| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 14:58:13
Subject: Tidewalls and DS8 Turrets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Two questions, one follows on from the other.
Can you deploy a DS8 Turret on a Tidewall?
If you can, is the turret destroyed when/if the Tidewall moves?
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 16:37:11
Subject: Re:Tidewalls and DS8 Turrets
|
 |
Lesser Daemon of Chaos
|
Unfortunately not, the Tidewall uses embarkment rules for vehicles and specifies that it can only be used by infantry. When embarked, Infantry are technically not on the field so there's no 2" coherency possible to allow you to place the model.
|
5000pts W4/ D0/ L5
5000pts W10/ D2/ L7
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 19:27:04
Subject: Re:Tidewalls and DS8 Turrets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
Tristanleo wrote:Unfortunately not, the Tidewall uses embarkment rules for vehicles and specifies that it can only be used by infantry. When embarked, Infantry are technically not on the field so there's no 2" coherency possible to allow you to place the model.
The coherency make sense. So no mobile turrets for me.
However I disagree on the first point. Tidewalls have different rules to transports in that infantry units can embark. The infantry keyword is not used in the tidewall. And as the turret does not exist until deployed, nor does it change the unit from infantry I thought it worth asking.
Thanks for responding though, even if it wasnt the answer I hoped for.
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 20:08:57
Subject: Re:Tidewalls and DS8 Turrets
|
 |
Lieutenant General
|
From page 76 of Index Xenos 2:
A Tidewall Shieldline and Tidewall Defence Platform can each transport any number of T’AU EMPIRE INFANTRY CHARACTERS and one other T’AU EMPIRE INFANTRY unit, but each can transport no more than 10 models in total.
The INFANTRY keyword is used.
|
'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'
- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/01/25 21:12:33
Subject: Tidewalls and DS8 Turrets
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
Wishing I was back at the South Atlantic, closer to ice than the sun
|
I sit corrected. I would have sworn that it wasn't italicised.
Cheers
Andrew
|
I don't care what the flag says, I'm SCOTTISH!!!
Best definition of the word Battleship?
Mr Nobody wrote:
Does a canoe with a machine gun count?
|
|
|
 |
 |
|
|