Switch Theme:

Defy Dread Attack-why more than 2 Klaws?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Fresh-Faced New User




Ok,
Total new player here. Since the Deff Dread only gets 2 attack’s in the fight phase, why would you kit it with a third or fourth klaw?
You can only divide 2 attack’s amongst 2 weapons. Or am I missing something here?
8th editing here.
Thanks.


Automatically Appended Next Post:
Nevermind. Reeead rule. Can’t figure how to delete this post, so

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/01/02 04:23:59


 
   
Made in gb
Waaagh! Ork Warboss





To answer for those who might still have the same question, additional Dred Klaws grant additional attacks.

Disclaimer: My YMDC answers are from a "What the rules, as written (or modified by Special Snowflake FAQ) in the rulebooks, actually say" perspective, not a "What I wish the rules said" perspective. Even GW agrees with me, send an email to 40kfaq@gwplc.com for a confirmation reply "4. Apply The Rules As Written. If you still don’t have a satisfactory answer, use the rule just as it is written if you possibly can, even if you are not completely happy with the effect the rule has."
Because some people get their knickers in a twist, I'll list these RaW 'oddities' in my sig. Sadly GW's promise of fixing their broken rules has itself been broken. Zoom in to read them. RaW you cannot advance and then fire assault weapons, you can't shoot pistols if within 1" of an enemy; "minimum" ranges don't work; Seraphim have to re-roll saves that "fail" pre-re-roll; the game simply breaks if you ever have more than one wounded model in a unit; the game also breaks if a single rule ever tries to do multiple things simultaneously; Khârn punches himself in the face if he's not near some meatshields; Librarians on Bikes are locked to the Index power list, Howling Banshees can't declare a charge further than 12"; Spore Mines have an infinite range; Shroudpsalm technically doesn't do anything, only enemy models, not friendly models, have permission to move on top of a Skyshield Landing Pad; T'au have access to stackable Ignore Wounds (albeit against Mortal Wounds only); the T'au Early Warning Override Support System only works if a unit is "teleporting to the battlefield", not just arriving mid-battle; you can only ever use the Deathwatch Teleportarium Stratagem "once", and then never again in any battle after you use it; if a model splits fire, each weapon must target a different unit; a Tyrant Guard with Lashwhip can absorb an infinite amount of damage via Shieldwall between the time they die and the time they fight; Chapter Tactics on Successor Chapters don't actually do anything; Codex Leman Russ's can take an infinite amount of Hunter-Killer Missiles, Storm Bolters and Heavy Stubbers; Imothekh's 'Lord of the Storm' ability hits the "target unit" twice; "Airborne" units can't be charged by non-FLY units, but can be Heroically Intervened into, piled into, or consolidated into just fine by non-FLY units; Wave Serpents cannot be legally charged at by any model with a standard base; Slab Shields, along with the 'Take Cover!' stratagem no longer have any effect; and vehicles that are "slain" by a special effect do not trigger the "Explodes" ability.
--- Mathhammer tables for 2D6 and 3D6 Charging with various re-roll abilities --- Stylus CSS theme for DakkaDakka forums to hide black avatar background and fully hide ignored users. 
   
Made in us
Jinking Ravenwing Land Speeder Pilot





 BaconCatBug wrote:
To answer for those who might still have the same question, additional Dred Klaws grant additional attacks.

"each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with each dread klaw it is equipped with."

Note how the rule does not say the likes of "each time a model attacks using this weapon." This means that you are essentially paying for +1 A per dread klaw.

Deff dread has base 2 attacks, which goes up to 4 attacks during fight phase thanks to the two dread klaws it's equipped with. Any additional dread klaws beyond the initial two grants you 1 additional attacks in the fight phase.

If you have 3 dread klaws, you have 5 attacks. If you have 4 dread klaws, you have 6 attacks.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/04 00:08:45


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: