Switch Theme:

Consolidating in 8th Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Apologies guys, I am sure this has been asked a million times but my friend and me got into a heated debate in our last game and I wanted to make it clear. Alright I will give the exact scenario we found ourselves in for a example so there is no confusion about the rule not applying.

I have a leviathan Dreadnought and a attack bike sitting side by side. To tie my Dread up my opponent charges a 2 man warlock unit into the attack bike. They hurt my bike but fail to kill it. The unit then “consolidated” into my dread. Does my dread get to attack?

My opponent argues that the consolidation occurred after the fight phase so my dread is SOL. And because he was engaged he didn’t get to shoot or move the following turn. We have played it this way for all our games and it is infuriating that my stuff just stands there dumbfounded until the following fight phase.

My argument is that I can now nominate my dread as a unit to attack as it is a unit engaged by a enemy unit and each fight phase is individual and not a entire phase that it missed out.

Thanks for your guys input. Again I appologize profusely if this has been asked a million times but this keeps coming up and I think it’s clear the units get to attack but my opponent insists the opposite.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/31 13:02:10


 
   
Made in gb
Executing Exarch






Consolidations are done immediately after the unit has fought, not at the end of the phase, so your Leviathan would have been a valid unit to choose to attack with, since it is within 1" of an enemy, and has not already fought this turn.

The 1" is not checked at the start of the Fight Phase, but instead when the unit is chosen to fight.

Also note that if the dreadnought fails to kill the Warlocks (invulnerable saves etc.), it can still Fall Back in the movement phase, it is not "locked in combat" like previous editions.
   
Made in au
Preparing the Invasion of Terra






Brisbane, Australia

He's wrong about Consolidation happening after the Fight phase. Consolidation is the last step an activated unit performs before moving on to the next unit.

This means you'd be able to choose to activate your Dreadnought to fight afterwards, as they'd now be within 1" of it.

The only exception to this might (I'm not entirely sure) be if previously you had run out of eligible units to fight with, as the rules say the opponent then actives all their units one after the other until they're done, ending the phase. My interpretation of that might be wrong though, and I'm not entirely convinced myself that's how that interaction works out.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/31 13:19:09


Multiple thin coats are always better than one thick coat.
 
   
Made in ca
Fresh-Faced New User




Thank you for the clarification, it is exactly what I thought. I am aware that the leviathan could fall back but it would be unable to act the following shooting and assault phase which is a heafty cost for a leviathan, might as well stick around and squish some warlocks. Again, thank you.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: