Switch Theme:

Celestine Res Timing question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in ca
Death-Dealing Devastator




Arkansas (Not Canada)

Hey all, recently I came upon a situation where a wounded Celestine (4 wounds remaining) with a Gemini was charging a Hemlock. The Hemlock did 3 wounds, for 6 damage, on overwatch. Here's where the question comes in, because each wound is dealt individually, and Celestine's res is instant, can Celestine take two wounds, die, be replaced in the unit, then take the remaining wound as I now have two undamaged models in the unit, allowing the unit to complete the charge?

Celestine's Res rules: "...if Celestine loses her last wound, roll a d6. On a roll of 2+ she is not removed, but is instead resurrected with all wounds restored; set up Celestine's model within 2" of a Geminae Superia. If it is impossible to do so - because, for example none remain in play - you can instead place Celestine anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" from any enemy models..."

7500+
4000+
3000+
1500+
1000+
1000+
1000+ 
   
Made in us
Trigger-Happy Baal Predator Pilot





Sparta, Ohio

As an addendum to that, I am curious if she does die whilst charging, gets the insta-res would she still be able to charge?
I know very little about her TBH, not sure if she is a separate character or if she is actually a parts of the Gemini unit.

Now, we like big books. (And we cannot lie. You other readers can’t deny, a book flops open with an itty-bitty font, and a map that’s in your face, you get—sorry! Sorry!)  
   
Made in ca
Death-Dealing Devastator




Arkansas (Not Canada)

 OIIIIIIO wrote:
As an addendum to that, I am curious if she does die whilst charging, gets the insta-res would she still be able to charge?
I know very little about her TBH, not sure if she is a separate character or if she is actually a parts of the Gemini unit.


They are one unit with the character rule, kinda weird.

If she dies alone, she deepstrikes back in, so I think that's a no.

7500+
4000+
3000+
1500+
1000+
1000+
1000+ 
   
Made in es
Screaming Shining Spear





 Perth wrote:
Hey all, recently I came upon a situation where a wounded Celestine (4 wounds remaining) with a Gemini was charging a Hemlock. The Hemlock did 3 wounds, for 6 damage, on overwatch. Here's where the question comes in, because each wound is dealt individually, and Celestine's res is instant, can Celestine take two wounds, die, be replaced in the unit, then take the remaining wound as I now have two undamaged models in the unit, allowing the unit to complete the charge?

Celestine's Res rules: "...if Celestine loses her last wound, roll a d6. On a roll of 2+ she is not removed, but is instead resurrected with all wounds restored; set up Celestine's model within 2" of a Geminae Superia. If it is impossible to do so - because, for example none remain in play - you can instead place Celestine anywhere on the battlefield more than 9" from any enemy models..."


RAW you should be able to place Celestine near the Geminae (as wounds are resolved per model, and Celestine rules allow you to check if she returns before the 3rd hit and Wounds affect the Geminae.

But be wary Overwatch is resolved *before* the unit does the charge move, so in best case escenario you would be able to get 2" inch closer to the target before rolling to see the distance.( of course unless you rolled high enough to get in range)

P.S: Worst case scenario last wound is applied at the same time Celestine Miraculous intervention so Sequencing gets involved.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/05 06:01:17


 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






RAW If I'm reading her rule correctly it seems that she could indeed take the last wound as well.

RAI I would either not play it that way, or i'd make her take the entire 9 wounds dealt to her (if you insisted to allocate the last hit to her as well). This is because while wounds cant carry over to other models in the squad, she isn't an "other" model so she would be forced to suffer all 9 wounds.

Her rule actually states you don't remove her either, just resurrect her with full wounds so she's basically just healing to full on a 2+ after loosing her last wound.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

Celestine absorbs all of the 6 damage because she is already wounded and the wounds don't carry over (unless they are mortal wounds). So Celestine dies and the Geminae is fine. Celestine then ressurects next to the still standing Geminae, within 2" of the Geminae potentially closer to the target of the charge. The unit didn't die. So, they still get to charge in. It's no different than if a Tac squad with 10 models charges and 5 die. The remaining 5 still charge and fight as normal. The only difference is the 5 dead space marines didn't get back up and charge in, too.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/05 18:48:19


 
   
Made in ca
Death-Dealing Devastator




Arkansas (Not Canada)

 deviantduck wrote:
Celestine absorbs all of the 6 damage because she is already wounded and the wounds don't carry over (unless they are mortal wounds). So Celestine dies and the Geminae is fine. Celestine then ressurects next to the still standing Geminae, within 2" of the Geminae potentially closer to the target of the charge. The unit didn't die. So, they still get to charge in. It's no different than if a Tac squad with 10 models charges and 5 die. The remaining 5 still charge and fight as normal. The only difference is the 5 dead space marines didn't get back up and charge in, too.


The problem is in this instance Celestine only had 4 wounds left, so the squad has the potential to be wiped out. The question is can she res and the take more damage from the same wound pool.

7500+
4000+
3000+
1500+
1000+
1000+
1000+ 
   
Made in us
Never Forget Isstvan!






That's why I said what I said.

If she is allowed to tank all the wounds, she has to tank ALL of the wounds.

She either eats 6 with her first life and the geminae take the rest, or she eats all 9.

JOIN MY CRUSADE and gain 4000 RT points!
http://www.eternalcrusade.com/account/sign-up/?ref_code=EC-PLCIKYCABW8PG 
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




Or, more correctly sequencing kicks in, and as we know damage is allocated one at a time to the target model, once Celestine dies you can stop, res Celestine, then continue.
   
Made in us
Preacher of the Emperor





St. Louis, Missouri USA

I see what you're saying now. Let's say there were 10 wounds at 1 damage each and Celestine and 2 geminae were all at full health. Celestine takes 7 wounds and 7 damage and dies, but there is still 3 more to to go. At this point, you roll a D6 she stands up, and then you continue to deal the remaining 3. But now Celestine is at full health so you could switch models since none in the unit are wounded.

 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: