Switch Theme:

Ultramarines Scouts interaction with Land Speeder Storm  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gr
Fresh-Faced New User




Hello as the title implies I have a question about how this rule is interpreted.
Land Speeder Storm's rule (Open topped) states that if the speeder falls back then it's passengers cannot shoot.(The speeder can though).
Now since the scouts have the ultramarines chapter tactics does that mean that they get to shoot even if the speeder fell back?
   
Made in us
Horrific Hive Tyrant






Alexisfairos wrote:
Hello as the title implies I have a question about how this rule is interpreted.
Land Speeder Storm's rule (Open topped) states that if the speeder falls back then it's passengers cannot shoot.(The speeder can though).
Now since the scouts have the ultramarines chapter tactics does that mean that they get to shoot even if the speeder fell back?


I would say no. The Scout unit is not the one falling back so the Scouts special rules are not coming into play including their chapter tactics. It's the Land Speeder unit that is falling back. The Land Speeder would need to have a special rule allowing it's occupants to shoot in order for that to function RAW.

RAI is anyones guess.

   
Made in gb
Ancient Venerable Dark Angels Dreadnought





Cardiff

Agree with 'no'.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






RAW no they cannot. RAI they should be able too since they are ultramarines.

The rule is in place to signify that while the speeder has the Fly keyword, the embarked unit doesn't so normally wouldn't be able to shoot.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in de
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Germany

Keep in mind that the land speeder gets -1 to hit. Thats the ultramarines chapter tactic. They are so powerful that they need a chapter tactic which punishes their flyers.
   
Made in us
Repentia Mistress




Tacoma, WA, USA

Space Marine vehicles do not have Chapter Tactics, so the Land Speeder does not suffer the -1 To Hit when falling back.
   
Made in us
Ultramarine Librarian with Freaky Familiar






Just to make things clear - you can disembark your scouts from the storm before it falls back - then they could shoot as normal and even assault if you wanted. If they stay in the storm - they wont be able to shoot :(.

If we fail to anticipate the unforeseen or expect the unexpected in a universe of infinite possibilities, we may find ourselves at the mercy of anyone or anything that cannot be programmed, categorized or easily referenced.
- Fox Mulder 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





p5freak wrote:
Keep in mind that the land speeder gets -1 to hit. Thats the ultramarines chapter tactic. They are so powerful that they need a chapter tactic which punishes their flyers.


False - Chapter Tactics doesn't apply to the Land Speeder.
   
Made in de
Blood-Drenched Death Company Marine





Germany

 Farseer_V2 wrote:
p5freak wrote:
Keep in mind that the land speeder gets -1 to hit. Thats the ultramarines chapter tactic. They are so powerful that they need a chapter tactic which punishes their flyers.


False - Chapter Tactics doesn't apply to the Land Speeder.


True, its a vehicle
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Buffalo, NY

 Eihnlazer wrote:
RAW no they cannot. RAI they should be able too since they are ultramarines.

The rule is in place to signify that while the speeder has the Fly keyword, the embarked unit doesn't so normally wouldn't be able to shoot.


The Harlequin transport has the same restriction. All Harlequins can shoot after falling back. As such, I'm going to have to disagree with your RAI.

Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

Fly keyword FTW.

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: