Switch Theme:

Taking AM Relics without an AM Warlord???  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




TX, US

One of the AM Stratagems allows the faction to pick one to two Relics, can I do this without having the Warlord in the faction?

 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 davidgr33n wrote:
One of the AM Stratagems allows the faction to pick one to two Relics, can I do this without having the Warlord in the faction?
As long as you have an AM detachment, yes.

Example: Patrol SM Detachment, with SM as Warlord. Patrol AM Detachment.

You've unlocked the AM Stratagems, so you may now use their Relics Stratagem to give a Relic to a legal target, along with the free one from the SM Warlord. You could even use the SM Relic Stratagem to get another relic for a CP.

You could in theory with that detachment setup get a total of 5 relics, 1 Free SM, 2 paid SM and 2 paid AM.

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/06 19:52:40


 
   
Made in us
Dakka Veteran





Yes - you may use the stratagem assuming you meet all the other qualifications (i.e. have access to the stratagem, are selecting a legal target to take the relic, etc.)
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




TX, US

Opens up new possibilities...

Thx all

 
   
Made in us
Loyal Necron Lychguard






Palm Beach, FL

You're really hampering yourself if you don't spend the 1 CP to get Kurov's Aquilla if you're already taking an IG detachment.
   
Made in us
Sword-Bearing Inquisitorial Crusader




TX, US

I agree, I always take Kurov’s Aquila

 
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







Unless the AM stratagem is worded differently than many of the others, you must be able to take the first relic before you can use the stratagem to take more, as it specifically states "Your army can have one extra....", which would insinuate that you must have one before you can have extra.
   
Made in us
Confessor Of Sins





Tacoma, WA, USA

The rule is "Your army can have one extra relic from xxx". There is no reason you can't add one to zero.
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 alextroy wrote:
The rule is "Your army can have one extra relic from xxx". There is no reason you can't add one to zero.


That is not what the word "extra" means. It means "in addition to". Which, as I stated before, would insinuate that you must have one relic to start with.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

Extra simply means additional, or more or beyond what is normal or expected. Being granted one relic where you may ordinarily have zero is absolutely being granted one extra relic.
   
Made in us
Esteemed Veteran Space Marine







 Mr. Shine wrote:
Extra simply means additional, or more or beyond what is normal or expected. Being granted one relic where you may ordinarily have zero is absolutely being granted one extra relic.


No, that is being granted A relic, not an extra relic. You cannot take an army's relic unless your warlord belongs to that army, so in order to get "extra", you have to have the ability to take a relic to start with.
   
Made in jp
Longtime Dakkanaut



Aizuwakamatsu, Fukushima, Japan

Q: If my army is led by a Chaos Space Marines Warlord, and I have a Detachment of Death Guard, can I use the Gifts of Decay Death Guard Stratagem to include a Relic on a Death Guard Character?
A: Yes. The only requirement to have access to Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the appropriate Faction. If you have a Death Guard Detachment, you have access to their stratagems.


From the Death Guard FAQ. Extra only means +1, not that you have to have one already.
   
Made in nz
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




Ankh Morpork

 ClassicCarraway wrote:
No, that is being granted A relic, not an extra relic. You cannot take an army's relic unless your warlord belongs to that army, so in order to get "extra", you have to have the ability to take a relic to start with.


As Chrysis says above, you're quite mistaken.
   
Made in gb
Longtime Dakkanaut



Glasgow

Goven that this argument has been had six dozen times already and the faq is clear there is no debate you can
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: