Switch Theme:

Artisan of War and twin lightning claws  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Lead-Footed Trukkboy Driver





United Kingdom

Hi guys,

Say I have a blood angel character with the artisan of war warlord trait (+1 to the damage characteristic of one of his weapons) and TWO lightning claws.

The warlord trait only applies to one weapon, so presumably this means only one of those lightning claws does extra damage.

Does this mean my extra attack for the second lightning claw will only do 1 damage?
   
Made in gb
Keeper of the Holy Orb of Antioch





avoiding the lorax on Crion

 Krusha wrote:
Hi guys,

Say I have a blood angel character with the artisan of war warlord trait (+1 to the damage characteristic of one of his weapons) and TWO lightning claws.

The warlord trait only applies to one weapon, so presumably this means only one of those lightning claws does extra damage.

Does this mean my extra attack for the second lightning claw will only do 1 damage?


Don t most people count paired claws as one weapon for rolling purpose?

Of you roll as one as there merely a paired weapon. Most systems count attacks as one profile. One set.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/01 00:33:37


Sgt. Vanden - OOC Hey, that was your doing. I didn't choose to fly in the "Dongerprise'.

"May the odds be ever in your favour"

Hybrid Son Of Oxayotl wrote:
I have no clue how Dakka's moderation work. I expect it involves throwing a lot of d100 and looking at many random tables.

FudgeDumper - It could be that you are just so uncomfortable with the idea of your chapters primarch having his way with a docile tyranid spore cyst, that you must deny they have any feelings at all.  
   
Made in gb
Gargantuan Gargant





 Krusha wrote:
Hi guys,

Say I have a blood angel character with the artisan of war warlord trait (+1 to the damage characteristic of one of his weapons) and TWO lightning claws.

The warlord trait only applies to one weapon, so presumably this means only one of those lightning claws does extra damage.

Does this mean my extra attack for the second lightning claw will only do 1 damage?

Artisan of War: Add 1 to the Damage characteristic of one weapon carried by your Warlord.

Lightning Claw: You can re-roll failed wound rolls for this weapon. If a model is armed with two lightning claws, each time it fights it can make 1 additional attack with them.

I would say the extra attack can be made with either claw, as it says "them" rather than "this weapon" or "the second claw".

Thus, you would make an extra attack and it would also be +1 damage, because you pick the blinged out claw.

Of course you could also argue "with them" means you get one additional attack per claw, for a total of 2, but that's just sillyness! Seems to be a poor phrasing since you're generally going to only pick one weapon to use in the fight phase, no need to split between the two.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/01/01 01:29:04


Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written in the rulebook, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective.
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; and Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. --- 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: