Switch Theme:

Confused about how 8E damage works  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in gb
Implacable Skitarii






Hi all,

So I'm still fairly new to 40K and the rules and I have a question about how wounds and damage works - especially against hordes of models.

If I were to shoot something like a LRBT at a squad of something like Termagaunts, how effective is that?

D3 shots, say you get 2 shots. Pass the hit rolls, pass the wound rolls then apply damage. D6 damage and you roll say a 4 and a 2. Is that 4 damage on 1 Termagaunt and 2 damage on another = 2 dead. Or is that 6 dead Termagaunts?

 
   
Made in us
Steadfast Grey Hunter




4 damage one one. 2 on the other. 2 dead ‘gaunts.

Only mortal wounds carry over models. (I’m sure there’s a specific exception otherwise.)
   
Made in gb
Implacable Skitarii






Ulfhednar_42 wrote:
4 damage one one. 2 on the other. 2 dead ‘gaunts.

Only mortal wounds carry over models. (I’m sure there’s a specific exception otherwise.)


Okay, thank you. That's what I was thinking but it's the one thing I keep getting wrong. So 1 hit roll will always only kill 1 thing unless it does mortal wounds.

 
   
Made in ca
Secretive Dark Angels Veteran



Canada

 anyname121 wrote:
Ulfhednar_42 wrote:
4 damage one one. 2 on the other. 2 dead ‘gaunts.

Only mortal wounds carry over models. (I’m sure there’s a specific exception otherwise.)


Okay, thank you. That's what I was thinking but it's the one thing I keep getting wrong. So 1 hit roll will always only kill 1 thing unless it does mortal wounds.


That's the mechanic. A Lascannon that hits and wounds an Ork mob and rolls a 6 for the damage roll will kill precisely one Ork. There are indeed exceptions as noted in the Abilities column of a Codex Weapons pages. Some allow the weapon to deal Mortal Wounds (Sniper Rifles on a wound roll of 6, Tau Heavy Rail Rifles on a wound roll of 6 etc), which do carry over. Others have specific instructions. The Deathwing Knight Flail of the Unforgiven, for instance does 2 Damage on a successful hit/wound and the Abilities column states that excess damage is not lost but continues to be allocated until the target unit is destroyed or all the damage is allocated. These types of weapons are rare to my knowledge.

All you have to do is fire three rounds a minute, and stand 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






To use a quote from somewhere "People don't die from sympathy pains when their buddy explodes."

To summarise:
Low Shot, High Damage, use on Vehicles and Monsters
High Show, Low Damage, use on Hoards.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/01/14 15:41:31


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: