Switch Theme:

[noob] Moving through your own units?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in fr
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




Hello everyone, I have a newbie question: if I screen a unit by surrounding it with another one, can I go through it during movement phase?
If the answer is yes, how do I cound distance if I go throuh one of my big units (like a tank) can I go "straight through" it or do I have to calculate the distance of the path going around it?

(to make it clear, I wanna screen a Predator with Cultists, then move the Pred, then move the Cultists to screen it again, etc.)
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

You can't move models through models, friend or foe. FLY allows you to move over them as if not there, and any other exceptions will be on a model's Datasheet. If no exceptions, you have to move through gaps between models or, if that's impossible, go around.

I'd move your screen first then follow up with the vehicle to avoid the issue.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/13 13:47:24


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in fr
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




Thank you for your answer.

And I assume you can't decide to move two units at the same time tu circumvent this issue since the rulebook says you activate and move one unit at a time?

It's kind of weird when you decide to escort an HQ with a troop for example. Imagine you decide to move and advance with two units and roll 6 and 1 for advance rolls. How do people deal with that? How to you efficiently screen moving units?

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/13 14:28:31


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






CypherF wrote:
Thank you for your answer.

And I assume you can't decide to move two units at the same time tu circumvent this issue since the rulebook says you activate and move one unit at a time?

It's kind of weird when you decide to escort an HQ with a troop for example. Imagine you decide to move and advance with two units and roll 6 and 1 for advance rolls. How do people deal with that? How to you efficiently screen moving units?
Correct, you can't move two units at once.

You leave a base sized width, since enemies can't move within 1".
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

CypherF wrote:

It's kind of weird when you decide to escort an HQ with a troop for example. Imagine you decide to move and advance with two units and roll 6 and 1 for advance rolls. How do people deal with that? How to you efficiently screen moving units?


Technically advancing adds to your movement value. You dont have to move your full movement value. If you advance your escorting unit and you roll a 6 you can choose to use only 3 of it, or even nothing. You can even decide to move only 1" at all, or remain where you are. But all restrictions of advancing (not being able to charge, not being able to fire heavy weapons... etc.) still apply. If you decide to use only 3" from the 6 you rolled, your HQ wont fall far behind when you roll a 1 for his advance.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/13 22:46:38


 
   
Made in fr
Stealthy Dark Angels Scout with Shotgun




 BaconCatBug wrote:
Correct, you can't move two units at once.

You leave a base sized width, since enemies can't move within 1".

Thanks that's how I'v been doing it. Miss being able to join characters to a unit


Automatically Appended Next Post:
 p5freak wrote:
Technically advancing adds to your movement value. You dont have to move your full movement value. If you advance your escorting unit and you roll a 6 you can choose to use only 3 of it, or even nothing. You can even decide to move only 1" at all, or remain where you are. But all restrictions of advancing (not being able to charge, not being able to fire heavy weapons... etc.) still apply. If you decide to use only 3" from the 6 you rolled, your HQ wont fall far behind when you roll a 1 for his advance.

Okay I wasn't sure it worked like that with advance, thanks for clarifying!

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/14 17:02:58


 
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




 JohnnyHell wrote:

FLY allows you to move over them as if not there, and any other exceptions will be on a model's Datasheet. If no exceptions, you have to move through gaps between models or, if that's impossible, go around.


While we're on the subject, does that mean flyers can move over other models but other models have to go around flyers? I don't play it that way but RAW that seems to be the case.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






craftworld_uk wrote:
While we're on the subject, does that mean flyers can move over other models but other models have to go around flyers? I don't play it that way but RAW that seems to be the case.
Yes, that is correct. They can move under the physical model, but can't move though its base.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/14 18:15:46


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran






Backwoods bunker USA

What about during the charge phase?

Can you charge through a different unit of yours (assuming no gaps)? As the charge phase might be different from movement?
   
Made in de
Nihilistic Necron Lord






Germany

No, you cant.
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: