Switch Theme:

Drop Pod and other reserved transports and drop number  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




By my understanding, a transport and the units in it essentially just count as one "thing" during deployment, for purposes of alternate unit placement, determining who goes first, drop count, etc. My question is this: does that scenario differ when units are embarked on a transport that is in reserve? the particular instance I'm curious about is multiple Dark Angels Company Champions embarked on a Drop Pod. Say I have 10 Champions and a Drop Pod. To have all the Champions embarked on the pod and drop them in wherever, do I need to have at least 11 units deployed - 1 for each Champion and one for the pod - or just one? Help!
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





MilkmanAl wrote:
By my understanding, a transport and the units in it essentially just count as one "thing" during deployment, for purposes of alternate unit placement, determining who goes first, drop count, etc. My question is this: does that scenario differ when units are embarked on a transport that is in reserve? the particular instance I'm curious about is multiple Dark Angels Company Champions embarked on a Drop Pod. Say I have 10 Champions and a Drop Pod. To have all the Champions embarked on the pod and drop them in wherever, do I need to have at least 11 units deployed - 1 for each Champion and one for the pod - or just one? Help!
They only count as one deployment but still count as multiples for the purposes of tactical reserves. 10 Champions and a Drop Pod would be 11 units for the purposes of Tactical Reserves, and you will need at least 11 other units on the battlefield for the deployment to be legal.

"The number of units" and "number of deployments you make" are in no way hard linked, it all depends on how you decide to put units into transports or not.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2017/12/31 00:07:06


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut




"The number of units" and "number of deployments you make" are in no way hard linked, it all depends on how you decide to put units into transports or not.
Excellent. that's what i needed to know. Thanks!
   
Made in us
Horrific Hive Tyrant






You have 2 entirely different counts.

1 is your number of deployments (which depending on the mission can impact who goes first)

2 is the number of units in reserve (at least half of your units must be deployed on the table in matched)

If you put 10 single model infantry units into a drop pod and deploy that drop pod into reserves that is a single drop with 11 units in reserve. You would need another 11 units deployed on the table for it to be legal. But if thats 10 single model infantry in a rhino you would have only 2 drops and in all likely hood are finishing deployment first.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: