Switch Theme:

drop pod deviating off table?  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in mt
Fresh-Faced New User




The Drop Pod Assault rules (page 21) do not specify what happens if a Drop Pod lands on friendly models or off of the table. If a Drop Pod is unable to be placed on the table because it has scattered directly onto a friendly unit, is the entire unit/Drop Pod considered destroyed? Or is the Scatter distance reduced as if the friendly models were impassible terrain? Is the same rationale applied to a Scatter roll that would take the Drop Pod off the table (it is reduced to the point where the Drop Pod will land on the table)? If not, how should these situation be handled?

 

was going through the FAQ but I am not sure if I saw an answer to this can soemone update me what happens

 

1 when a drop pod goes off table?

 

2 when goes on friendly troops?

 

3 when goes on enemy troops?

 

4 on normal not impassable terrain?

 

thanks

<?  

   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


1) Not covered in the rules/FAQ, so discuss with your opponents beforehand. Most people I've seen (including the recent US WD article written by GT vets) seem to play that when a DP scatters off board it is "off the table" and gives up VPs as normal for units not on the table.

2) Not covered in the rules/FAQ, so discuss with your opponents beforehand.

3) Covered in the rules. The Scatter is reduced to a safe point.

4) The DP is deployed as normal. Why whouldn't it?


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




the spire of angels

think about the basic deepstrike rules

there are only 3 things that make you loose the unit

 

1-off the table=destroyed

2-on enemy units=destroyed

3-on impassible terrain=destroyed

 

a drop pod simply negates 2 and 3

 

there are no rules for landing on your own forces but we do know they are not destroyed by doing so because there are only 3 things that can cause them to be destroyed.

discuss it before you play and see what your can work out with your opponant if you are overly concerned about it.

our group just piles them in next to the unit they landed on. a pod moves 1" away like it would landing on enemy units.


"victory needs no explanation, defeat allows none" 
   
Made in us
Regular Dakkanaut




iowa

think about the basic deepstrike rules

there are only 3 things that make you loose the unit

ummm ok, but what do they have to do with each other? just because something is similar does not mean they are the same.



also, is the edge of a table really just
impassable terrain ? im sure it says something in the BBB about it.

 


When I'm in power, here's how I'm gonna put the country back on its feet. I'm going to put sterilizing agents in the following products: Sunny Delight, Mountain Dew, and Thick-Crust Pizza. Only the 'tardiest of the 'tards like the thick crust. 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

if it lands on your troops just make some space for it. simple

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA


Mughi wrote:
there are no rules for landing on your own forces but we do know they are not destroyed by doing so because there are only 3 things that can cause them to be destroyed.



That is a fallacy. You've made an assumption that cannot be supported. We cannot say for sure what happens to a drop pod that lands on models from it's own side.


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Posted By jeremycobert on 06/12/2006 1:57 PM
also, is the edge of a table really just
impassable terrain ? im sure it says something in the BBB about it.



I'm pretty sure it says nothing on the subject, hence the debate.

That would make sense though if they FAQed it as such, ruleswise, as you shouldn't be able to voluntarily leave the table.


"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

if its off the table its OFF THE TABLE, ie its gone lost dead you name it

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





I play it right now that off the table is off the table and on enemy models is reduced to the minimum. Since it doesn't cover it you could pretty much argue either way on both of the points, so I try to play in the `spirit` - best you can really do when you don't have even a clue as to what to do with a rule.

However, my prediction is that off the table will join enemy units and impassible terrain as an exception. Deep strikers who land on impassible are dead. Deep strikers who land on enemy models are dead. Friendly models will probably gain a similar exception. Friendly models being far more likely to receive an exception than off the table, but I think both will.

Anyway, this question is not really worth discussing in YMTC since it's been hashed over 74891 times and is in the Dakka FAQ.
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

it says in the rule book and codex, if on impossible terrain or enemy models than you move it the ninimum distance to get away from it. off the table is gone to the warp

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






off the table is gone to the warp

I don't think the rules say that anywhere or in any way.

Nothing in any rule says a pod that scatters off the table is giving up an VPs (and that's what really matters).

Yes, deep striking units that scatter off are definitely giving up VPs, but as we all know, pods don't deepstrike.

I think the proper interpretation, techinically, is that the unit is off the table, and can not actually affect the game in any way, but gives up no VPs.

(However I personally play it that they are destroyed, as pods are brutal enough and I'm usually the guy with the pods).


"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





So, when you land in the midst of enemy troops, how do you move them out of the way? 3"/min distance away so all troops inside can safely disembark without breaking the whole being within 1" when not assaulting rule?

The greatest obstacle to discovery is not ignorance -- it is the illusion of knowledge 
   
Made in us
Rampaging Carnifex





There's a rule that says, and I'm paraphasing: A unit that reaches the table edge is removed. It's in the falling back section but it is unqualified.

It's on page 49 under:
"Leaving the battle"
"Once a unit reaches the table edge it is considered to have left the battle and may not return. ... The unit takes no further part in the battle and is removed."

However what it doesn't say is that the unit is counted as destroyed. Woo.


   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

@Longshot

IMO, that table-edge rule should apply under all circumstances. Unfortunately, many will argue that it only applies specifically to falling back. Strictly by RAW, they are most likely correct.

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran




Posted By Thunderkiss on 06/18/2006 4:47 PM
So, when you land in the midst of enemy troops, how do you move them out of the way? 3"/min distance away so all troops inside can safely disembark without breaking the whole being within 1" when not assaulting rule?


No. No-one else moves. There is no rule requiring a pushback. All that would happen is troops that are unable to deploy will die.

Manfred on Dwarfs: "it's like fighting a mountain, except the mountain stabs back."

For Hearth and Home! 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

what is RAW that everybody refers to like its some sort of Rules God or something. i have never heard of it. everybody quotes it to. does it have anything to do GW? is it official that people mention it??

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

So, when you land in the midst of enemy troops, how do you move them out of the way? 3"/min distance away so all troops inside can safely disembark without breaking the whole being within 1" when not assaulting rule?

Um, you don't move enemy troops out of the way. The Pod's scatter is reduced by enough to land it 1" away from them.


what is RAW that everybody refers to like its some sort of Rules God or something. i have never heard of it. everybody quotes it to. does it have anything to do GW? is it official that people mention it??

Rules As Written.

So yes, it's an official source

 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

insaniak your cat is winking at me and it freeking me out so i will believe watever you say cos you have a cat with 1 red eye that winks at strangers.




Rules As Written.

So yes, it's an official source

you neen take the rules as they are in the rule book, codex etc??

i thought it was some sort of forum where the brains of this outfit enterpret them and then just complicate them.




R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
Made in us
[ADMIN]
Decrepit Dakkanaut






Los Angeles, CA

Posted By mauleed on 06/17/2006 9:20 PM

off the table is gone to the warp

I don't think the rules say that anywhere or in any way.

Nothing in any rule says a pod that scatters off the table is giving up an VPs (and that's what really matters).

Yes, deep striking units that scatter off are definitely giving up VPs, but as we all know, pods don't deepstrike.

I think the proper interpretation, techinically, is that the unit is off the table, and can not actually affect the game in any way, but gives up no VPs.

(However I personally play it that they are destroyed, as pods are brutal enough and I'm usually the guy with the pods).


Ed,

While I agree aout the actual Drop Pod, the unit inside is clearly not on the table at the end of the game and per the VP rules on page 85 would be "off-table" and give up their VPs.


 


I play (click on icons to see pics): DQ:70+S++G(FAQ)M++B-I++Pw40k92/f-D+++A+++/areWD104R+T(D)DM+++
yakface's 40K rule #1: Although the rules allow you to use modeling to your advantage, how badly do you need to win your toy soldier games?
yakface's 40K rule #2: Friends don't let friends start a MEQ army.
yakface's 40K rule #3: Codex does not ALWAYS trump the rulebook, so please don't say that!
Waaagh Dakka: click the banner to learn more! 
   
Made in au
[MOD]
Making Stuff






Under the couch

insaniak your cat is winking at me and it freeking me out

It's ok... she often freaks me out too.


you neen take the rules as they are in the rule book, codex etc??

Yup, RAW basically means taking the rules exactly as written in the book. Often contradictory or vague, or leading to extremely silly results.

Rules discussions here on Dakka use RAW as a starting point, and often get a little fixated on the precise meaning of a given word. Most of us don't try to actually play that way, but using the RAW for rules discussions serves to tell you what the rules actually say, and lets you figure out for yourself what you need to do differently, and also helps you to know what to expect when someone turns up at a game with a completely different idea of how a particular rule works.

 
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut






Excellent catch Yak.

Interestingly, does this mean that units that don't come in from reserve, and are hence "off table" give up their VPs? I'd think so.


"I've still got a job, so the rules must be good enough" - Design team motto.  
   
Made in us
Been Around the Block





On the question of landing friendly models. If I had a transport which sustained a penatrating hit the passengers would be forced out, if there was also one of my unit directly behind it (in the case of a chimera) would the unit in the transport be destroyed? If so then I think the precendent for a unit moving onto a friendly unit would in fact destroy the unit.

Brave Rifles
   
Made in us
Master of the Hunt





Angmar

Absolutely. If you cannot disembark when forced to, the unit is destroyed.

This is little different than if you surrounded a landraider with genestealers and rend it to death. If the embarked squad of terminators cannot get out without being within 1" of the enemy, they automatically die.

No save, no invulnerables, do not pass go, do not collect $200.

If the models cannot be legally placed, they die.

Of course, its not quite as bad, as you can definitely place models within 1" of friendly models. But it could be a problem if you happened to leave yourself a spot the exact size of a droppod with no extra room in the midst of the rest of your force. The countermeasure is simple. Don't create such a space!

"It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion.
It is by the seed of Arabica that thoughts acquire speed, the teeth acquire stains, the stains become a warning.
It is by caffeine alone I set my mind in motion."
 
   
Made in gb
Stern Iron Priest with Thrall Bodyguard




The drinking halls of Fenris or South London as its sometimes called

thanks for clarifying that insaniak

R.I.P Amy Winehouse


 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: