Switch Theme:

Vortimer pattern vehicles and psychic onslaught stratagem  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ve
Fresh-Faced New User




As you know, FW has released a razorback and LR Redeemer with a TWIN psycannon for GK instead of the regular twin assault cannon. Also, GK codex has a stratagem that increase the killing potential of his mind bullet weapons, psychic onslaught. My problem is, the stratagem triggers with any gatling psilencers, heavy psycannons, psilencers and psycannons, but no TWIN psycannons. RAW, it means for me i cant use it with these vehicles, and honestly they seem useless without it, the psycannon alone its worse than an assault cannon. Anybody knows if RAI it allows the use of the stratagem on the twin psycannon?
   
Made in us
Contagious Dreadnought of Nurgle




In My Lab

Keywords for weapons would be nice.

RAW, no, this does not work, since it specifically calls out the listed weapons, with Twin Psycannon not being one of them.

HIWPI is that yes, that'd be fine to use. Talk to your TO and/or opponents about it.

Clocks for the clockmaker! Cogs for the cog throne! 
   
Made in gb
Stormin' Stompa





"The Strength and Armour Penetration characteristics of any gatling psilencers, heavy psycannons, psilencers and psycannons that unit fires are improved by 1 this phase."

"Twin psycannon" is not on the list, so the stratagem doesn't work, end of story. "RaI" is meaningless and not worth discussing in any situation.

You are, of course, free to house-rule it however you want, but then it stops being a rules question and is just a slippery slope to nonsense.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/28 18:19:06


   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol






RAI is the only way some of the rules work and *not* meaningless to discuss in many situations, sigh.

I agree with JNAProductions' take.

I scratch-built a Macharius Vulcan, Thunderbolt and Spartan! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

My all-plastic Praetorian build log: http://bit.ly/1K7gn7J

People who say "special snowflake" a lot tend to be unpleasant people.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in fi
Fixture of Dakka





 BaconCatBug wrote:

"Twin psycannon" is not on the list, so the stratagem doesn't work, end of story. "RaI" is meaningless and not worth discussing in any situation.


Seeing game doesn't work without considering RAI yes it's worth. Especially if oyu want to house rule game to something that a) actually works b) something that makes even mediocre sense.

“Nothing has a definite nature, so people cannot be purely evil. Even so-called evil people will aspire to follow a moral path when they feel a sense of community.” – Kukai

6700 pts
5150 pts  
   
Made in gb
Stormin' Stompa





 Eihnlazer wrote:
Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........
The rules don't say it it. The same way that a "Hurricane Bolter" isn't treated as 6 Bolters by the rules.

   
Made in es
Furious Fire Dragon





 BaconCatBug wrote:
 Eihnlazer wrote:
Pretty sure a Twin Psycannon is just 2 Psycannons........
The rules don't say it it. The same way that a "Hurricane Bolter" isn't treated as 6 Bolters by the rules.


As Bacon properly points wording it's important specially on this edition.

Quick example Blazing star of Vaul FAQ states wich weapons get the advantage , shuriken pistol or Twin shuriken catapult.

The original rule just mention shuriken pistol or shuriken catapult.

So i'm pretty sure the wording of the rules (leaving Twin Psycannon out ) not consider it as a choice for the stratagem
   
Made in us
Devestating Grey Knight Dreadknight




GW doesn't, as a rule, consider FW things for inclusion in their (GW's) rules.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: