Switch Theme:

Player turn Roll offs, re-rolls and Modifiers  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






GW has been very.... consistent with at least "Re-rolls before Modifiers"

Pg 178 for Roll-offs state if you roll a tie you re-roll, when going 1st a player gets a modifier of +1. SO do you re-roll ties and add the modifier after?

I know we dont do this (at least i dont know anyone that does) but just thinking about it due to this topic https://www.dakkadakka.com/dakkaforum/posts/list/0/747637.page#9764457

I wanted to see what others thought, i'm not here to argue for this rule, just giving its GW and all... well you know lol.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/31 22:30:57


15k+ 12k+ 5k :Harlequin: 4k

Reading/Writing LD, be kind!

https://maddpaint.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




Not sure it applies as you cannot reroll a rerolled dice, so if players tie lets say a number more than once, the game wouldn't start? It seems the modifier rule and rerolls etc. applies to when games starts
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






On the same page it does say you may Re-roll a re-roll dice for the purpose of Roll-Offs.

15k+ 12k+ 5k :Harlequin: 4k

Reading/Writing LD, be kind!

https://maddpaint.blogspot.com 
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





Looks like RaW you do re-roll ties, because re-rolls happen before modifiers, and roll offs can be re-rolled infinitely. Nice catch.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2017/12/31 22:49:10


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy, "minimum" ranges don't work, Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll, the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit, the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously, Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields, Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12", Spore Mines have an infinite range, Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad, T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only), and T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle, Genestealer Cults can no longer move after ambushing, you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it, single use weapons MUST be fired the first time a model shoots if they are in range and LOS, if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit, the Agents of Vect stratagem can be used by ANY Drukhari army, not just one with a Kabal of the Black Heart detachment, a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight, Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything, Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers, and Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




So all ties are always rerolled by both players then, and the +1 only comes into play if the dice is -1 from the other (then triggering another reroll)?
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






As of right now, i dont think that is possible other than a LD roll off power, but i would say yes.

15k+ 12k+ 5k :Harlequin: 4k

Reading/Writing LD, be kind!

https://maddpaint.blogspot.com 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





USA

so what is the math NOW with re rolls making another roll off?

So what is the chance you get to go first if you have a +1?

 koooaei wrote:
We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice.
 
   
Made in ca
Bounding Dark Angels Assault Marine



Canada

A re-roll of a shooting or melee attack is different than a roll-off between two players for first turn. The attack is trying to meet a fixed success number. The roll-off is trying to best the other player's roll - its different. Not applying the +1 would be nonsense.

If you finished deploying first you get the +1. If you roll a 2 and I rolled a 3 we tied and we roll again. If we both rolled a 2 you won the roll-off, since 2+1=3 and 3>2. I can't imagine a real dispute between real players on this.

Happy New Year!


All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in us
Furious Fire Dragon





USA

well it would not be total nonsense in one aspect.

If you rolled a 5 and I a 6 then you add the +1 instead of losing you get another chance at a roll-off.

That in itself is a good advantage. You cannot disregard that.

 koooaei wrote:
We are rolling so many dice to have less time to realise that there is not much else to the game other than rolling so many dice.
 
   
Made in us
Walking Dead Wraithlord





Dallas area, TX

The problem here is that the modifier can either create or prevent that re-roll in the first place

Example 1 - I have the +1 and roll a 4. My opponent rolls a 5. Technically he won (no reroll needed), but then I apply +1 and we tie FORCING a reroll. So in this case, the modifier had to come first.

Example 2 - I still have the +1 and roll a 4, but my opponent also rolls a 4. We tie, causing a reroll, EXCEPT my +1 actually means I rolled a 5, thus no reroll is necessary.

Bottom line: rerolling ties is NOT the same as in-game rerolls and thus the modifiers after rerolls should not apply for roll-offs

-

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/01/09 15:56:16


   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: