Switch Theme:

Forewarned - Timing  [RSS] Share on facebook Share on Twitter Submit to Reddit
»
Author Message
Advert


Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
  • No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
  • Times and dates in your local timezone.
  • Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
  • Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
  • Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now.




Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Can an Eldar player use Forewarned after all units have arrived from deep strike and then pick which one he wants to shoot, or does this decision have to be made after the unit arrives, but before the next unit arrives? Is there a "window" where this decision can be made?

For instance, if I have 3 units in deep strike reserve, and I bring on one, and he doesn't use it, and then i bring on another, can he decide to shoot the first one?

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

From Codex Craftworlds (emphasis added):

Use this Stratagem immediately after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements

So no, you can't wait and pick which unit to play the stratagem on.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 Marmatag wrote:
Can an Eldar player use Forewarned after all units have arrived from deep strike and then pick which one he wants to shoot, or does this decision have to be made after the unit arrives, but before the next unit arrives? Is there a "window" where this decision can be made?

For instance, if I have 3 units in deep strike reserve, and I bring on one, and he doesn't use it, and then i bring on another, can he decide to shoot the first one?
You have to decide as soon as the unit arrives. He won't be able to shoot the first one.

All "deep strikes" happen simultaneously, but the Sequencing rules cause them to be resolved one at a time. Thus the first unit has been fully and completely set up before the second unit arrives, at which point it's too late to use Forewarned on the first unit, since you must use Forewarned "immediately after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements".

This message was edited 5 times. Last update was at 2018/02/07 23:31:10


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






 BaconCatBug wrote:
Thus the first unit has been fully and completely set up before the second unit arrives, at which point it's too late to use Forewarned on the first unit, since you must use Forewarned "immediately after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements".
Wouldn't the RAW of the stratagem allow you to target the first unit as long as it was "before the second unit arrives"? The wording on your post seems to say that once the second model of the first unit has been set up, but before the secong unit arrives is too late to declare the stratagem.
   
Made in us
Clousseau





East Bay, Ca, US

Thank you.

 Galas wrote:
I remember when Marmatag was a nooby, all shiney and full of joy. How playing the unbalanced mess of Warhammer40k in a ultra-competitive meta has changed you

Bharring wrote:
He'll actually *change his mind* in the presence of sufficient/sufficiently defended information. Heretic.
 
   
Made in us
Lieutenant General





Florence, KY

 skchsan wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
Thus the first unit has been fully and completely set up before the second unit arrives, at which point it's too late to use Forewarned on the first unit, since you must use Forewarned "immediately after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements".

Wouldn't the RAW of the stratagem allow you to target the first unit as long as it was "before the second unit arrives"? The wording on your post seems to say that once the second model of the first unit has been set up, but before the secong unit arrives is too late to declare the stratagem.

'Immediately' is pretty explicit. If anything occurs after your opponent sets up a unit that is arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements then you have not used the 'Forewarned' stratagem when the rule requires its use.

'It is a source of constant consternation that my opponents
cannot correlate their innate inferiority with their inevitable
defeat. It would seem that stupidity is as eternal as war.'

- Nemesor Zahndrekh of the Sautekh Dynasty
Overlord of the Crownworld of Gidrim
 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






No I get that but when does the "immediately after" kick in? After the first model from a unit of 5 is set up or when the 5th and last model from that unit is placed? The way I see "immediately after" is the time in between when the first 'unit' (and not model) is fully set up and before deciding where the next unit arriving has been decided?

So then, if you set up two single model units ALMOST simultaneously but decidedly one after another, can you no longer declare forewarned on the first unit? If so, that would be the first instance where human reflex enters the play...

Alternatively, lets say I have two units entering as reinforcements. Both are 10 model units. I first set up the first 9 models from unit A. I know as soon as I put down my 10th model, my opponent is going to declare forewarned on my unit A. So I first scope out where I am going to set up unit B. I decide on where to set up unit B, then I take 10th model from unit A on one hand, and 1st model from unit B on the other... Then I place the 10th model from unit A, then almost immediately after, before my opponent can declare his/her stratagem, I quickly place the 1st model from unit B on the battlefield. Is unit A no longer a valid target of forewarned?

If not, are you saying forewarned needs to be declared when someone declares entry as reinforcement?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/08 02:06:07


 
   
Made in us
Scarred Ultramarine Tyrannic War Veteran




McCragge

Nitpicking at its finest.

Bow down to Guilliman for he is our new God Emperor!

Martel - "Custodes are terrible in 8th. Good luck with them. They take all the problems of marines and multiply them."

"Lol, classic martel. 'I know it was strong enough to podium in the biggest tournament in the world but I refuse to acknowledge space marines are good because I can't win with them and it can't possibly be ME'."

DakkaDakka is really the place where you need anti-tank guns to kill basic dudes, because anything less isn't durable enough. 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
No I get that but when does the "immediately after" kick in? After the first model from a unit of 5 is set up or when the 5th and last model from that unit is placed? The way I see "immediately after" is the time in between when the first 'unit' (and not model) is fully set up and before deciding where the next unit arriving has been decided?
The last model of the first unit, of course. The unit has not been Set Up until then.

You're deliberately trying to misinterpret the rules for the sake of misinterpreting them, didn't you just lambaste another poster for doing exactly that?

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/08 12:04:11


 
   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






No, I'm genuinely intrigued by the potential implication of the hardline proposed by some here. I apologize if this sounds like "lambasting" or "nitpickying".

You've said it is too late to use the stratagem when "the first unit has been fully and completely set up before the second unit arrives." I wasn't sure you meant that or it came out wrong, since it looked like we're on the same page as to what "immediately after" indicates.

Clearly there has to be some leeway when the stratagem can be declared - particularly for cases I've outlined.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/08 13:37:41


 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
No, I'm genuinely intrigued by the potential implication of the hardline proposed by some here. I apologize if this sounds like "lambasting" or "nitpickying".

You've said it is too late to use the stratagem when "the first unit has been fully and completely set up before the second unit arrives." I wasn't sure you meant that or it came out wrong, since it looked like we're on the same page as to what "immediately after" indicates.
I didn't say that. I said that you have to use the stratagem once the first unit is fully set up. You can't wait for the 2nd one to set up, then fire at the first.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
No I get that but when does the "immediately after" kick in?


Immediately after, like it says.

 skchsan wrote:
After the first model from a unit of 5 is set up or when the 5th and last model from that unit is placed?


"immediately after your opponent sets up a unit"

Until you put the last model of the unit down, you are still setting up the unit, but the unit isn't set up yet (it's in the process of being set up).


 skchsan wrote:
Alternatively, lets say I have two units entering as reinforcements. Both are 10 model units. I first set up the first 9 models from unit A. I know as soon as I put down my 10th model, my opponent is going to declare forewarned on my unit A. So I first scope out where I am going to set up unit B. I decide on where to set up unit B, then I take 10th model from unit A on one hand, and 1st model from unit B on the other... Then I place the 10th model from unit A, then almost immediately after, before my opponent c
an declare his/her stratagem, I quickly place the 1st model from unit B on the battlefield. Is unit A no longer a valid target of forewarned?


And your opponent puts his vintage metal dreadnought in a sock and liberally applies it to the side of your head. Alternatively, he calls you out on those shenanigans and tells you to hold on before you put down the first model from unit B. Seriously, if you're trying to be That Guy, in "friendly" games you will quickly lose any opponents to play against because of douche maneuvers like that. You wouldn't be able to get away with something like that at a tournament and would probably be docked any points you might get for sportsmanship.

   
Made in us
Deathwing Terminator with Assault Cannon






Ok I just wanted to see what others would do in a situation like that because my local meta has a few deep strike heavy lists.

While definitley TFG move, but RAW, it WOULD prevent you from using forewarning on the first unit in that case, right?
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






 skchsan wrote:
Ok I just wanted to see what others would do in a situation like that because my local meta has a few deep strike heavy lists.

While definitley TFG move, but RAW, it WOULD prevent you from using forewarning on the first unit in that case, right?
No, it's not RaW, it's just trying to be a dick. Every player gets a chance to announce what they are doing at all times.

If you're really playing against TFG, just pre-announce it to "trigger" when he finishes the first unit, though the real solution is Old Metal Bjorn in a Sock.
   
Made in us
Longtime Dakkanaut





 skchsan wrote:
Ok I just wanted to see what others would do in a situation like that because my local meta has a few deep strike heavy lists.

While definitley TFG move, but RAW, it WOULD prevent you from using forewarning on the first unit in that case, right?


No, because your opponent can say "hey, wait a minute" when you try to put down the first model from the second unit then declare he's using forewarning. And, even if you try to do it once, even if you get it that one time they'll be able to stop you from doing it a second time (plus all the ill will you generate toward yourself when word passes around that you were using these types of shenanigans). The deep strike heavy lists shouldn't be able to get away with it.
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

"As soon as you've finished deploying that unit I'm using Forewarned to shoot at it..."

Say it any time after they've declared they're placing the unit. Problem solved. No TFG rage required as you've pre-empted and prevented any douchery.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/08 22:58:55


 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in us
Powerful Phoenix Lord





Dallas area, TX

And you cannot select a unit to do an action until the prior action is complete. So the 1st model in unit B has TO WAIT until all models in A has been placed before you can even select unit B.
This is order of operations, pure and simple.

-

   
Made in au
Fresh-Faced New User




Is it actually the case that all deep strikes happen at the same time? In case it is, timing sequencing becomes very critical. Something like this could happen:

- Unit 1 deep strikes and is completely set up on the
- Eldar player uses forewarned
- This is a timing conflict with Unit 2 that also wants to deep strike.

The active (deep striking) player may chose to resolve this conflict in any order. The order he choses is deploy unit 2 first. This will not stop forewarned as it is happening simultaneously, but still a second unit would be placed before the first is fired upon
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

No, that isn't the case. It's not actually possible to place two units simultaneously. One must necessarily be placed before the other.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






That's a very good point. The player has to declare Forewarned as soon as the first unit drops if they want to shoot at it, but due to the sequencing rules the active player can deploy the second unit before the Forewarned unit gets to fire.
   
Made in gb
Regular Dakkanaut




This thread got weird.

Does my opponent miss their turn if I start my turn quick enough?
   
Made in gb
Decrepit Dakkanaut




 BaconCatBug wrote:
That's a very good point. The player has to declare Forewarned as soon as the first unit drops if they want to shoot at it, but due to the sequencing rules the active player can deploy the second unit before the Forewarned unit gets to fire.

That only works if you break rules, as the next unit to deep strike has no “immediately” clause. The two are distinct in timing.
   
Made in gb
Norn Queen






nosferatu1001 wrote:
 BaconCatBug wrote:
That's a very good point. The player has to declare Forewarned as soon as the first unit drops if they want to shoot at it, but due to the sequencing rules the active player can deploy the second unit before the Forewarned unit gets to fire.

That only works if you break rules, as the next unit to deep strike has no “immediately” clause. The two are distinct in timing.
Both happen "at the end of the movement phase". They happen simultaneously and the sequencing rules tell you how to resolve them one at a time. When you put the first unit down, if someone uses Forewarned, you now have another 2 actions happening at the same time (the "end" of the movement phase).

Think about it, if Forewarned happened at an actual time before the 2nd unit is placed, but after the 1st, the 2nd unit would not be coming down at the "end" of the phase.

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at 2018/02/09 17:20:25


 
   
Made in gb
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain





Cardiff

"The end of the movement phase" must necessarily operate as a mini phase or it gets ridiculous. I wish they'd gone with sub-phases to avoid 'interpretations' like the above.

In non-internet forum actual reality, you can't deploy two units simultaneously and 99% of players will be absolutely fine with a reactive Stratagem being played after the first unit drops.

 Stormonu wrote:
For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules"
 
   
 
Forum Index » 40K You Make Da Call
Go to: