| Author |
Message |
 |
|
|
 |
|
Advert
|
Forum adverts like this one are shown to any user who is not logged in. Join us by filling out a tiny 3 field form and you will get your own, free, dakka user account which gives a good range of benefits to you:
- No adverts like this in the forums anymore.
- Times and dates in your local timezone.
- Full tracking of what you have read so you can skip to your first unread post, easily see what has changed since you last logged in, and easily see what is new at a glance.
- Email notifications for threads you want to watch closely.
- Being a part of the oldest wargaming community on the net.
If you are already a member then feel free to login now. |
|
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 18:36:25
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Can a stratagem be played on an embarked unit? This particular issue comes from poxwalkers hiding in a bunker on Round 1 so if he doesn't go first you cant target them. Starting his turn, he wants to play "The dead walk again" which has to be done at beginning of movement phase which is while they are still embarked. I realize the aura isn't in effect while he is inside, but then he just moves them out of the bunker and near a large screening unit of daemons. I cant for the life of me find anything not allowing strats to be played on units "Off the table" such as in a transport or in Deep Strike till end of movement. I get it could be played once out but some of these are specific as to when played such as beginning of movement phase. Opinions or Rules to back this up?
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 18:43:30
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Norn Queen
|
In short, No, unless the Stratagem says otherwise.
Rules Citation: The Transport Rules.
Page 183 BRB wrote:Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked.
|
|
This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 2018/02/08 18:46:12
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 18:48:18
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Longtime Dakkanaut
|
BaconCatBug wrote:In short, No, unless the Stratagem says otherwise.
Rules Citation: The Transport Rules.
Page 183 BRB wrote:Embarked units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way whilst they are embarked.
Of course, you can with any stratagems that you use pre-game since at that point there isn't a board for them to be on. These would be exceptions, however. Otherwise, you could never use the stratagem to get an additional relic in the army.
|
|
This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 2018/02/08 18:49:08
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 18:48:34
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Fresh-Faced New User
|
Yeah, pretty much what I thought. We have a guy that pulled this at LVO though and judges let him get away with it according to him. Seemed like nonsense or a judge that didn't know his rules.
|
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 21:42:28
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Monster-Slaying Daemonhunter
|
It's currently under discussion on the ITC Tournament Organizer fb page, with the judge that made the call. I think he's edging toward, "Sorry guys, I made a bad call," but he seems reluctant to discuss what he'd do in the future.
|
LVO 2017 - Best GK Player
The Grimdark Future 8500 1500  6000 2000 5000
"[We have] an inheritance which is beyond the reach of change and decay." 1 Peter 1.4
"With the Emperor there is no variation or shadow due to change." James 1.17
“Fear the Emperor; do not associate with those who are given to change.” Proverbs 24.21 |
|
|
 |
 |
![[Post New]](/s/i/i.gif) 2018/02/08 22:09:02
Subject: Stratagems on embarked units
|
 |
Grim Dark Angels Interrogator-Chaplain
|
Definitely is a bad call as the simple core rule BCB quotes prevents it being possible. If a tourney judge doesn't know the 12 pages of core rules... ugh. Not great.
|
Stormonu wrote:For me, the joy is in putting some good-looking models on the board and playing out a fantasy battle - not arguing over the poorly-made rules of some 3rd party who neither has any power over my play nor will be visiting me (and my opponent) to ensure we are "playing by the rules" |
|
|
 |
 |
|
|