Switch Theme:

Can a Weirdboy double perils?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Been Around the Block





So today my buddies Weirdboy rolled double 6's with plus 6 for the surrounding ork models. The Weirdboy's special rule says if the total casting result is more the 12, he counts as getting a perils. Because he rolled a literal perils, and the result is more then 12, does the Weirdboy perils twice?


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Draty fat thumbs, and someone move this to YMDC please?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/28 23:07:46


 
   
Made in gb
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk





No I don't think so.

The Weirdboy rule states; "...f the total result of the test is 12+, this model immediately suffers Perils of the Warp exactly as if you had rolled a double 1 or a double 6."

If you suffer Perils for rolling 12+, you don't suffer it again for rolling a double as this replaces that outcome.

   
Made in us
Walking Dead Wraithlord






Yep, absolutely not.

The Weirdboy basically perils on a roll of (1)(1), a roll of (6)(6), and any result of 12+.

 
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block





 An Actual Englishman wrote:
No I don't think so.

The Weirdboy rule states; "...f the total result of the test is 12+, this model immediately suffers Perils of the Warp exactly as if you had rolled a double 1 or a double 6."


I dont think the wording means you ignore the roll, (it would have to say something like "instead")

I think the weirdboy's abilty causes a perils, but i dont see how it would interact with the naturally rolled perils. Two triggers, twos perils

..also, is there anything about peril-ing that says you cant peril again?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/29 02:27:37


 
   
Made in de
Raging-on-the-Inside Blood Angel Sergeant





Germany

I was wrong.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/01 20:35:26


 
   
Made in nl
Been Around the Block




But doesn't that also mean he suffers double perils if he just rolls double 6? It's double 6 and 12+ at the same time?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





No.

The wording of weirdboy perils is a modification not additional rule. It states exactly as if they roll down a double 6. Making it a modification of the base rule.
   
Made in gb
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk





Malachon wrote:
But doesn't that also mean he suffers double perils if he just rolls double 6? It's double 6 and 12+ at the same time?


Correct, which is exactly why he doesn't perils twice, because it would make no sense given the context of the ability.
   
Made in ca
Been Around the Block





Is there a precedent for when to replace rules? Forgive me if its odvious but nothing in the weirdboy's rules tells me to ignore the normal rules for perils

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/07 21:53:54


 
   
Made in gb
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk





Well, there's the wording of the rule itself; "exactly as if you had rolled a double 1 or a double 6." If you rolled a 12, you rolled a double 6. If the intention was to double perils, the rule wouldn't read "as if you had rolled a double 6", it would simply state; "if you roll a 12+, you perils in addition to any perils from rolling a double 1 or 6.

On every game I've seen if a Weirdboy rolls a double 6 they perils once, not twice. If you're still unsure perhaps you should email GW to FAQ it?
   
Made in fi
Fixture of Dakka





Well GW isn't exactly known for coherent or consistant writing so yeah asking them to clarify on FAQ might not be that bad idea just in case.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/08 07:40:32


”Buddhism doesn't tell you what is false and what is true but it encourages you to find out for yourself.” ~ Chogyam Trungpa ~ 
   
Made in gb
Ork Boy Hangin' off a Trukk





RAI is incredibly clear but crack on.
   
Made in gb
Junior Officer with Laspistol






 An Actual Englishman wrote:
RAI is incredibly clear but crack on.


Agreed. The Weirdboy rule modifies the Perils Of The Warp rule, it doesn't make it trigger twice for one cast attempt. It would say so if it did.

I scratch-built a Macharius Vulcan, Thunderbolt and Spartan! Have a peek at the build and my painting progress here: https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/90/513429.page

My all-plastic Praetorian build log: http://bit.ly/1K7gn7J

People who say "special snowflake" a lot tend to be unpleasant people.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: