannon?
   
Made in us
Oozing Plague Marine Terminator




In My Lab

Keywords for weapons would be nice.

RAW, no, this does not work, since it specifically calls out the listed weapons, with Twin Psycannon not being one of them.

HIWPI is that yes, that'd be fine to use. Talk to your TO and/or opponents about it.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





"The Strength and Armour Penetration characteristics of any gatling psilencers, heavy psycannons, psilencers and psycannons that unit fires are improved by 1 this phase."

"Twin psycannon" is not on the list, so the stratagem doesn't work, end of story. "RaI" is meaningless and not worth discussing in any situation.

You are, of course, free to house-rule it however you want, but then it stops being a rules question and is just a slippery slope to nonsense.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/28 18:19:06


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

RAI is the only way some of the rules work and *not* meaningless to discuss in many situations, sigh.

I agree with JNAProductions' take.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in fi
Fixture of Dakka





 BaconCatBug wrote:

"Twin psycannon" is not on the list, so the stratagem doesn't work, end of story. "RaI" is meaningless and not worth discussing in any situation.


Seeing game doesn't work without considering RAI yes it's worth. Especially if oyu want to house rule game to something that a) actually works b) something that makes even mediocre sense.

“Nothing has a definite nature, so people cannot be purely evil. Even so-called evil people will aspire to follow a moral path when they feel a sense of community.” – Kukai

~12200 pts
5150 pts
~3200 pts Knights
 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 Eihnlazer wrote:
Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........
The rules don't say it it. The same way that a "Hurricane Bolter" isn't treated as 6 Bolters by the rules.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in es
Furious Fire Dragon





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........
The rules don't say it it. The same way that a "Hurricane Bolter" isn't treated as 6 Bolters by the rules.


As Bacon properly points wording it's important specially on this edition.

Quick example Blazing star of Vaul FAQ states wich weapons get the advantage , shuriken pistol or Twin shuriken catapult.

The original rule just mention shuriken pistol or shuriken catapult.

So i'm pretty sure the wording of the rules (leaving Twin Psycannon out ) not consider it as a choice for the stratagem
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




GW doesn't, as a rule, consider FW things for inclusion in their (GW's) rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: