Author |
Message |
 |
|
 |
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 21:08:27
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Wondering if anyone could help me with the following two questions:
1) Seer Council Strategem
This strategem does not specify that it needs to be used at the start of the psychic phase or before a farseer/warlock manifests a power. Does that mean the correct interpretation of its use is - Farseer+Warlock within 6" of each other, if warlock attempts to cast protect, rolls a 6, I can use the seer council strategem in response at this point for a +1 to the casting roll, this then continues on for the rest of the phase for the farseer's psychic powers.
2) Treasures of the Craftworld + Ynaari
With a ynaari detachment, it is compulsory to make one of the Ynaari characters the warlord. This prevents access to craftworld relics, as these are only available if your warlord is a craftworld character. However can you use the 'Treasures of the Craftworld' Strategem to pay 1/3CP to take craftworld relics. I initially thought no as they use the word 'extra', but then I came across the deathguard FAQ, which says the following:
Q: If my army is led by a Chaos Space Marines Warlord, and
I have a Detachment of Death Guard, can I use the Gifts of
Decay Death Guard Stratagem to include a Relic on a Death
Guard Character?
A: Yes. The only requirement to have access to
Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the
appropriate Faction. If you have a Death Guard
Detachment, you have access to their Stratagems.
From this it looks like you can take relics via the strategem as long as you have a craftworld detachment as well as the ynaari detachment - is that correct?
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 21:24:31
Subject: Re:Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
1. The Seer Council stratagem does not give you permission to retroactively adjust the results of a psychic test. Once the test is passed or failed it's too late.
2. Yes, that is correct.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 21:28:41
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Powerful Phoenix Lord
|
Away from codex, so can't help with 1. 2 is correct.
|
Greebo had spent an irritating two minutes in that box. Technically, a cat locked in a box may be alive or it may be dead. You never know until you look. In fact, the mere act of opening the box will determine the state of the cat, although in this case there were three determinate states the cat could be in: these being Alive, Dead, and Bloody Furious.
Orks always ride in single file to hide their strength and numbers.
Gozer the Gozerian, Gozer the Destructor, Volguus Zildrohar, Gozer the Traveler, and Lord of the Sebouillia |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 21:50:41
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Mekboy on Kustom Deth Kopta
|
1. No.
2. Yes, as long as you have a detachment of <Craftworld: Bla bla> in your force and you follow the other restrictions listed when giving the relic to a character (I guess they have to be of <Craftworld: Bla bla> too). If you have only Ynaari forces you don't have access to the relic and you have no one to assign it to.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 23:23:02
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Thanks for the replies. Is the seer council strategem really so clear cut, the confusion could've been avoided if there was some specification on when it could be used, e.g. Start of the psychic phase.
But this is clearly omitted from the text in the strategem, only stating that it needs to be used in your psychic phase, does anyone have any more rules/faq's/reasoning why it couldn't be used in response to rolling 1 under the warp charge value required to manifest a power.
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/24 23:36:28
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
And as noted, you do not have to use the stratagem at the start of the Psychic phase, but it does nothing for powers which have already been cast.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 14:48:51
Subject: Eldar Strategem Questions - Seer Council & Treasures of the Craftworld
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
[quote=sadhvikv 749368 9801598 nullBut this is clearly omitted from the text in the strategem, only stating that it needs to be used in your psychic phase, does anyone have any more rules/faq's/reasoning why it couldn't be used in response to rolling 1 under the warp charge value required to manifest a power.
Because the stratagem doesn't say you can retroactively apply it to a roll. As Ghaz points out, it does nothing for powers that have already been cast. If GW wants it to work that way, they would need to FAQ it because it would not work that way now.
|
|
 |
 |
|