Switch Theme:

Dark Angels Company Veterans Equipement question.  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in es
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets




Vigo. Spain.

A Dark Angel CV can change their bolt pistol for a storm shield, a item from the mele weapons list or a item from the pistols list.
He can change too his chainsword for a storm shield, a item from the mele list, combi list, special, or pistol.
Does this mean a company veteran can go with two storm shields and without any weapons ? Or more important, two pistols, plasma for example, like mini cyphers, shooting both of them? Or a poxer axe and a chainsword, pseudo khorne style.

 Crimson Devil wrote:

Dakka does have White Knights and is also rather infamous for it's Black Knights. A new edition brings out the passionate and not all of them are good at expressing themselves in written form. There have been plenty of hysterical responses from both sides so far. So we descend into pointless bickering with neither side listening to each other. So posting here becomes more masturbation than conversation.

ERJAK wrote:
Forcing a 40k player to keep playing 7th is basically a hate crime.

 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 Galas wrote:
A Dark Angel CV can change their bolt pistol for a storm shield, a item from the mele weapons list or a item from the pistols list.
He can change too his chainsword for a storm shield, a item from the mele list, combi list, special, or pistol.
Does this mean a company veteran can go with two storm shields and without any weapons ? Or more important, two pistols, plasma for example, like mini cyphers, shooting both of them? Or a poxer axe and a chainsword, pseudo khorne style.
Correct. Keep in mind some doubled up options, like the Storm Shields, won't do anything other than wasting points. Doubled up Pistols will be effective in that both can fire, while doubled up chainswords will give the bonus attack twice.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2017/12/31 19:20:22


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in es
Dark Angels Librarian with Book of Secrets




Vigo. Spain.

Yeah, I assumed having two Stormshields was basically a waste of points but it was a curiosity of mine. Thanks, I'm building a bunch of new company veterans and I wasn't sure about those more strange weapon combinations.

 Crimson Devil wrote:

Dakka does have White Knights and is also rather infamous for it's Black Knights. A new edition brings out the passionate and not all of them are good at expressing themselves in written form. There have been plenty of hysterical responses from both sides so far. So we descend into pointless bickering with neither side listening to each other. So posting here becomes more masturbation than conversation.

ERJAK wrote:
Forcing a 40k player to keep playing 7th is basically a hate crime.

 
   
Made in de
Blood Angel Terminator with Lightning Claws





Germany

Would be cool if he could have two saving throws though. He jumps in front of his comrades and deflects two plasma shots with both shields.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: