Switch Theme:

Line of Sight Question  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in nz
Fresh-Faced New User





Hi,

Just trying to understand an issue with Line of Sight.

Assuming that:

- Both the firing and target units have multiple models
- All the weapons in the firing unit require LOS to fire.
- ONLY ONE model in the FIRING unit has LOS to ONLY ONE model in the TARGET unit.

Which of the following is correct:

For the FIRING unit:
All models can fire
OR
Only the one model with LOS can fire

For the TARGET unit:
All models can be affected
OR
Only the one model in LOS can be affected.

Thanks for your help.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

If only one model in the firing unit has LoS, only that one model can fire.

He can, however, kill everyone in the target unit. Even if he can only see one.

LoS is effectively from Models to Units. Range as well.
   
Made in nz
Regular Dakkanaut




Also remember that the models in a unit can all target different units. No longer do you need to fire everything at the same target
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






Chrysis wrote:
If only one model in the firing unit has LoS, only that one model can fire.

He can, however, kill everyone in the target unit. Even if he can only see one.

LoS is effectively from Models to Units. Range as well.
This is correct.

Also keep in mind LOS and Range is only checked ONCE. Casualties will not stop the rest of the unit being able to fire or kill models.
   
Made in kr
Inquisitorial Keeper of the Xenobanks






your mind

Chrysis wrote:
If only one model in the firing unit has LoS, only that one model can fire.

He can, however, kill everyone in the target unit. Even if he can only see one.

LoS is effectively from Models to Units. Range as well.


This is correct,
but I refuse to play this way.

House rule is that only models in range and LoS can be affected.

   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: